Resident Chefs

The NAC’s mandate has always been to nurture and support a diverse assemblage of performing artists from across Canada.

We’re proud to present the Resident Chef program, with the intention of creating a “stage” for Canada’s most promising culinary artists. 

Chefs from every region of Canada will be invited to demonstrate their artistry and vision of what Canadian cuisine can be, and to share their knowledge and culinary innovation through educational outreach here in Ottawa as well as online, providing access to all Canadians. 

This will be accomplished with every Resident Chef through a ticketed culinary event featuring a menu designed in collaboration with NAC Head Chef, Kenton Leier, reflected in an ongoing menu in 1 Elgin, as well as a series of appearances, demonstrations and classes held in the Ottawa area and shared with the rest of Canada.

Upcoming events

Paul Toussaint

Kamùy (Montréal, QC)

Residency dates: January 2024 - March 2024
Originally from Jacmel, Haiti, Paul Toussaint moved to Canada at 20 to study law, but quickly realized he wasn’t an “office guy”. He soon discovered a passion for the world of fine dining and got a job at Toqué!, a globally recognized restaurant where he honed his culinary skills. After contributing to post-earthquake reconstruction efforts in Haiti, Chef Paul took on the role of executive chef at Agrikol in Montreal. He crafted menus highlighting Haitian cuisine for... read more

Amanda Ray

Amanda Ray

Drake Devonshire (Prince Edward County, ON)

Residency dates: March 2024 - June 2024
Amanda Ray, Executive Chef, Drake Devonshire One of Canada’s top female chefs, Executive Chef Amanda Ray, has over 20 years of experience in some of the country’s most respected kitchens. Chef Ray began her career with Oliver & Bonacini Hospitality in 2001. Starting at Auberge du Pommier, she then worked at Canoe, and as Chef de Cuisine/Executive Chef at Biff’s Bistro. During her years at Canoe, she completed a three-month stagiaire at Hotel Crillon le Brave in... read more

Leah Marshall Hannon

Stella’s Eatery (Waupoos, Prince Edward County, ON)

Residency dates: June 2024 - September 2024
Leah Marshall Hannon credits her culinary career to the influence of her great grandmother, Stella Pamajewon Marshall, who raised her family on the shores of Pickerel River. With only a small isolated general store for supplies, her community foraged, hunted and depended on the abundance mother nature offered. Building on the wisdom passed down by her ancestors from Christian Island, Stella created comfort in the form of food. The stories and meals shared within her family were on Leah’s... read more

img-0800-chris-adjusted

Christopher Commandant

1 Elgin (Ottawa, ON)

Residency dates: September 2024 - November 2024
Chef Chris Commandant is Kanien’keha:ka of the Wahta Mohawks First Nations community, located outside of Bala Ontario. Dedicated to preserving Indigenous culinary traditions and teachings, he shares his knowledge with the community on topics like Indigenous food sovereignty, food security, and traditional ways of cooking.  His classical training has allowed him to fuse the food of the Haudenosaunee with modern cooking techniques to create wonderful representations of some of his... read more

Previous residencies

  • Chef Siobhan Detkavich
  • carmen-ingham
    Chef Carmen Ingham
  • Chef La-toya Fagon
  • charlotteheadshots-11-extra-wide
    Resident Chef Charlotte Langley
  • Chef Jenni Lessard
  • working-naramata-inn-two-chefs
    Chefs Chefs Minette Lotz & Stacy Johnston
  • Chef Sabrina Lemay
  • Chef Christie Peters
  • Chef Joseph Shawana
  • Chef Renée Lavallée
  • nick-benninger-500px
    Chef Nick Benninger
  • Chef Sheila Flaherty
  • bio-helena-loureiro
    Chef Helena Loureiro
  • Chef Ryan Hotchkiss
  • Chef Rich Francis
View all ›

Recent videos

Chefs en résidence

Le mandat du CNA est de cultiver et d’appuyer une vaste gamme d’artistes de la scène de tout le pays.

