Ideas of North Festival

Choose a 5-concert or 7-concert series starting at $107

Morning to night, explore perspectives on the North through music, architecture, digital installations and the culinary arts. Enjoy both free and paid events in this immersive festival in celebration of Canada’s 150th and Finland’s 100th birthdays. Make yourself at home in Canada’s living room.

  1. Exhibit: The World of Jean Sibelius

    Ideas of North Festival

    Canal Foyer

    Scandinavia’s most famous composer, Jean Sibelius, reached into ancient Finnish sagas to write the dramatic orchestral music that expressed his people’s longing for independence and freedom. On the 100th anniversary of Finland’s declaration of independence from Russia, discover the life and music of Jean Sibelius through this display of bright, reader-friendly banners and documentary videos.

  2. Sibelius’s First Symphony

    Ideas of North Festival

    NAC Southam Hall

    • Sibelius Tapiola
    • Alexina Louie Concerto for three violins*
    • Sibelius Symphony No. 1

    The Symphony that Inspired a Nation

    As the Russian Empire tightened its colonial grip on Finland, Jean Sibelius wrote the music that expressed his people's desire for freedom.  Touring Europe to rave reviews in 1900, Sibelius’ First Symphony brought worldwide attention to the composer -- and to the cause of Finnish independence.  Hear the symphony that inspired a nation in the opening concert of our Ideas of North festival.

    *Sesquicentennial co-commission for the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, NAC Orchestra, and Orchestre symphonique de Montréal.

  3. Post-Concert Parties

    Ideas of North Festival

    City Room

    Live music sets the mood to party to the backdrop of the city lights in the NAC’s spectacular new glass Atrium. With the bustle of Elgin Street and the grandeur of the Parliament buildings in the background, you’ll want to linger long into the night. Free admission and a cash bar featuring Nordic spirits.

  4. New Orford String Quartet

    Noon Hour Concerts - Ideas of North Festival

    Glass Thorsteinson Staircase

  5. Play

    What makes a man, a man? That is the question Finnish dance prodigy Tero Saarinen investigates in a muscular new work with seven male dancers. A reflective, unfettered enquiry into the essence of maleness, Morphed  embraces the kinetic volatility of Esa-Pekka Salonen’s music as a soundscape for movement that is raw, multi-layered and expressive, seeming to rise from primal wellsprings.

  6. Noon Hour Concerts

    Ideas of North Festival

    Glass Thorsteinson Staircase

    The enchantment of the North rings in the clear tones of young voices, as singers perform repertoire from Nordic countries. Featuring the OCC Chamber Choir (Oct. 5) and the Cantiamo Girls Choir of Ottawa (Oct. 6).

  7. Musically Speaking: Matthew Whittall

    Featuring Matthew Whittall and Natasha Gauthier

    Canal Lobby Stage

  8. Lintu and Hewitt

    Ideas of North Festival

    NAC Southam Hall

    • Sibelius The Océanides
    • Matthew Whittall Nameless Seas*
    • Sibelius Symphony No. 2

    Waves of Sound and Sea

    Surrender to the siren-song of the sea in this evening of music inspired by the ocean. Special guest Hannu Lintu, Chief Conductor of the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, summons naiads with every note of Sibelius’ symphonic poem The Oceanides. Juno-award winning pianist Angela Hewitt carries us across Nameless Seas* in a new composition written especially for her.  Close your eyes and let the soundwaves sweep you away.

    *NAC co-commission with PianoEspoo; world premiere

    Thursday Bravo series subscribers attend this concert.

  9. Pre-concert Music: Ideas of North Festival

    Featuring Ánnámáret, voice, and Ilkka Heinonen, jouhikko

    Canal Lobby Stage

    • Ánnámáret

    • Ilkka Heinonen

  10. Finland’s Rajaton In Concert

    Ideas of North Festival

    NAC Southam Hall

    Boundless and Breathtaking

    Feel the power of the human voice with Finland’s double-platinum a capella sensation Rajaton. With close harmonies honed by razor-fine pitch, this genre-defying sextet flaunts its vocal chops in an eclectic performance of pop, jazz, classical and folk tunes. Energetic, creative and inspiring, these singers truly live up to their moniker: ‘Rajaton’ — Finnish for ‘Boundless.’

