This event ended on: Nov 23, 2023

Presented by Audi

Shelley Conducts Strauss

& Felix Klieser Plays Mozart

Music Classical music Masterworks

Watch more in this series

  • NAC Orchestra

  Nov 23, 2023 - 8 PM EST

Kelly-Marie Murphy Dark Nights, Bright Stars, Vast Universe (NACO commission) RICHARD STRAUSS Don Juan, Op. 20 WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Horn Concerto No. 4 in E-flat major, K. 495 Kevin Lau The Infinite Reaches (World premiere, NACO commission) RICHARD STRAUSS Tod und Verklärung (Death and Transfiguration), Op. 24

Richard Strauss’s tone poems (one-movement symphonic works that tell a story) depict epic tales and ask life’s big questions. Contemporary Canadian composers Kelly-Marie Murphy and Kevin Lau reply with fresh companion pieces to two of Strauss’s best-known tone poems.

Concert-level mastery of a work like Mozart’s Horn Concerto No. 4 takes patience, talent, and determination, and guest guest horn player Felix Klieser, a musical prodigy who was born with no arms, has worked since childhood to reach that pinnacle, learning to play the horn with his left foot. 

Richard Strauss’s tone poem Don Juan follows the legendary and heartless womanizer through days and nights of wicked promiscuity and debauchery, through romance after ardent romance, until the infamous philanderer succumbs to a fiery and mournful end. Canadian composer Kelly-Marie Murphy took inspiration for her first NAC commission, which premieres tonight, from the other events taking place when Strauss wrote Don Juan, including Van Gogh’s painting Starry Night, and the extraordinary life of Scottish astronomer, Williamina Fleming, one of the founding members of the “Harvard Computers”.

Strauss was 25 years old when he composed another of his tone poems, Tod und Verklärung (Death and Transfiguration), a “cosmic musical drama, concerned with the twilight of life,” (thelistenersclub.com). The piece asks lofty questions: What is the nature of life and what lies on the other side? Canadian composer Kevin Lau answers with his transcendent NACO commission entitled The Infinite Reaches, also making its world premiere in Southam Hall.

Artists

  • dscf9130-curtis-perry-2-cropped
    Featuring Alexander Shelley
  • 02-felixklieseryymaikehelbig-kopie-cropped
    Featuring Felix Klieser
  • Featuring Kelly-Marie Murphy
  • kevin-lau
    Featuring Kevin Lau
  • bio-orchestra
    Featuring NAC Orchestra
  • Stage Manager Laurie Champagne

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa
Cet événement s’est terminé le jeudi, 23 novembre 2023

présenté par Audi

Shelley dirige Strauss

et Felix Klieser joue Mozart

Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre

En regarder plus de cette série

  • l'Orchestre du CNA

  23 nov 2023 - 20 h

Kelly-Marie Murphy Dark Nights, Bright Stars, Vast Universe (commande de l’OCNA) RICHARD STRAUSS Don Juan, op. 20 WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Concerto pour cor no 4 en mi bémol majeur, K. 495 Kevin Lau The Infinite Reaches (Commande de l’OCNA) RICHARD STRAUSS Tod und Verklärung (Mort et transfiguration), op. 24

Les poèmes symphoniques de Richard Strauss (une œuvre d’un seul mouvement racontant une histoire) parlent de récits épiques et posent des questions existentielles. La compositrice et le compositeur contemporains canadiens Kelly-Marie Murphy et Kevin Lau y répondent par de nouveaux morceaux qui accompagnent les deux poèmes symphoniques les plus connus de Strauss.

Pour en arriver à jouer en concert une œuvre comme le Concerto pour cor no  4 (K. 495) de Mozart, il faut de la patience, du talent et de la détermination. Et le corniste invité Felix Klieser, un prodige de la musique né sans bras qui joue du cor avec son pied gauche, a travaillé depuis l’enfance pour réaliser ce rêve.

Le poème symphonique Don Juan de Richard Strauss suit les aventures du célèbre coureur de jupons sans cœur pour des jours et des nuits de promiscuité et de débauche, une amourette après l’autre, jusqu’à ce que l’illustre séducteur succombe à une terrible et triste fin. Pour sa première commande de l’Orchestre du CNA, la compositrice canadienne Kelly-Marie Murphy s’est inspirée d’événements survenus à l’époque où Strauss a écrit Don Juan, notamment le tableau La Nuit étoilée de Van Gogh et l’extraordinaire destin de l’astronome écossaise, Williamina Fleming, l’une des membres fondatrices du groupe Harvard Computers.

Richard Strauss avait 25 ans quand il a composé un de ses autres poèmes symphoniques, Tod und Verklärung (Mort et transfiguration), un « drame musical cosmique, qui parle du crépuscule de la vie » (thelistenersclub.com). L’œuvre pose de grandes questions : quelle est la nature de la vie et qu’est-ce qui nous attend après la mort? Le compositeur canadien Kevin Lau y répond à l’aide de cette commande transcendantale pour l’Orchestre du CNA intitulée The Infinite Reaches, qui fait elle aussi sa première mondiale à la Salle Southam.

Artistes

  • Avec Alexander Shelley
  • Avec Felix Klieser
  • Avec Kelly-Marie Murphy
  • Avec Kevin Lau
  • Avec Orchestre du CNA
  • Régisseuse Laurie Champagne

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacles Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres