|
principal trombone

Donald Renshaw

Born in Montreal, Donald Renshaw received his Bachelor degree in Music with distinction in trombone from McGill University in 1977 and a Master of Music degree from The Juilliard School in New York City in 1982.

After graduating in 1977, he freelanced in both the classical and commercial fields performing a wide spectrum of musical styles from early and contemporary music with such groups as the Studio de Musique Ancienne de Montréal under Christopher Jackson on sackbut, and the Société de Musique Contemporaine du Québec under Serge Garant, to performing in backup, jazz and dance big bands.

While in New York, he performed regularly at Carnegie Hall with the National Orchestra of New York. During this time, he attended summer sessions of the National Youth Orchestra of Canada and the Tanglewood Festival in Massachusetts. In 1983, Mr. Renshaw was invited to perform with the Montreal Symphony Orchestra as Principal Trombone. He was appointed Principal Trombone of Orchestra London Canada in 1983, a position he held for three years while teaching at the University of Western Ontario.

In 1986, Don Renshaw became Principal Trombone of the National Arts Centre Orchestra and taught trombone, tuba and Jazz Ensemble at the Conservatoire de Musique du Québec à Hull from 1987 to 1994. He is a founding member of the Rideau Lakes Brass Quintet and the Capital BrassWorks ensemble and teaches at the University of Ottawa.

Don and his wife Linda are proud parents of two sons, Adam and Aaron.

Menu

|
trombone solo

Donald Renshaw

Né à Montréal, Donald Renshaw a obtenu son baccalauréat en musique avec distinction en trombone à l'Université McGill, en 1977, et une maîtrise de l'École Juilliard de New York, en 1982.

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme en 1977, il a travaillé comme musicien contractuel aussi bien dans des ensembles de musique classique que dans le domaine commercial, touchant à une vaste gamme de styles musicaux, jouant par exemple de la saqueboute avec le Studio de musique ancienne de Montréal sous la direction de Christopher Jackson et avec la Société de musique contemporaine du Québec sous la direction de Serge Garant. Il a accompagné des chanteurs et a joué dans des orchestres de jazz et des ensembles big band.

Pendant son séjour à New York, M. Renshaw s'est produit régulièrement au Carnegie Hall au sein du National Orchestra de New York. À cette époque, il a participé aux sessions d'été de l'Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada et au Festival de Tanglewood, dans le Massachusetts. En 1983, l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal a invité M. Renshaw à se produire à titre de trombone solo. Il a été nommé trombone solo d'Orchestra London Canada en 1983, poste qu’il a occupé pendant trois ans tandis qu'il enseignait à l'Université Western Ontario.

En 1986, il est devenu trombone solo de l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts et a enseigné le trombone, le tuba et la musique de jazz au Conservatoire de musique du Québec à Hull de 1987 à 1994. Il est membre fondateur du Quintette de cuivres Rideau Lakes et du Capital BrassWorks Ensemble, et enseigne à l’Université d’Ottawa.

Don Renshaw et sa femme Linda ont deux fils dont ils sont très fiers, Adam et Aaron.

Menu