    Included in the 7-concert Ideas of North series

  11. Family Days

    Ideas of North Festival

    Free activities! Share the music and dance of the North with Sami, Atikamekw and Inuit visiting artists on this weekend of fun family workshops and performances. Discover fascinating vocal traditions, step along to traditional dances, and watch the artists perform in Saturday and Sunday noon-hour concerts.

  12. Winners of the Folk Music Award for Aboriginal Songwriters of the Year, the captivating ensemble Twin Flames will take you on a musical journey across Canada and the Arctic. Audiences will discover the beauty of Indigenous and Inuit cultures in this fun and interactive show featuring traditional hand drumming, Inuit throat singing, and sing alongs in English, French and Inuktitut.

    • Vocalist, acoustic guitar

      Jaaji

    • Vocalist, traditional hand drum, Native American flute

      Chelsey June

    • Fiddle, percussion and Inuit throat singer

      To Be Announced

  13. Play

    Sarah MacDougall

    NAC Fourth Stage

    Whitehorse-based, Western Canadian Music Award-winning artist Sarah MacDougall is an up-and-coming artist known for her honest and poetic songs, passionate performances, and unique voice. Born in Sweden, 24 hrs Vancouver called her “one of the most promising exports out of Sweden since ABBA.”

  14. Pre-Concert Chats

    Nordic Architecture and Design

    Glass Thorsteinson Staircase

    Alain Fournier from EVOQ (Canadian High Arctic Research Station, Kenojuak Cultural Centre and Print Shop), Anne-Rachel Schiffmann from Snøhetta (The Isabel Bader Centre for the Performing Arts, Queen's University, Kingston / Norwegian National Opera and Ballet, Oslo) and Donald Schmitt from Diamond Schmitt Architects  (National Arts Centre Rejuvenation / Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts, Toronto) share their views on Nordic Architecture and Design with host Paul Wells.

  15. Finnish Legends

    Ideas of North Festival

    NAC Southam Hall

    • Sibelius Pohjola’s Daughter
    • Sibelius Luonnotar
    • Sibelius The Bard
    • Sibelius Lemminkäinen Legends

    Songs of Goddesses and Heroes

    Lose yourself in a world of legends with the incantatory music of Jean Sibelius. Swirling with primal energy, this series of symphonic poems evokes the Finnish creation-goddess Luonnotar, the celestial Maiden of Pohjola who spins golden threads in the sky, and the hero Lemminkainen, who meets death and resurrection in the netherworld of Tuonela. Resonant of ancient Scandinavian ballads, these works express Sibelius’ belief that “music begins where the possibilities of language end.”

    Wednesday night Signature subscribers attend this concert.

  16. In 1967, the National Arts Centre rose on the banks of the Rideau Canal, a brutalist outcropping as solid as the granite of the Canadian Shield. Now, 50 years later, new trends in Nordic architecture inspire the rebirth of the NAC — and a building that has long hunkered down against the cold opens up to human warmth. Explore how the materials, forms and light of the North inspire the design of Nordic Arts Centres in this fascinating lecture series.

  17. Lapland Chamber Orchestra

    Ideas of North Festival

    NAC Southam Hall

    • Somers North Country Suite
    • Debussy (Orch. Birch) Two Preludes
    • Vivier Zipangu*
    • Sibelius Suite for Violin and Strings
    • KALEVI AHO Symphony No. 14 “Rituals”

    Polar Premiere

    Discover great Canadian and Finnish composers at the Lapland Chamber Orchestra’s first-ever North American concert. Hailing from Rovaniemi on the Arctic Circle, the 18-member orchestra boldly brings contemporary Nordic music to listeners in Finland, and the world.  This concert juxtaposes work by Toronto’s Harry Somers — who composed major scores for stage, film and orchestra during a life that spanned most of the 20th century — with that of Montreal’s Claude Vivier, whose search for spirituality in his short, lonely, bohemian life found poignant expression in his music. The evening culminates with Finnish composer Kalevi Aho’s Rituals, whose 2009 recording won the orchestra The Finnish Broadcasting Company Record of the Year award.

