November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Eriel Tchekwie Deranger |

Eriel Tchekwie Deranger

Eriel Tchekwie Deranger is a Dënesųłiné member of the Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation (Treaty 8) and mother of two. Deranger is the Executive Director and co-founder of Indigenous Climate Action (ICA) - an Indigenous-led climate justice organization empowering communities and inspiring Indigenous-led climate solutions. ICA develops educational multi-media and contemporary climate change resources for Indigenous communities, amplifies stories and supports Indigenous rights to sovereignty and self-determination.

In addition to her role at ICA, Deranger is an active member of the UN Indigenous Peoples Forum on Climate Change participating in UNFCCC COP and preparatory meetings; was also a founding member of the Global UN Indigenous Youth Caucus; and she sits on the boards of Bioneers, It Takes Roots Leadership Council, Climate Justice Resiliency Fund Council of Advisors, the UK Tar Sands Network and WWF Canada.

Deranger has written for The Guardian, The Yellowhead Institute, The National Observer and Red Pepper Magazine; and is regularly interviewed for national and international media outlets including Democracy Now!, Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN), and CBC.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
Eriel Tchekwie Deranger |

Eriel Tchekwie Deranger

Eriel Tchekwie Deranger est membre de la Première Nation Dënesųłiné des Chipewyans d’Athabasca (Traité 8) et mère de deux enfants. Elle est cofondatrice et directrice générale d’Indigenous Climate Action (ICA), organisation pour la justice climatique visant à renforcer l’autonomie des communautés et envisager avec les Autochtones des solutions aux actuels enjeux climatiques. ICA élabore des ressources éducatives multimédias destinées aux communautés autochtones, fait connaître les histoires de celles-ci et soutient les droits des Autochtones à la souveraineté et à l’autodétermination.

Outre son rôle à ICA, Deranger a été l’un des membres fondateurs du Caucus global de la jeunesse autochtone de l’ONU; elle participe activement au Forum des peuples autochtones de l’ONU (rencontres préparatoires et conférences de la CCNUCC); et fait partie du conseil d’administration d’organisations comme Bioneers, It Takes Roots, Climate Justice Resilience Fund, UK Tar Sands Network et WWF-Canada.

Ses articles ont été publiés dans The Guardian, The Yellowhead Institute, The National Observer et The Red Pepper Magazine. Eriel Tchekwie Deranger est fréquemment sollicitée par divers médias nationaux et internationaux, tels Democracy Now!, Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) et CBC.

Menu