September 27, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Joanna G'froerer |  Fred Cattroll
principal flute

Joanna G’froerer

Praised by critics for the beauty, clarity and fluidity of her sound, impeccable phrasing and consummate musicality, Joanna G’froerer enjoys an exciting career as an orchestral player, chamber musician, soloist and educator. Principal Flutist of Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra since 1992, she was appointed to that position at the age of 20, the youngest principal musician ever to be hired by the NACO.

A native of Vancouver, Canada, Ms. G’froerer comes from a family of professional musicians. She studied flute in Vancouver with Kathleen Rudolph, and in Montreal with Timothy Hutchins, earning a Licentiate in Music from McGill University in 1993.  Her education also included orchestral training at the Interlochen Arts Camp and with the National Youth Orchestra of Canada.

Joanna performs regularly as a soloist with the NACO, having appeared as soloist in over thirty different programs since joining the orchestra. She has also performed concerti with many of Canada's other fine ensembles, including the symphony orchestras of Vancouver, Victoria, and Quebec City. Joanna G’froerer is a past first-prize winner of the Montreal Symphony Orchestra Competition.

Among Ms. G’froerer’s acclaimed recordings are a CBC disc of Mozart's Flute Quartets with Pinchas Zukerman, Martin Beaver and Amanda Forsyth, named Best Canadian Chamber Music Recording of 2002 by Opus Magazine.  A Naxos recording of Rodrigo's Flute Concerto and Fantasia Para un Gentilhombre with the Asturias Symphony under Maestro Maximiano Valdes was  “exquisitely played by the Canadian virtuoso Joanna G’froerer” (Anthony Holden, The Observer).  Also for Naxos, “Saint-Saens, Music for Winds” was an Editor’s Pick for Gramophone Magazine in 2011. A new recording of Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 2, with Jens Lindemann, James Ehnes, Jon Kimura Parker and Charles Hamann, was nominated for a Juno Award in 2021.

Joanna G’froerer has been featured in the chamber music festivals of Montreal, Toronto, Vancouver, and Ottawa, at the Scotia Festival and at Brazil’s Campos do Jordao Festival. She is a member of the National Arts Centre Wind Quintet, and the G’froerer Gott Duo, with harpist Michelle Gott.

Joanna was a co-founder of the Classical Unbound Festival in Prince Edward County, Ontario, and served as Co-Artistic Director during its first three seasons.

As an educator, Ms. G’froerer has taught flute at the NAC Summer Music Institute, at Domaine Forget and the National Youth Orchestra of Canada, and has presented masterclasses at universities and conservatories throughout Canada, as well as in the USA, Europe and Asia. Joanna is presently on faculty at the University of Ottawa and at McGill University in Montreal.

Joanna G’froerer is a Wm. S. Haynes Artist, playing a custom 19.5 K gold Haynes flute with lightweight silver mechanism and headjoints in 19.5K and 14K gold.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
Joanna G'froerer |  Fred Cattroll
flûte solo

Joanna G'froerer

Saluée par la critique pour un son, un impeccable phrasé et un art musical consommé qui se distinguent par leur beauté, leur clarté et leur fluidité, Joanna G’froerer poursuit une brillante carrière de musicienne d’orchestre, chambriste, soliste et pédagogue. Devenue flûte solo de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada à l’âge de 20 ans, en 1992, elle était alors la plus jeune instrumentiste qu’ait recruté l’ensemble.

Née à Vancouver dans une famille de musiciens professionnels, G’froerer a étudié dans cette ville auprès de Kathleen Rudolph, et a eu pour maître Timothy Hutchins à l’Université McGill, qui lui a décerné une licence en musique en 1993. Sa formation orchestrale comprend également le Camp artistique d’Interlochen et l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada.

G’froerer se produit régulièrement avec l’Orchestre du CNA; on a pu l’entendre comme soliste avec cet ensemble dans plus d’une trentaine de programmes différents depuis 1992. En tant que flûte solo, elle a partagé la scène avec de grands ensembles, tels les orchestres symphoniques de Vancouver, Victoria et Québec. Elle a déjà remporté le Concours de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal.

Dans la discographie reconnue de G’froerer, notons un album de quatuors avec flûtes de Mozart, paru sous étiquette Disques SRC, avec Pinchas Zuckerman, Martin Beaver et Amanda Forsyth, sacré meilleur album canadien de musique de chambre par le magazine Opus (2002); un enregistrement du concerto pour flûte et de la Fantaisie pour un gentilhomme de Rodrigo avec l’Orchestre symphonique de la principauté des Asturies sous la direction de Maximiano Valdes pour Naxos, « interprété de manière exquise par la virtuose canadienne Joanna G’froerer » (Anthony Holden, The Observer); un album de musique pour instruments à vent de Saint-Saëns, choix des éditeurs du magazine Gramophone en 2011; et un nouvel enregistrement du Concerto brandebourgeois no 2 de Bach avec James Ehnes, Jon Kimura Parker et Charles Hamann, cité pour un prix JUNO (2021).

On a pu voir Joanna G’froerer lors de festivals de musique de chambre à Montréal, Toronto, Vancouver et Ottawa ainsi qu’au Scotiafest et au Festival Campos do Jordao au Brésil. Membre du quintette à vent de l’Orchestre du CNA, elle forme également le duo G’froerer-Gott avec la harpiste Michelle Gott.

Cofondatrice du festival Classical Unbound du comté de Prince Edward, G’froerer en a été la codirectrice artistique pendant ses trois premières saisons.

À titre de pédagogue, G’froerer a enseigné la flûte à l’Institut estival de musique du CNA, au Domaine Forget et auprès de l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada. Elle a de plus animé des classes de maître dans des universités et conservatoires partout au Canada ainsi qu’aux États-Unis, en Europe et en Asie. Elle fait actuellement partie du corps professoral de l’Université McGill et de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Artiste Wm. S. Haynes, Joanna G’froerer se produit sur scène avec une flûte Haynes de 19,5 carats d’or comportant un mécanisme léger en argent et des têtes de 19,5 et 14 carats d’or.

Menu