    Included in the 7-concert Ideas of North series

    • Conductor

      John Storgårds

    • Lapland Chamber Orchestra

    • Choreographer*

      Michael Greyeyes

  18. Lapland Chamber Orchestra Wind Quintet

    Ideas of North Festival

    Glass Thorsteinson Staircase

    Following the October 12 evening concert featuring the Lapland Chamber Orchestra, please join us for this unique chance to hear five of its musicians in an intimate chamber music setting, in the beautiful new NAC Atrium.

  19. Sibelius’s Violin Concerto

    Casual Fridays with the NAC Orchestra

    NAC Southam Hall

    • Sibelius Violin Concerto
    • Esa-Pekka Salonen Stockholm Diary
    • Sibelius Symphony No. 5 (third movement: Allegro Molto)

    Sixteen swans flying through the April sky inspired the final movement of Jean Sibelius’s Fifth Symphony. “One of the great experiences of my life! God, how beautiful,” he wrote in his diary, alongside a jotting of musical notes that became the symphony’s famous ‘swan’ theme. Let your heart soar with the timeless beauty of Sibelius’ music in this evening dedicated to the Finnish master, featuring renowned Canadian violinist Karen Gomyo. Hailed by the Chicago Tribune as “a first-rate artist of real musical command, vitality, brilliance and intensity,” Gomyo displays her virtuosity in Sibelius’s ravishingly complex Violin Concerto in D minor.

  20. Shelley and Storgårds

    Ideas of North Festival

    NAC Southam Hall

    • Sibelius Symphony No. 5
    • KAIJA SAARIAHO Graal théâtre
    • Sibelius Symphony No. 7

    Ideas of North Grande Finale

    In 1997, solo violinist John Storgards dazzled audiences in the chamber orchestra premiere of Graal Theatre. NAC Orchestra principal guest conductor once again takes up his bow in an authoritative performance of this contemporary concerto, inspired by legends of King Arthur and the search for the Holy Grail. Jean Sibelius’ final symphony, considered by many his greatest achievement, crowns the grande finale concert of our Ideas of North festival.

    Thursday night Signature subscribers attend this concert.

Get the Best Seats at the Best Price.

613-947-7000 x620 • 1-866-850-2787 x620   •   Box Office hours & location

Subscribing is your best value!

  • Best Prices & Seats

    Become an NAC subscriber and save on regular ticket prices and guarantee your seating priority.

  • Free ticket exchanges

    When your plans change, so can your tickets. Subscribers pay no exchange fees.

  • Exclusive offers

    Enjoy discounted parking rates and get advance tickets to popular NAC events though exclusive pre-sale offers, available only to subscribers.

  • More tickets, more savings

    Subscribers save up to 15% on the purchase of additional tickets to select NAC music, theatre and dance performances.

Learn more about the benefits of subscribing
Menu

Festival Visions boréales

Une série de 5 ou 7 concerts à partir de 107 $

Musique, architecture, installations numériques, arts culinaires… Explorez les multiples facettes du Nord du matin au soir lors de ce festival immersif qui propose de nombreuses activités gratuites ou payantes pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération et le centenaire de la Finlande. Chez nous, vous faites comme chez vous!

  1. Exposition: Le Monde de Jean Sibelius

    Festival Visions boréales

    Foyer du Canal

    Jean Sibelius, le compositeur le plus célèbre de Scandinavie, s’est inspiré des anciennes sagas finlandaises pour composer une musique orchestrale si expressive qu’elle nous fait revivre la longue quête d’indépendance et de liberté de son peuple à l’égard de la Russie. À l’occasion du 100e anniversaire de la déclaration d’indépendance de la Finlande, découvrez la vie et la musique de Sibelius grâce à une suite de bannières textuelles conviviales et à une série de vidéos documentaires.

