April 8, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
This event ended on: Feb 27, 2021

Mighty River

with the NAC Orchestra

Music Classical music Violin
  • #CanadaPerforms
  • NAC Orchestra

  Feb 27, 2021 - 8 PM  EDT

Anna Clyne This Midnight Hour (12 mins) MAURICE RAVEL Tzigane for Violin and Orchestra (Marie Bégin) (9 mins) Zosha Di Castri Cortège (8 mins) Darius Milhaud Scaramouche, Op. 165c (Jennifer Tran, saxophone) (10 mins) Errollyn Wallen Mighty River (17 mins 30 secs)

The NAC Orchestra conducted by Music Director Alexander Shelley goes technicolour with this program of exciting contemporary works by Anna Clyne, Zosha Di Castri, and Errollyn Wallen. Interspersed between them are modern showpieces by Ravel and Milhaud, featuring two talents from CBC Music’s 2020 classical “30 under 30” list: violinist Marie Bégin and saxophonist Jennifer Tran.

Anna Clyne’s This Midnight Hour (2015) opens this concert with a goose bump–inducing adventure of orchestral sound and colour. Its ferocious beginning, according to Clyne, was “inspired by the character and power of the lower strings of the Orchestre national d’île de France”, who commissioned the piece. From there, she notes, the music draws inspiration from two poems—one by Juan Ramón Jiménez, the other by Charles Baudelaire—that are intended “to evoke a visual journey for the listener” (see below for the texts). We first follow Jiménez’s running woman, headlong and blindly through the music’s twists and turns, riding the darting, rapid motives and the constant and extreme shifts in instrumental registers, textures, and dynamics. Halfway through the work, the melody of Baudelaire’s melancholy waltz bursts through, played “soaring and passionately” by the violas. Soon, however, it disintegrates into the earlier anxieties of the first part; they nearly overwhelm, but are eventually soothed, giving way to a tender orchestral reflection on the waltz theme…before ending with one final surprise.

Marie Bégin takes centre-stage next, as the soloist in Maurice Ravel’s Tzigane (1924). The composer had written it for the Hungarian virtuoso violinist Jelly d’Arányi, whom he saw perform at a London concert after which he requested she play Romani tunes for him late into the night. Inspired by the music she played as well as her technical prowess on the instrument, Ravel created this “concert rhapsody” that draws on various styles of folk music, including Romani and Hungarian, as well as those in a repertoire of violin showpieces by composers such as Pablo de Sarasate and Niccolò Paganini. Composed initially for violin and piano or luthéal (a mechanical attachment for the piano that makes it sound like a cimbalom), the version you’ll hear tonight is with Ravel’s orchestration.

Tzigane begins with a long improvisatory introduction, intense and brooding (it’s nearly half the work’s length). After an otherworldly transition with harp, the violin, now with the orchestra, embarks on two sets of theme and variations. The first is based on a mysterious, folk-like theme from the introduction, on which the violinist cycles through displays of virtuosic techniques with each iteration—harmonics, left-hand pizzicato, double stops, trills. A grandiose melody then sets the stage for the second set of variations based on a dance-like figure. It gradually picks up momentum, whirling faster and faster to the piece’s close.

Like Clyne’s This Midnight Hour, Zosha Di Castri’s Cortège (2010) has a poetic basis. As she describes it, in her own note to the piece, “the idea of a strange procession, a relentless succession of people and sounds…stemmed from a few lines from [Constantine P.] Cavafy’s ‘The God Abandons Antony’ (referencing Plutarch’s story of when Marcus Antonius was besieged in Alexandria by Octavian), and Leonard Cohen’s subsequent adaptation of this poem in the song ‘Alexandra Leaving’.” A “heavy chord” launches Cortège, after which the work progresses in block-like sections, each delineated by the periodic return of the chord, which acts “as a pivot-point between other material.” The intended effect is that of a “rich sonic patchwork”, with the contrasting segments consisting of highly textured “night” music, achieved via techniques such as snap-plucked strings, buzzing tremolos, glissandos. There is an ominous edge to the mood; in the composer’s words, it is “like the perspective of someone observing a parade from a window above, [with] a melancholy awareness of the fleeting nature of the passing revelry. It is the music of impending loss, the night before the city falls into enemy hands or the evening before a lover leaves for good.”

