| David Leclerc

Ravi Jain

Toronto-based stage director Ravi Jain is a multi-award-winning artist known for making politically bold and accessible theatrical experiences in both small indie productions and large theatres. As the founding artistic director of Why Not Theatre, Ravi has established himself as an artistic leader for his inventive productions, international producing/collaborations and innovative producing models which are aimed to better support emerging artists to make money from their art.

As a director, Ravi’s work has been critically acclaimed for its accessibility and politically bold perspective. Select credits include A Brimful of Asha, Nicolas Billon’s Fault Lines which won the Governor General’s Award for Drama, Accidental Death of an Anarchist (Soulpepper), Alanna Mitchell’s Sea Sick (co-directed with Franco Boni, Theatre Centre), Lisa Codrington’s The Adventures of a Black Girl in Search of God, Sarena Parmar’s The Orchard After Chekhov (Shaw Festival), We are Proud to Present…(Theatre Centre), Salt-Water Moon (Factory Theatre), Prince Hamlet (Why Not Theatre), and Like Mother Like Daughter (Complicite/Why Not Theatre).  Currently he is working on a new adaptation of The Mahabharata with Why Not Theatre and the Shaw Festival and a new project with David Suzuki and his wife Tara Cullis.

Ravi was shortlisted for the 2016 Siminovitch Prize and won the 2012 Pauline McGibbon Award for Emerging Director and the 2016 Canada Council John Hirsch Prize for direction. He is a graduate of the two-year program at École Jacques Lecoq. 

Menu

Tous les spectacles et événements sont annulés jusqu’au lundi 27 avril 2020
 | David Leclerc

Ravi Jain

Ravi Jain, de Toronto, est un artiste maintes fois primé reconnu pour son théâtre à la fois accessible et politiquement audacieux, qu’il présente tant dans le cadre de petites productions indépendantes que dans de grandes salles.À titre de directeur artistique fondateur du Why Not Theatre, Ravi s’est imposé comme une figure de proue du monde des arts pour ses productions inventives, ses productions et collaborations sur la scène internationale, et ses modèles de production novateurs qui visent à apporter un soutien plus efficace aux artistes émergents pour les aider à tirer un revenu de leur art.

Comme metteur en scène, la critique a louangé le travail de Ravi, soulignant son caractère accessible et la hardiesse de ses prises de position. Parmi les productions qu’il a mises en scène, mentionnons A Brimful of AshaFault Lines de Nicolas Billon, œuvre couronnée d’un Prix du Gouverneur général pour la dramaturgie; Accidental Death of an Anarchist (Soulpepper), Sea Sick d’Alanna Mitchell(mise en scène conjointement avec Franco Boni, Theatre Centre);The Adventures of a Black Girl in Search of God de LisaCodrington;The Orchard After Chekhov de Sarena Parmar (Shaw Festival); We are Proud to Present…(Theatre Centre); Salt-Water Moon (Factory Theatre); Prince Hamlet (Why Not Theatre); et Like Mother Like Daughter (Complicite/Why Not Theatre). Il œuvre actuellement à une nouvelle adaptation du Mahabharata avec le Why Not Theatre et le Shaw Festival, ainsi qu’à un nouveau projet avec David Suzuki et son épouse Tara Cullis.

Ravi a été finaliste pour le prix Siminovitch 2016 et a remporté le prix Pauline McGibbon pour metteurs en scène émergents en 2012, ainsi que le prix John Hirsch pour la mise en scène décerné par le Conseil des arts du Canada en 2016.Il est diplômé du programme de deux ans de l’École Jacques Lecoq.  

Menu