  2. Parlons musique: Alexina Louie

    Mettant en vedette Alexina Louie et Natasha Gauthier

    Scène du Foyer du canal

  3. La Première symphonie de Sibelius

    Festival Visions boréales

    Salle Southam du CNA

    • Sibelius Tapiola
    • Alexina Louie Concerto pour trois violons*
    • Sibelius Symphonie nº 1

    La symphonie qui a inspiré une nation

    Alors que l’empire russe resserrait son emprise coloniale sur la Finlande, Jean Sibelius composait une musique qui traduisait le désir de liberté de son peuple. Ayant récolté des critiques dithyrambiques lors d’une tournée européenne dans les années 1900, la Première symphonie de Sibelius a attiré l’attention du monde entier sur le compositeur et sur la cause de l’indépendance de la Finlande. La symphonie qui a inspiré toute une nation résonnera au concert d’ouverture de notre Festival Visions boréales.

    *Commande conjointe de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, de l’Orchestre du CNA et de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal pour le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération. 

  4. Fêtes d’après-concert

    Festival Visions boréales

    Espace urbain

    De la musique en direct pour électriser l’ambiance de cette fête illuminée par les lumières de la ville qui baignent les murs de verre du spectaculaire nouvel atrium du CNA. Avec l’animation de la rue Elgin et la majesté des édifices du Parlement en arrière-plan, vous voudrez rester toute la nuit! Entrée gratuite et bar payant, où vous ferez la connaissance des spiritueux (et des esprits) nordiques.

  5. Nouveau Quatuor à cordes Orford

    Concerts midi - Festival Visions boréales

    Escalier Glass Thorsteinson

  6. Play

    Qu’est-ce qui fait qu’un homme est un homme? Le prodige finlandais de la danse Tero Saarinen se penche sur cette question dans une nouvelle œuvre athlétique pour sept danseurs masculins. Investigation réfléchie et sans tabous au cœur même de la masculinité, Morphed  épouse la volatilité cinétique de la musique d’Esa-Pekka Salonen comme trame sonore d’un mouvement naturel, multiple et évocateur, semblant jaillir de sources primitives.

  7. Concerts midi

    Festival Visions boréales

    Escalier Glass Thorsteinson

    Le charme du Nord vibre dans les jeunes voix claires qui animeront votre heure de dîner de concerts gratuits. Les mélodies du répertoire nordique résonneront entre les parois de verre de l’atrium. À l’affiche : OCC Chamber Choir (5 oct.) et la Cantiamo Girls Choir of Ottawa (6 oct.).

  8. Parlons musique: Matthew Whittall

    Mettant en vedette Matthew Whittall et Natasha Gauthier

    Scène du Foyer du canal

  9. Lintu et Hewitt

    Festival Visions boréales

    Salle Southam du CNA

    • Sibelius Les Océanides
    • Matthew Whittall Nameless Seas*
    • Sibelius Symphonie no 2

    Les sons de la mer

    Tombez sous le charme envoûtant de la mer à l’occasion de ce concert inspiré de l’océan. L’invité spécial Hannu Lintu, premier chef de l’Orchestre symphonique de la radio finlandaise, courtise les naïades avec chaque note du poème symphonique Les Océanides, de Sibelius. La pianiste Angela Hewitt, lauréate de prix JUNO, nous enivre avec Nameless Seas*, une nouvelle composition créée expressément pour elle. Fermez les yeux et laissez-vous emporter par le bruit des vagues.

    *Commande conjointe du CNA avec PianoEspoo; création mondiale

    Les abonnés du jeudi (série Bravo) assistent à ce concert.

  10. Musique pré-concert: Festival Visions Boréales

    Mettant en vedette Ánnámáret, voix, et Ilkka Heinonen, jouhikko

    Scène du Foyer du canal

    • Ánnámáret

    • Ilkka Heinonen

  11. Rajaton en concert

    Festival Visions boréales

    Salle Southam du CNA

    Sans limites et époustouflant

    Mesurez la puissance de la voix humaine en écoutant le sensationnel ensemble finlandais a capella Rajaton, certifié double platine. Grâce à ses harmonies à intervalle réduit d’une précision chirurgicale, ce sextuor défie les conventions et fait étalage de tout son brio vocal dans une prestation éclectique de pop, jazz, classique et folk. Énergique, créatif et inspirant, l’ensemble fait honneur à son nom : « Rajaton », qui signifie « sans limites » en finlandais.