From Cortège’s soundscape of twilight unrest, we are suddenly thrust into one of jaunty optimism in Darius Milhaud’s Scaramouche (1937), in his arrangement for alto saxophone, played tonight by Jennifer Tran, and orchestra. The suite’s contents are derived from incidental music Milhaud had previously composed for theatrical productions: to Molière/Charles Vildrac’s Le médecin volant for the outer movements; and the overture’s theme from his score to Jules Supervielle’s play Bolivar for the middle movement. “Vif” begins with the solo saxophone playing a bustling tune, jostled by syncopations along the way. A contrasting march-like theme of child-like quality follows; the saxophone later adds virtuosic flourishes to it before tumbling back into the opening music. The second movement features two principal ideas: first, a gently rocking theme played by the saxophone over slow dotted rhythms in the orchestra, after which the phrases of a graceful, more flowing melody are traded back and forth between soloist and instruments in the ensemble. These two themes are later combined simultaneously, after a barcarolle-like central section. In “Brasiliera”, the saxophone may be the one with the tune, but it’s the orchestra that is the life of this samba dance party.

Continuing in this hopeful vein, the concert concludes with Errollyn Wallen’s Mighty River (2007), a celebration of humans’ ceaseless pursuit of freedom. “It is an innate human instinct to be free,” she noted in a 2017 interview about the work, “just as it is a law of nature that the river should rush headlong to the sea. That is the concept behind Mighty River, which is composed in one single movement.” Commissioned by the Rector and PPC of Holy Trinity Clapham Common and Reverend John Wates to mark the bicentenary of the Abolition of the Slave Trade Act in the United Kingdom, the work combines contemporary composition techniques with spirituals. Wallen’s incorporation of the latter underscores the shared history of slavery in the UK and the US, for spirituals were initially introduced to the UK by the Fisk Jubilee Singers, an African-American a cappella choir, during their concert tour in 1873.

Mighty River begins with solo horn intoning the melody of the hymn “Amazing Grace” and then moves into pulsating chords in the strings, evoking the river’s unceasing forward progress. Over this minimalist backdrop, the woodwinds burble and, gradually, other instruments join the flow, adding wave-like texture and sparkle, as new themes begin to emerge. About midway through the work, there are references to the spirituals “Deep River” and “Go Down Moses”, which eventually lead into a climax. Afterward, the orchestral “river” resumes its course, with “Amazing Grace” played in turn by various instruments; it then continues its way, as if flowing more freely. Near the end, the hymn’s tune makes a final contemplative appearance by the solo horn. In describing Mighty River, Wallen has said “it is as if the perpetual motion of the music, like water, like time, through its sheer momentum, carries with it the cries and echoes of human hearts and voices that are singing out of suffering, repentance, humility, and hope.”

During Wallen’s introduction to Mighty River for this concert, three images appear that deserve highlighting. The first you see of a river is that of the Mississippi River. To African slaves in the USA, the Mississippi River symbolized both bondage and liberty—a route to enslavement but also to freedom. Near the end of the introduction appears another image of a river—the Belize River. Belize, where Wallen was born, has a history of African slavery during the 18th and 19th centuries. In between, you’ll see a 2007 British stamp commemorating the bicentenary of the Abolition of the Slave Trade Act. The stamp features William Wilberforce (1789–1833), the British politician and leader of the movement to abolish the slave trade.

by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Image credits for Mighty River introduction in order of appearance:

Sir Cam (Errollyn Wallen)

Spudgun67 (Holy Trinity Clapham)

Brian Stansberry (Mississippi River)

Martin Godwin (Errollyn Wallen)

Howard Brown (2007 stamp)

Laslovarga (Belize River)

Cathy Masser (Errollyn Wallen)

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 8 avril 2021.
Cet événement s’est terminé le samedi, 27 février 2021

Puissante rivière

avec l'Orchestre du CNA

Musique Musique classique Violon
  • #CanadaEnPrestation
  • l'Orchestre du CNA

  27 fév 2021 - 20 h  HAE

Anna Clyne This Midnight Hour (12 minutes) MAURICE RAVEL Tzigane pour violon et orchestre (Marie Bégin) (9 minutes) Zosha Di Castri Cortège (8 minutes) Darius Milhaud Scaramouche, op. 165c (Jennifer Tran, saxophone) (10 minutes) Errollyn Wallen Mighty River (17 minutes 30 secondes)

L’OCNA en direct vous propose un exaltant programme! Des œuvres contemporaines d’Anna Clyne, Zosha Di Castri et Errollyn Wallen côtoient des fleurons modernes de Ravel et Milhaud mettant en vedette deux des « Trente artistes classiques de moins de 30 ans à surveiller en 2020 », selon la CBC : Marie Bégin (violon) et Jennifer Tran (saxophone).

