Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend
This event ended on: Apr 21, 2022

Appalachian Spring

Music Classical music
  • NAC Orchestra

  Apr 21, 2022 - 8 PM EDT   2 hours and 20 minutes including intermission

Caroline Shaw Entr’acte for string orchestra MARTIN Concerto for seven wind instruments, timpani, percussion, and string orchestra DERRICK SKYE Prisms, Cycles, Leaps Copland Suite from Appalachian Spring

Featuring:

  • Joanna G'froerer, flute
  • Charles Hamann, oboe
  • Kimball Sykes, clarinet
  • Darren Hicks, bassoon
  • Lawrence Vine, horn
  • Karen Donnelly, trumpet
  • Donald Renshaw, trombone
  • Feza Zweifel, timpani

In the world of aspiring conductors, winning the Malko Prize is “akin to…being named NBA Rookie of the Year” (Andy Levinsky, CalArts The Pool.) The coveted Malko comes with a considerable monetary award, but more than that, it presents its winner the opportunity to conduct 24 renowned orchestras from around the world, including Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra. Since his win in 2018, Ryan Bancroft, has taken the conducting world by storm, and at last, after several delays caused by the pandemic, makes his NAC debut.

Caroline Shaw, the youngest composer ever awarded the Pulitzer Prize in Music, says of her own work, “I love the way some music suddenly takes you to the other side of Alice’s looking glass...” Her Entr’acte for String Orchestra (inspired by Haydn’s String Quartet in F) is indeed filled with playful pizzicato and pops of joy mixed with lush sonic poetry that sends us soaring and peeking around corners into a world of traditional Baroque harmonies.

Swiss composer Frank Martin’s Concerto for seven wind instruments, timpani, percussion, and string orchestra is not your grandmother’s typical concerto, except in its three-movement structure. Martin’s aim was to shine a light on the virtuosity of the orchestra’s wind instruments, and his concerto does so with aplomb. Featuring an exciting timpani solo near its end, this is a hypnotic romp that stands as one of Martin’s most enduring works.

The National Arts Centre Orchestra is delighted to perform the Canadian premiere of Derrick Skye’s Prisms, Cycles, Leaps, a dazzling musical travelogue that links North Indian Hindustani classical music with the music of the Balkans and the Volta region of Ghana. This is a gorgeous, energizing work that explores our infinite search for connection with each other.

American composer Aaron Copland was committed to creating a distinct American musical voice, and perhaps no other of his works exemplifies this journey better than his beloved Appalachian Spring. Originally known as Ballet for Martha, this beautiful work was commissioned in 1942 for the dancer and choreographer Martha Graham, a great friend of Copland. Taking inspiration from the Shaker hymn “Simple Gifts,” Copland evokes the pristine beauty of the Appalachian Mountains, looking back to a perhaps imaginary, more innocent America. 

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Cet événement s’est terminé le jeudi, 21 avril 2022

Printemps des Appalaches

Musique Musique classique

En regarder plus de cette série

  • l'Orchestre du CNA

  21 avr 2022 - 20 h HAE   2 heures et 20 minutes avec entracte

Caroline Shaw Entr’acte pour ochestre à cordes MARTIN Concerto pour sept instruments à vent, timbales, percussions et orchestre à cordes DERRICK SKYE Prismes, cycles, sauts Copland Suite tirée de Appalachian Spring

Avec:

  • Joanna G'froerer, flûte
  • Charles Hamann, hautbois
  • Kimball Sykes, clarinette
  • Darren Hicks, basson
  • Lawrence Vine, cor
  • Karen Donnelly, trompette
  • Donald Renshaw, trombone
  • Feza Zweifel, timbales

Dans le monde des aspirants chefs d’orchestre, décrocher un prix Malko revient à remporter le titre de recrue de l’année à la NBA (Andy Levinsky, CalArts The Pool). En plus d’une somme considérable, ce prix offre au lauréat l’occasion de diriger 24 grands orchestres dans le monde, dont l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada. Depuis qu’il l’a reçu en 2018, Ryan Bancroft a connu un véritable succès mondial, et enfin, après de nombreux délais occasionnés par la pandémie, va faire ses débuts au CNA. 

Caroline Shaw est la plus jeune compositrice à avoir reçu le prix Pulitzer en musique; elle dit « aime[r] la façon dont certaines musiques vous propulsent soudain de l’autre côté du miroir d’Alice. » Son Entr’acte pour orchestre à cordes (inspiré par le Quatuor à cordes en fa de Haydn) est en effet rempli de pizzicatos enjoués et de bulles de joie mélangés à une riche poésie sonore. L’œuvre élève et dévoile un univers d’harmonies baroques traditionnelles.  

Le Concerto pour sept instruments à vent, timbales, batterie et orchestre à cordes du compositeur suisse Frank Martin n’est pas ce qu’on pourrait appeler un concerto typique, sauf peut-être pour sa structure en trois mouvements. Le but du compositeur était de mettre en lumière toute la virtuosité des instruments à vent de l’orchestre. Il y parvient avec brio dans ce concerto! Comprenant un palpitant solo de timbales vers la fin, cette balade hypnotique est une des œuvres les plus inoubliables de Martin.  

L’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts a l’honneur de recevoir Derrick Skye pour la première canadienne de Prisms, Cycles, Leaps, un exaltant récit de voyage musical qui lie la musique hindoustanie de l’Inde de Nord à celles des Balkans et de la région ghanéenne de la Volta. C’est une œuvre merveilleuse et dynamique qui explore les liens que nous cherchons sans relâche à tisser.  

Le compositeur américain Aaron Copland voulait créer une voix distincte pour la musique américaine. Aucune de ses œuvres n’incarnerait cette quête aussi bien que la très appréciée Appalachian Spring. D’abord intitulée Ballet for Martha, cette œuvre magnifique a été commandée en 1942 pour la danseuse et chorégraphe Martha Graham, une grande amie de Copland. S’inspirant de l’hymne shaker Simple Gifts, Copland évoque la beauté pure des Appalaches et une Amérique plus innocente, ne serait-ce qu’en imagination.  

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacles Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu