Nobuyuki Tsujii © Giorgia Bertazzi

Presented by Audi

An Alpine Symphony - Free Livestream

featuring Nobu and the NAC Orchestra

2023-05-11 20:00 2023-05-11 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: An Alpine Symphony - Free Livestream

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/32867

NAC Livestream

Tonight’s guest artist, Japanese pianist Nobu (Nobuyuki Tsuji), first found himself at a keyboard at the age of 2 picking out a tune he heard his mother hum. Nobu has gone on to become a composer and much sought-after guest pianist, with a legion of fellow concert pianists as admirers. Blind from birth, Nobu learns each piece strictly by ear, and of his performances, iconic pianist Van Cliburn once said “…he was absolutely miraculous. His performance had the power of a...

Read more

Online
Thursday, May 11, 2023
8 PM EDT
NAC Livestream
Nobuyuki Tsujii © Giorgia Bertazzi
Nobuyuki Tsujii
Music Classical music Masterworks Piano
  • KEIKO DEVAUX New work for NAC Orchestra
  • Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 2, Op. 18
  • R. Strauss An Alpine Symphony
  • NAC Livestream

Tonight’s guest artist, Japanese pianist Nobu (Nobuyuki Tsuji), first found himself at a keyboard at the age of 2 picking out a tune he heard his mother hum. Nobu has gone on to become a composer and much sought-after guest pianist, with a legion of fellow concert pianists as admirers. Blind from birth, Nobu learns each piece strictly by ear, and of his performances, iconic pianist Van Cliburn once said “…he was absolutely miraculous. His performance had the power of a healing service. It was truly divine.” Tonight, Nobu performs Rachmaninoff’s glorious and immensely moving Piano Concerto No. 2

Montreal-based composer Keiko Devaux is an NAC Orchestra Carrefour composer resident whose approach to composition embraces a love of electroacoustic sounds and “genre-blurring.” The NAC Orchestra is proud to perform the world premiere of her new work. 

Our concert closes with Richard Strauss’s tone poem An Alpine Symphony, the great composer’s orchestral rendering of the alpine landscape—rousingly rugged in one passage and delicate as snowfall in the next. An Alpine Symphony paints with music the majesty of icy mountains and silent winter nights and perfectly demonstrates how artists have always listened to the Earth and endeavored to capture the exquisite beauty of our planet.    

The NAC Orchestra is proud to present this concert as part of NACO’s Mentorship Program. Now in its second year, this program provides aspiring young orchestral musicians three immersive and inspiring weeks working side by side with NACO musicians in a professional orchestra setting. The evening’s performance also serves as a fitting bookend to NACO’s year-long exploration of the Orchestra as an ecosystem and the ways in which music and art can serve as inspiration for a way forward in the climate crisis.

video:
Nobuyuki Tsujii © Giorgia Bertazzi
Nobuyuki Tsujii
Menu

Nobuyuki Tsujii © Giorgia Bertazzi

Présenté par Audi

Une symphonie alpestre - Webdiffusion gratuite

avec Nobu et l'Orchestre du CNA

2023-05-11 20:00 2023-05-11 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Une symphonie alpestre - Webdiffusion gratuite

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/32867

CNA en direct

L’artiste invité de ce soir, le pianiste Nobuyuki Tsujii (Nobu), s’est mis au piano pour la première fois à l’âge de deux ans afin de jouer un air qu’il avait entendu sa mère fredonner. Il est maintenant un compositeur et un pianiste invité très prisé admiré par nombre d’autres pianistes et compositeurs associés. Aveugle de naissance, il apprend chaque œuvre seulement à...

Read more

En ligne
jeudi 11 mai 2023
20 h HAE
Diffusion en direct
Nobuyuki Tsujii © Giorgia Bertazzi
Nobuyuki Tsujii
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Piano
  • KEIKO DEVAUX New work for NAC Orchestra
  • Rachmaninov Concerto pour piano no 2, op. 18
  • R. Strauss Une symphonie alpestre 
  • CNA en direct

L’artiste invité de ce soir, le pianiste Nobuyuki Tsujii (Nobu), s’est mis au piano pour la première fois à l’âge de deux ans afin de jouer un air qu’il avait entendu sa mère fredonner. Il est maintenant un compositeur et un pianiste invité très prisé admiré par nombre d’autres pianistes et compositeurs associés. Aveugle de naissance, il apprend chaque œuvre seulement à l’oreille. Le grand pianiste Van Cliburn a déjà dit de Nobuyuki Tsujii qu’il était « un véritable prodige! Sa prestation avait une grande puissance cérémoniale. C’était absolument divin. » Ce soir, le pianiste interprétera le Concerto pour piano no 2 de Rachmaninov, une œuvre glorieuse et profondément touchante.

Keiko Devaux, compositrice habitant à Montréal, fait partie des artistes choisis pour la résidence Carrefour de l’Orchestre du CNA. Son approche de la composition célèbre son amour des sonorités électroacoustiques et des œuvres qui brouillent les limites entre les genres. L’Orchestre du CNA est fier de présenter, en première mondiale, la toute nouvelle œuvre de Keiko Devaux .

Le concert se terminera avec une œuvre de Richard StraussUne symphonie alpestre, qui est une splendide transposition orchestrale des paysages alpins, tantôt brute d’intensité, tantôt délicate comme un flocon. Cette œuvre exprime en musique la noblesse des montagnes enneigées et des nuits paisibles de l’hiver, et nous rappelle que les artistes prêtent depuis toujours l’oreille à notre planète pour tenter de capturer sa beauté exquise.

L’Orchestre du CNA se sent honoré de présenter ce concert dans le cadre du programme de mentorat du CNA, qui en est maintenant à sa deuxième année et qui offre aux jeunes musiciens d’orchestre trois semaines immersives et inspirantes pour durant lesquelles ils collaborent avec des artistes aguerris dans un cadre professionnel. Ce spectacle sera également le point d’orgue d’une année passée à explorer l’orchestre en tant qu’écosystème et les façons dont la musique peut inspirer à trouver un chemin à travers la crise climatique.

video:
Nobuyuki Tsujii © Giorgia Bertazzi
Nobuyuki Tsujii
Menu