Notre concert débute avec une aventure aux sons et couleurs symphoniques à vous faire frissonner de plaisir : This Midnight Hour (2015) d’Anna Clyne. Son intense ouverture, note la compositrice, « s’inspire du caractère et de la puissance des cordes graves de l’Orchestre national d’Île-de-France », ensemble lui ayant commandé la pièce. La musique puise ensuite son inspiration dans deux poèmes – l’un de Juan Ramón Jiménez et l’autre de Charles Baudelaire (voyez les poèmes ci-dessous) – et, dit Clyne, « transporte les auditoires dans des univers visuels ». On suit d’abord le personnage de Jiménez – une femme courant à l’aveuglette, tête baissée – dans les tours et détours de la musique, marquée de motifs précipités et de nombreux changements frappants de registres, textures et dynamiques. Au milieu de la pièce s’élève une mélodie évoquant la « valse mélancolique » de Baudelaire, passionnément énoncée par les altos. Elle se désagrège toutefois rapidement et laisse place à l’anxiété de la première partie; devenant presque écrasante, celle-ci finit par s’apaiser, puis une tendre réflexion orchestrale sur le thème de la valse se fait entendre… avant que la composition ne se conclue sur une dernière surprise.

La soliste Marie Bégin tient ensuite la vedette dans Tzigane (1924) de Maurice Ravel. La pièce a été écrite pour la violoniste virtuose hongroise Jelly d’Arányi, que le compositeur avait vue en concert à Londres et à laquelle il avait ensuite demandé de lui jouer des mélodies gitanes tard dans la nuit. Inspiré par la musique interprétée et la prouesse technique de l’instrumentiste, Ravel conçut cette « rhapsodie de concert » en puisant à différents styles d’airs populaires, y compris gitans et hongrois, ainsi qu’au répertoire incontournable pour violon de compositeurs tels Pablo de Sarasate et Niccolò Paganini. Il l’écrivit d’abord pour violon et piano ou luthéal (dispositif pouvant être placé dans un piano pour reproduire la sonorité du cymbalum), puis en fit l’orchestration, version ici au programme.

Tzigane s’ouvre sur une longue, intense et méditative ouverture qui semble improvisée (elle constitue en fait la moitié de la pièce). À la suite d’une transition mystique à la harpe, le violon, qui prend maintenant sa place au sein de l’orchestre, se lance dans deux séries de thèmes et variations. La première s’appuie sur le thème mystérieux, quasi populaire, de l’ouverture, que le violon parcourt en démontrant toute sa virtuosité avec chaque variation – harmonies, pizzicato de la main gauche, doubles cordes et trilles. Une grandiose mélodie annonce alors une seconde série de variations basée sur une figure dansante. Le tempo s’accélère graduellement et la pièce tournoie de plus en plus vite jusqu’à sa conclusion.

À l’instar de This Midnight Hour, Cortège (2010) de Zosha Di Castri a des assises poétiques.  La compositrice écrit, dans la note décrivant la pièce : « [J’ai tiré] l’idée d’une étrange procession, d’une incessante succession de personnes et de sons […] du poème « Dieu abandonne Antoine » de [Constantin P.] Cavafy (qui fait référence au siège d’Alexandrie mené par Octave, que raconte Plutarque dans sa Vie d’Antoine) et de la chanson qu’il a inspirée à Leonard Cohen (« Alexandra Leaving »). Un « accord puissant » lance Cortège, qui se décline par sections, tels des blocs chacun délimité par le retour périodique de l’accord initial, agissant comme « pivot entre les différentes parties ». L’effet recherché est une « riche mosaïque sonore » où des segments de musique « vespérale » contrastent les uns avec les autres dans leur texture; pincements-claquements des cordes, trémolos bourdonnants et glissandos sont au rendez-vous. L’atmosphère a quelque chose d’oppressant : « c’est comme si quelqu’un observait un défilé du haut d’une fenêtre, dit la compositrice, en ayant conscience de la fugacité de ces réjouissances. La musique préfigure la perte : c’est la veille du jour où la cité tombera aux mains ennemies, où l’être aimé partira pour toujours. »