    Inclus dans la série de 7 concerts Visions boréales

  12. Journées familiales

    Festival Visions boréales

    Activités gratuites! Vivez la musique et la danse nordiques avec des artistes Sami, Atikamekw et Inuit  pendant une fin de semaine d’ateliers et de démonstrations. Samedi et dimanche, découvrez des traditions vocales fascinantes, entrez dans les danses traditionelles, et profitez des concerts midi.

  13. Auteur-compositeur autochtone de l’année aux Prix de musique folk canadienne 2016, le captivant duo Twin Flames vous entraîne dans un périple musical à travers le Canada et l’Arctique. Découvrez la beauté des cultures autochtones et inuites dans ce spectacle participatif réunissant tambours à main traditionnels, chant de gorge inuit et refrains en anglais, en français et en inuktitut à reprendre en chœur.

    • Chant, guitare acoustique

      Jaaji

    • Chant, tambour à main traditionnel, flûte amérindienne

      Chelsey June

    • Violon, percussion et chant de gorge inuit

      À communiquer

  14. Play

    Sarah MacDougall

    Quatrième Salle du CNA

    Établie à Whitehorse, Sarah MacDougall est une étoile montante de la chanson reconnue pour ses textes intègres et poétiques, ses interprétations passionnées et sa voix unique. 24 hrs Vancouver a classé cette native de la Suède couronnée aux Western Canadian Music Awards parmi les artistes les plus prometteurs à émerger de ce pays depuis ABBA.

  15. Causeries d’avant-concert

    Architecture et design nordiques

    Escalier Glass Thorsteinson

    Alain Fournier de EVOQ (Station de recherche du Canada dans l’Extrême-Arctique, Centre culturel et atelier de gravure Kenojuak), Anne-Rachel Schiffmann, de Snøhetta (The Isabel Bader Centre for the Performing Arts, Université Queen’s, Kingston / Opéra et ballet nationaux de Norvège, Oslo) et  Donald Schmitt, de Diamond Schmitt Architects (renouvellement architectural du Centre national des Arts / Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts, Toronto) en conversation avec Paul Wells.

  16. Légendes finlandaises

    Festival Visions boréales

    Salle Southam du CNA

    • Sibelius La Fille de Pohjola
    • Sibelius Luonnotar
    • Sibelius Le Barde
    • Sibelius Légendes de Lemminkäinen

    Chansons de déesses et de héros

    Plongez dans un monde de légendes avec la musique incantatoire de Jean Sibelius. Regorgeant d’énergie primale, cette série de poèmes symphoniques évoque la déesse finlandaise de la création, Luonnotar, la fille céleste de Pohjola, qui tisse un drap d’or dans les cieux, et le héros Lemminkäinen, mort et ressuscité dans les enfers de Tuonela. Évocations d’anciennes balades scandinaves, ces œuvres expriment la croyance de Sibelius que la musique commence là où s’arrête le pouvoir des mots.

    Les abonnés du mercredi (série Signature) assistent à ce concert 

  17. C’est en 1967 que le Centre national des Arts s’est dressé sur la rive du canal Rideau, affleurement de style brutaliste aussi solide que le granit du Bouclier canadien. Cinquante ans plus tard, les tendances contemporaines de l’architecture nordique inspirent la renaissance du CNA et le bâtiment, resté longtemps tassé sur lui-même comme pour se protéger du froid, s’ouvre à la chaleur humaine. Apprenez comment les matériaux, les formes et la lumière du nord inspirent la conception des centres d’art nordiques au fil de cette fascinante série de conférences. 