Nous sommes fiers de présenter le programme de Chefs en résidence, qui offre une vitrine aux artistes culinaires de talent du Canada.  

Des chefs des quatre coins du pays ont l’occasion de faire connaître leur savoir-faire et leur vision de la cuisine canadienne actuelle, mais aussi de démontrer leurs connaissances et leurs innovations culinaires dans le cadre d’activités éducatives se déroulant en présentiel à Ottawa et en ligne pour les auditoires pancanadiens.    

Chaque chef en résidence conçoit le menu d’un événement culinaire payant en collaboration avec Kenton Leier, chef exécutif au CNA ; le menu du restaurant 1 Elgin y fait ensuite écho. Durant leur séjour à Ottawa, les chefs prennent également part à des discussions, démonstrations et cours filmés en vue de la diffusion en ligne.

Événements

Paul Toussaint

Paul Toussaint

Kamùy (Montréal, Québec)

Dates de résidence : jan 2024 - mar 2024
Originaire de Jacmel, en Haïti, Paul Toussaint s’envole à 20 ans vers le Canada pour poursuivre des études en droit. Il réalise très vite que le travail de bureau ne lui convient pas et se découvre une passion pour les arts culinaires. Il entre alors au restaurant mondialement connu, le Toqué!, pour y parfaire ses connaissances. Après un coup de main en Haïti à la suite du tremblement de terre, le chef Paul Toussaint prend... plus

Amanda Ray

Amanda Ray

Drake Devonshire (comté de Prince Edward, Ontario)

Dates de résidence : mar 2024 - jun 2024
Reconnue comme l’une des meilleures cheffes du Canada, Amanda Ray cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans les cuisines de certains des meilleurs établissements du pays. Elle débute sa carrière à l’Auberge du Pommier de la chaîne de restaurants Oliver & Bonacini Hospitality en 2001. Après un passage au Canoe, elle devient la cheffe de cuisine et cheffe exécutive du Biff’s Bistro. Alors en poste au Canoe,... plus

Leah Marshall Hannon

Leah Marshall Hannon

Stella’s Eatery (Waupoos, comté de Prince Edward, Ontario)

Dates de résidence : jun 2024 - sep 2024
Leah Marshall Hannon se souvient que sa passion pour la cuisine lui vient de son arrière-grand-mère, Stella Pamajewon Marshall, qui a élevé sa famille sur les berges de la rivière Pickerel. Avec pour seul point de ravitaillement un petit magasin général, sa communauté vivait de la cueillette, de la chasse et de toutes les merveilles de dame Nature. Porteuse de la sagesse de ses ancêtres de l’île aux Chrétiens,... plus

Christopher Commandant

Christopher Commandant

1 Elgin (Ottawa, Ontario)

Dates de résidence : sep 2024 - nov 2024
Le chef Chris Commandant est kanien’kehá:ka de la Première Nation mohawk de Wahta, située près de Bala, en Ontario. Fervent défenseur des enseignements et traditions culinaires autochtones, il partage son savoir avec la communauté, notamment tout ce qui a trait à la souveraineté alimentaire des peuples autochtones, à la sécurité alimentaire et à la cuisine traditionnelle. De formation classique,... plus

Résidences précédentes

  • Chef Siobhan Detkavich
  • Chef Carmen Ingham
  • Chef La-toya Fagon
  • Chef en résidence Charlotte Langley
  • Chef Jenni Lessard
  • Chefs Chefs Minette Lotz et Stacy Johnston
  • Chef Sabrina Lemay
  • Chef Christie Peters
  • Chef Joseph Shawana
  • Chef Renée Lavallée
  • Chef Nick Benninger
  • Chef Sheila Flaherty
  • Chef Helena Loureiro
  • Chef Ryan Hotchkiss
  • Chef Rich Francis
Voir tout ›

Vidéos récentes