November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
LAL (Rosina Kazi & Nicholas Murray) |
(Rosina Kazi & Nicholas Murray)

LAL

Rosina Kazi and Nicholas Murray are LAL. The Toronto-based, Bengali-Bajanduo have been holding down Canada’s underground DIY music scene for decades. Having started performing separately in hip hop and spoken word, they came together as music and life partners, bonding over the shared ideal of making electronic music that puts community first.

Drawing on the transcendent and transgressive roots of house/electronic music, LAL use each successive album as a chance to explore further and further into the future. With so many futures awaiting us, we’re fortunate to have their music as a guide. The fragile melodies and throbbing bass sound out, like a rope and plank bridge across a dangerous chasm. We could choose to plunge into the gaping maw and take what comes our way; we may instead make unsteady, swaying steps towards safety on that far side. Not the dead happiness of certainty and security but rather the comfort of a future built by vulnerability, magical thinking, generosity and the tenderest of rage.

Impatient for paradise, LAL works tirelessly to make that future a reality in the here and now. They launched the community centre and performance venue Unit 2 ten years ago as a space for marginalized artists and communities to build themselves up and create connections across social boundaries. LAL's recent theatre work in Noor and Out The Window take their world building one step closer towards a critical gesamtkunstwerk. Murray and Kazi are regularly sought after for public speaking engagements, to share their insights on music, arts and social justice. LAL is the answer to a question we’re finally ready to ask.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
LAL (Rosina Kazi et Nicholas Murray) |
(Rosina Kazi et Nicholas Murray)

LAL

Rosina Kazi et Nicholas Murray forment LAL. Ce duo bajan-bengali est actif sur la scène musicale underground DIY au Canada depuis plusieurs décennies. Rosina et Nicholas se sont d’abord produits sur scène en hip-hop et création parlée, chacun de son côté, puis se sont unis, dans la vie comme en musique, liés par leur idéal commun de mettre la musique électronique au service de la collectivité.

Puisant aux racines transcendantes et transgressives de la musique house et électronique, LAL explore l’avenir dans chacun de ses albums. Comme tous les avenirs sont possibles, sa musique peut nous servir de guide. De délicates mélodies s’allient ainsi aux pulsations de la basse pour former une sorte de pont de singe au-dessus d’un terrifiant précipice. On peut soit plonger, tête baissée, dans le gouffre, soit avancer sur le pont, malgré l’instabilité, pour rejoindre un lointain autre côté. Mort heureuse de la certitude ou inconfort menant à un avenir bâti sur la vulnérabilité, la magie, la générosité et la rage tendre?

Rêvant du paradis, LAL œuvre de pied ferme à faire de demain la réalité d’aujourd’hui. Il y a 10 ans déjà, le duo fondait Unit 2, centre communautaire et salle de spectacle, afin que les artistes et communautés marginalisés puissent se développer et tisser des liens au-delà des limites sociales. Avec Noor et Out The Window, ses créations théâtrales récentes, LAL donne vie à ses aspirations et se rapproche de l’œuvre d’art totale. En outre, Murray et Kazi sont fréquemment sollicités pour présenter des conférences et faire connaître leurs idées concernant la musique, les arts et la justice sociale. LAL offre sa réponse à une question d’actualité.

Menu