  18. Orchestre de chambre de Laponie

    Festival Visions boréales

    Salle Southam du CNA

    • Somers North Country Suite
    • Debussy (orch. Birch) Deux préludes
    • Vivier Zipangu*
    • Sibelius Suite pour violon et cordes
    • KALEVI AHO Symphonie no 14, « Rituels »

    Première polaire

    Découvrez les grands compositeurs canadiens et finlandais lors du tout premier concert en Amérique du Nord de l’Orchestre de chambre de Laponie. Originaire de Rovaniemi, dans le cercle arctique, l’orchestre de 18 membres use d’audace pour faire connaître la musique nordique contemporaine à des auditeurs de la Finlande et du monde entier. Ce concert présente une œuvre du Torontois Harry Somers, grand compositeur d’opéras, de trames sonores et d’œuvres orchestrales, dont la vie s’étira pendant une bonne partie du 20e siècle, ainsi qu’une composition du montréalais Claude Vivier, qui exprime de façon poignante dans sa musique la recherche de spiritualité qui ponctua sa courte et solitaire vie de bohème. La soirée s’achève avec Rituals, du compositeur finlandais Kalevi Aho, dont l’enregistrement de 2009 a permis à l’orchestre de remporter le prix de l’album de l’année que remet la société de radiodiffusion et télévision finnoise.

    Inclus dans la série de 7 concerts Visions boréales

    • Chef d'orchestre

      John Storgårds

    • Orchestre de chambre de Laponie

    • Chorégraphe*

      Michael Greyeyes

  19. Après avoir savouré une soirée avec l’Orchestre de chambre de Laponie le jeudi 12 octobre, venez entendre un concert unique de musique de chambre offert par cinq de ses musiciens, dans le cadre enchanteur du nouvel atrium.

  20. Concerto pour violon de Sibelius

    Vendredis décontractés avec l’Orchestre du CNA

    Salle Southam du CNA

    • Sibelius Concerto pour violon
    • Esa-Pekka Salonen Stockholm Diary
    • Sibelius Symphonie No. 5 (troisième mouvement : Allegro Molto)

    Seize cygnes traversant un ciel d’avril ont inspiré le mouvement final de la Cinquième symphonie de Jean Sibelius. « L’une des grandes expériences que j’aie vécues dans ma vie! Mon Dieu, quelle beauté! » écrivit-il dans son journal, accompagné de quelques notes musicales qui allaient former le thème des cygnes de son œuvre. Laissez votre âme s’envoler avec la beauté intemporelle de la musique de Sibelius lors de cette soirée consacrée au maître finnois et mettant en vedette la violoniste canadienne Karen Gomyo. Saluée par le Chicago Tribune comme une artiste de premier plan grâce à l’authenticité de sa maîtrise musicale, à sa vitalité, à son brio et à son intensité, Gomyo fait preuve de virtuosité dans le Concerto pour violon en ré mineur à la complexité idyllique de Sibelius.

  21. Shelley et Storgårds

    Festival Visions boréales

    Salle Southam du CNA

    • Sibelius Symphonie nº 5
    • KAIJA SAARIAHO Graal théâtre
    • Sibelius Symphonie no 7

    Grande finale du Festival Visions boréales

    En 1997, le violoniste soliste John Storgårds a ébloui le public lors de la première de l’œuvre de musique de chambre Graal théâtre. Le premier chef invité de l’Orchestre du CNA remonte sur scène pour offrir une prestation impérieuse de ce concerto contemporain qui s’inspire des légendes du roi Arthur et de la quête du Graal. La dernière symphonie de Jean Sibelius, que d’aucuns considèrent comme sa plus grande composition, couronne la grande finale de notre Festival Visions boréales.

    Les abonnés du jeudi (série Signature) assistent à ce concert.

Obtenez les meilleures places aux meilleurs prix

613-947-7000 poste 620 • 1-866-850-2787 poste 620   •   Emplacement de la billetterie et heures d'ouverture

Abonnez-vous et partez gagnant!

  • Les meilleurs prix et les meilleures places

    Épargnez sur le prix courant des billets à l'unité et obtenez la priorité sur le choix des sièges.

  • Échanges sans frais

    Un imprévu? Échangez tout simplement vos billets! Aucuns frais administratifs d'échange pour les abonnés.

  • Offres exclusives

    Profitez de tarifs de stationnement réduits et recevez des offres d'achat en prévente pour les événements populaires du CNA.

  • Achetez plus, épargnez plus!

    Économisez jusqu'à 15 % à l'achat de billets additionnels pour une sélection de concerts et de spectacles du CNA (Musique, Théâtre et Danse).

Apprenez-en plus sur les avantages de l’abonnement
Menu