September 21, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
This event ended on: Sep 10, 2021

NACO In A New Light

with the NAC Orchestra

Music Classical music

Watch more in this series

  • NAC Orchestra

  Sep 10, 2021 - 8 PM  EDT   90 minutes with no intermission.

Karen Donnelly To Rise Trevor Weston Ashes Vivian Fung Prayer Gabriel Dharmoo Ninaivanjali Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4

Our return to the shared concert experience, and the opening of our season, begins with a program moving from darkness to light. 

Throughout the centuries, the trumpet has provided a clarion call to humanity—to fight, to worship, to acclaim, or to celebrate. Principal Trumpet Karen Donnelly has composed a moving hymn for solo trumpet which leads us into the beauty and sorrow of Trevor Weston’s “Ashes” for unaccompanied voices.  Commissioned in 2002 for the choir of New York’s Trinity Wall Street, “Ashes” evokes the sound and colour of the world in ashes after the fall of the World Trade Center, and is a touchstone for remembrance as the world marks the 20th anniversary of 9/11.

Of her new work Prayer, composer Vivian Fung says, “[never] have I worn my heart on my sleeve as transparently as with this piece.” A co-commission of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and CBC in the early weeks of Covid-19, Prayer premiered online in June 2020, with at least one musician from each of Canada’s 28 professional orchestras performing.

“Ninaivanjali” is a Tamil expression that means “in memory of,” and Gabriel Dharmoo’s enigmatic creation of the same name pays tribute to Dharmoo’s Indian rhythm teacher. 

Our concert closes with Tchaikovsky’s exhilarating Symphony No. 4, dedicated to his patron and “best friend” Nadezhda von Meck. From beginning to end, this beautiful work grows persuasively from melancholy to triumph—urgent, supercharged, and jubilant. 

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 21 septembre 2021.
Cet événement s’est terminé le vendredi, 10 septembre 2021

L’OCNA comme jamais

avec l'Orchestre du CNA

Musique Musique classique

En regarder plus de cette série

  • l'Orchestre du CNA

  10 sep 2021 - 20 h  HAE   90 minutes sans entracte.

Karen Donnelly To Rise Trevor Weston Ashes Vivian Fung Prayer Gabriel Dharmoo Ninaivanjali Tchaïkovsky Symphonie no 4

Notre retour à l’expérience partagée du concert, de même que notre saison commence avec un programme allant de l’ombre à la lumière.

De tout temps, la trompette a représenté un appel à l’action pour l’humanité : un appel au combat, à la dévotion, à l’acclamation ou encore à la célébration. La trompette solo Karen Donnelly a composé un hymne émouvant pour trompette solo qui nous mène vers la beauté et la douleur d’Ashes, la composition de Trevor Weston pour voix non accompagnées. Commandée en 2002 pour le Choir of Trinity Wall Street de New York, Ashes évoque le son et la couleur d’un monde de cendres après la chute du World Trade Center. Elle constitue la pierre angulaire des commémorations des événements du 11 septembre, qui auront 20 ans cette année.

La compositrice Vivian Fung note qu’elle a « mis son cœur à nu comme jamais auparavant » dans sa nouvelle œuvre, Prayer. Commandée conjointement par l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto et la CBC au début de la pandémie de COVID-19, celle-ci a été créée en ligne en juin 2020 par un groupe d’instrumentistes représentant vingt-huit orchestres professionnels du Canada. 

Ninaivanjali est une expression tamoule qui signifie « en mémoire de ». Dans son énigmatique création du même nom, Gabriel Dharmoo rend hommage à son professeur de rythmique indienne.

Notre concert se conclut par l’exaltante Symphonie no 4 de Tchaïkovsky, dédiée à sa mécène et « meilleure amie » Nadejda von Meck. Du début à la fin, cette magnifique œuvre progresse de façon convaincante de la mélancolie au triomphe, en passant par l’urgence, l’amplification et la jubilation.

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacles Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu