October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
This event ended on: Oct 30, 2021

Primal Message

with the NAC Orchestra

Music Classical music

Watch more in this series

  • NAC Orchestra

  Oct 30, 2021 - 8 PM  EDT   90 minutes with no intermission.

Nokuthula Ngwenyama Primal Message Florence Price Piano Concerto in One Movement Mozart Symphony No. 39 in E-flat Major

Nokuthula Ngwenyama’s Primal Message is a tender, truly primal work inspired by the idea of sharing the things we reveal to each other—our intelligence, our emotions, our goodness. This powerful piece trades melody between voices to create a beautiful meditation on communication. 

Florence Price (1887-1953) was an African-American composer whose work was performed widely during her lifetime and then neglected until recent re-discovery and championing by musicians worldwide. Her work is infused with her experience as a Black woman in the post-Civil War American south. Shortly after the concerto’s premiere in 1934, the Pittsburgh Sun Telegraph called it “real American music…. Mrs. Price is speaking a language that she knows.” This warm and nostalgic concerto comes to life in the hands of American pianist Michelle Cann, a champion of Price’s work who makes her NAC debut. 

Despite the personal struggles Mozart was facing at the time he wrote his Symphony No. 39—near penury, waning popularity, and the death of his only daughter—this majestic and vibrant symphony, the first of three (his last) written in rapid succession, is Mozart at his best.

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
Xian Zhang © Ben Ealovega

Message brut

avec l'Orchestre du CNA

2021-10-30 20:00 2021-10-30 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Message brut

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29204

CNA en direct

Œuvre sensible et réellement originelle, Primal Message, de Nokuthula Ngwenyama, s’intéresse à la transmission des choses qu’on se révèle les uns aux autres, comme notre intelligence, nos émotions et notre bonté. Cette œuvre puissante entremêle plusieurs voix en une mélodie pour créer une sublime méditation sur la communication. Florence Price (1887-1953) est une compositrice...

Read more

Salle Southam,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 30 octobre 2021
20 h HAE
Diffusion en direct
Xian Zhang © Ben Ealovega
Musique Musique classique
  • Nokuthula Ngwenyama Primal Message
  • Florence Price Concerto pour piano en un mouvement
  • Mozart Symphonie no 39 en mi bémol majeur

CNA en direct

Œuvre sensible et réellement originelle, Primal Message, de Nokuthula Ngwenyama, s’intéresse à la transmission des choses qu’on se révèle les uns aux autres, comme notre intelligence, nos émotions et notre bonté. Cette œuvre puissante entremêle plusieurs voix en une mélodie pour créer une sublime méditation sur la communication.

Florence Price (1887-1953) est une compositrice afro-américaine. Ses œuvres, largement jouées durant sa vie, ont par la suite été oubliées avant d’être redécouvertes et mises en valeur par des musiciens du monde entier. Ses compositions sont imprégnées de son expérience en tant que femme noire dans le Sud des États-Unis durant la période qui suit la guerre civile. Peu après la première de son Concerto en 1934, le Pittsburgh Sun-Telegraph déclare qu’il s’agit « de musique américaine authentique… Mme Price parle la langue qu’elle connaît le mieux ». Ce concerto chaleureux et nostalgique prend vie sous les doigts de la pianiste américaine Michelle Cann, une adepte de l’œuvre de Price qui fait ici ses premiers pas avec le CNA.

Malgré les problèmes personnels auxquels Mozart fait face au moment où il compose sa Symphonie no 39 – indigence, popularité en chute libre et décès de son unique fille – cette majestueuse et dynamique symphonie, la première de trois œuvres (ses dernières) composées une à la suite de l’autre, représente le meilleur de Mozart.

Durée approximative de 90 minutes sans entracte.

Xian Zhang © Ben Ealovega
Menu