Gabriela Montero © Anders Brogaard

Presented by Audi

Montero's Latin Concerto

& Shelley conducts Ravel

2024-05-09 20:00 2024-05-09 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Montero's Latin Concerto

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/36309

NAC Livestream

Feel all the passion and sizzle of Latin America as NAC Orchestra Creative Partner Gabriela Montero performs her Latin Concerto, “a portrait of Latin America in all its splendour.”  Venezuelan pianist Gabriela Montero’s skill and virtuosity at the piano borders on the supernatural. Her mastery of the classical repertoire and her ability to improvise on any musical theme any time makes her one of the most sought-after guest performers in the world....

Read more

Online
Thu, May 9, 2024
8 PM EDT
NAC Livestream
Gabriela Montero © Anders Brogaard
Alexander Shelley © Curtis Perry
Music Masterworks Vocal Piano
“A portrait of Latin America in all its splendour. ”
  • JIMMY LÓPEZ BELLIDO Aino (Canadian premiere)
  • GABRIELA MONTERO Latin Concerto (Canadian premiere)
  • Maurice RAVEL Daphnis et Chloé
  • NAC Livestream
  • ≈ 120 minutes · With intermission
Alexander Shelley © Curtis Perry

Feel all the passion and sizzle of Latin America as NAC Orchestra Creative Partner Gabriela Montero performs her Latin Concerto, “a portrait of Latin America in all its splendour.” 

Venezuelan pianist Gabriela Montero’s skill and virtuosity at the piano borders on the supernatural. Her mastery of the classical repertoire and her ability to improvise on any musical theme any time makes her one of the most sought-after guest performers in the world. Montero’s life-affirming Latin Concerto, which she composed in 2016, is infused with the vibrant energy and passion of the many cultures of South America, but also the sorrow and struggles of nations and people who “are not always agents of their own destiny.” 

Maurice Ravel’Daphnis et Chloé tells the story of the innocent love between Daphnis the goatherd, and Chloé the shepherdess. Ravel composed the score as a commission for Ballets Russes, but this lush, colourful masterpiece for orchestra is performed most often on its own, without the ballet.

Peruvian-born composer Jimmy López Bellido is happiest when he is “able to surprise” with his music, and he has been doing so on the world stage for more than two decades. When he moved to Finland at the age of 21 to study music, López Bellido discovered Finland’s national epic story, the Kalevala. His Aino is a tone poem that tells a story inspired by the fourth poem of the Kalevala. In it, a young woman’s brother loses a battle to his rival and promises her in marriage to the much older man.

The NAC Orchestra is proud to present this concert as part of NACO’s Mentorship Program. Now in its third year, this program provides aspiring young orchestral musicians three immersive and inspiring weeks working side by side with NACO musicians in a professional orchestra setting.

Artists

  • dscf9130-curtis-perry-2-cropped
    Conductor Alexander Shelley
  • Piano Gabriela Montero
  • img-5156
    Choir Calixa-Lavallée Ensemble
  • Ewashko Singers Choir
    Choir Ewashko Singers
  • No headshot
    Composer Jimmy Bellido
  • Featuring NAC Orchestra
  • Stage Manager Tobi Hunt McCoy

Gabriela Montero © Anders Brogaard

Présenté par Audi

Le concerto « latin » de Gabriela Montero

et Shelley dirige Ravel

2024-05-09 20:00 2024-05-09 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Le concerto « latin » de Gabriela Montero

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/36309

CNA en direct

Vivez la passion et la ferveur de l’Amérique latine avec le concerto « latin » de Gabriela Montero, partenaire créative de l’Orchestre du CNA, qui propose un portrait de l’Amérique latine dans toute sa splendeur. Le doigté et la virtuosité de la pianiste vénézuélienne Gabriela Montero frisent le surnaturel. Sa maîtrise du répertoire classique et ses capacités...

Read more

En ligne
jeu 9 mai 2024
20 h HAE
Diffusion en direct
Gabriela Montero © Anders Brogaard
Alexander Shelley © Curtis Perry
Musique Chefs-d’œuvre Voix Piano
« Un portrait de l’Amérique Latine dans toute sa splendeur »
  • JIMMY LÓPEZ BELLIDO Aino (Première canadienne)
  • GABRIELA MONTERO Latin Concerto (Première canadienne)
  • Maurice RAVEL Daphnis et Chloé
  • CNA en direct
  • ≈ 120 minutes · Avec entracte
Alexander Shelley © Curtis Perry

Vivez la passion et la ferveur de l’Amérique latine avec le concerto « latin » de Gabriela Montero, partenaire créative de l’Orchestre du CNA, qui propose un portrait de l’Amérique latine dans toute sa splendeur.

Le doigté et la virtuosité de la pianiste vénézuélienne Gabriela Montero frisent le surnaturel. Sa maîtrise du répertoire classique et ses capacités d’improvisation sur n’importe quel thème musical en font l’une des artistes invitées les plus recherchées au monde. Son ardent concerto « latin », qu’elle a composé en 2016, est imprégné de la passion et de l’énergie éclatantes des nombreuses cultures sud-américaines, mais aussi des souffrances et des luttes de nations et de peuples qui ne sont pas toujours les maîtres de leur destin.

Daphnis et Chloé, de Maurice Ravel, raconte l’histoire d’un amour innocent entre un chevrier et une bergère, Daphnis et Chloé. Si c’est pour les Ballets russes que Ravel a composé ce chef-d’œuvre coloré et exubérant, la composition pour orchestre est le plus souvent jouée seule.

Jimmy López Bellido cherche constamment à surprendre son public avec sa musique. Compositeur né au Pérou, il déploie son talent depuis plus de 20 ans sur la scène internationale. Quand il a déménagé en Finlande à l’âge de 21 ans pour étudier la musique, il a découvert l’incroyable épopée nationale finlandaise, le Kalevala, dont les quatre poèmes ont inspiré son œuvre Aino. Cette dernière raconte l’histoire d’une jeune femme qui, son frère ayant perdu un duel, est promise en mariage à un homme beaucoup plus vieux qu’elle.

L’Orchestre du CNA se sent honoré de présenter ce concert dans le cadre du Programme de mentorat du CNA, qui en est maintenant à sa troisième année et qui offre aux jeunes musiciens d’orchestre trois semaines immersives et inspirantes pour durant lesquelles ils collaborent avec des artistes aguerris dans un cadre professionnel. 

Artistes

  • Chef d'orchestre Alexander Shelley
  • Piano Gabriela Montero
  • Choeur Ensemble Calixa-Lavallée
  • Choeur Ewashko
    Choeur Ewashko Singers
  • No headshot
    Compositeur Jimmy Bellido
  • Avec Orchestre du CNA
  • Régisseuse Tobi Hunt McCoy