Du paysage sonore d’agitation crépusculaire de Cortège, on est soudainement transporté dans l’optimisme guilleret de Scaramouche (1937) de Darius Milhaud, présenté ici dans l’arrangement du compositeur pour orchestre et saxophone alto (Jennifer Tran). Le contenu de la suite découle de la musique de scène composée par Milhaud pour deux productions théâtrales : les mouvements externes viennent de la partition de l’adaptation du Médecin volant de Molière signée Charles Vildrac; les mouvements internes sont tirés du thème d’ouverture de celle de la pièce Bolivar de Jules Supervielle. Le mouvement « Vif et joyeux » s’ouvre sur une mélodie animée pour le saxophone solo, où les syncopes se bousculent. Suit un thème aux allures enfantines tenant de la marche; le saxophone y ajoute des fioritures virtuoses avant de revenir en cascade au motif d’ouverture. Le deuxième mouvement comporte deux idées principales : la première est un thème proche d’une douce berceuse énoncé par le saxophone sur les lents rythmes parsemés de l’orchestre; la seconde est une mélodie formée de phrases plus gracieuses et fluides que celles qui précèdent, lesquelles s’échangent entre la soliste et l’ensemble. Ces deux thèmes sont combinés dans la dernière section du mouvement, suivant une section centrale évoquant la barcarolle. Si le saxophone joue la mélodie, dans « Brasileira », c’est l’orchestre qui donne vie à une samba endiablée.

Le concert se termine dans cette veine optimiste avec Mighty River (2007) d’Errollyn Wallen, qui rend hommage à l’incessante quête de liberté du genre humain. Dans une entrevue de 2017, la compositrice note : « le désir de liberté est inné chez l’humain, il est instinctif, semblable à la loi de la nature qui veut que le fleuve se déverse dans l’océan ». C’est la clé de Mighty River, qui se décline en un mouvement continu. Commandée par le recteur et le conseil pastoral de la paroisse de Holy Trinity Clapham Common ainsi que le révérend John Wates afin de souligner le bicentenaire de la Loi sur l’abolition de la traite des esclaves au Royaume-Uni, l’œuvre allie spirituals et techniques de composition contemporaines. L’intégration des spirituals à la partition met en relief l’histoire de l’esclavage qu’ont en commun le Royaume-Uni et les États-Unis, puisque ces chansons ont été entendues pour la première fois en sol britannique en 1873, lors d’une tournée de concerts des Fisk Jubilee Singers, un chœur afro-américain chantant a cappella.

Mighty River s’ouvre sur la mélodie de l’hymne « Amazing Grace », énoncée par le cor solo, et se poursuit avec des accords pulsés des cordes évoquant le flux incessant des cours d’eau. Au-dessus de cet arrière-plan minimaliste commence le murmure des bois, bientôt accompagnés des autres instruments qui donnent une texture ondulante et scintillante à ce passage tandis que de nouveaux thèmes se font entendre. À la moitié de la pièce, environ, viennent des allusions à deux spirituals, « Deep River » et « Go Down Moses », qui mènent à un sommet. Le « fleuve orchestral » reprend alors son cours, et divers instruments revisitent « Amazing Grace »; la musique coule, plus librement que jamais. Vers la fin, l’hymne revient dans une dernière version contemplative énoncée par le cor solo. Wallen décrit ainsi Mighty River : « Grâce au dynamisme qui lui est propre, c’est comme si le mouvement incessant de la musique – comme celui du fleuve ou du temps qui passe – portait en lui les échos du cœur humain et donnait une voix à la souffrance, au repentir, à l’humilité et à l’espoir. »

Enfin, j’attire votre attention sur trois des documents iconographiques affichés durant l’ouverture de Mighty River, dans le cadre de notre concert. Vous verrez d’abord un fleuve, le Mississippi : pour les esclaves africains aux États-Unis, il symbolisait à la fois servitude et indépendance : c’était la route vers l’esclavage, mais aussi vers la liberté. Vers la fin de l’ouverture viendra l’image d’un autre cours d’eau, le fleuve Belize. Wallen est née dans le pays du même nom, marqué par l’esclavage aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles. Entre ces deux images, vous verrez un timbre de 2007 commémorant le bicentenaire de la Loi sur l’abolition de la traite des esclaves. Il représente William Wilberforce (1789–1833), homme politique britannique, leader du mouvement pour l’abolition de la traite des esclaves.

Note d’Hannah Chan-Hartley, D. Mus.

Mention de sources pour Mighty River dans l’ordre de présentation :

Errollyn Wallen © Sir Cam

Holy Trinity Clapham © Spudgun67

Fleuve Mississippi © Brian Stansberry

Errollyn Wallen © Martin Goodwin

Timbre de 2007 © Howard Brown

Fleuve Belize © Laslovarga

Errollyn Wallen © Cathy Masser

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacles Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu