June 30, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
This event ended on: Jul 10, 2021

Unfinished

with the NAC Orchestra

Music Classical music

Watch more in this series

  • #CanadaPerforms
  • NAC Orchestra

  Jul 10, 2021 - 8 PM  EDT

Florence Price Andante moderato Schubert Symphony No. 8 in B minor, “Unfinished” Stravinsky Suite from The Firebird (1919)


NACO Live returns for a final concert of the season! The concert opens with a gorgeous work for strings by Florence Price, followed by Schubert’s famous “Unfinished” symphony. The two completed movements have long delighted audiences with their strangeness, surprise, and most of all their memorable melodies. Stravinsky’s incandescent Firebird Suite (1919) closes the program. Originally music for ballet, this tale of Russian folklore centres around the beautiful Firebird and weaves an exciting piece of orchestral music that allows the incredible artistry of our musicians to shine!

Programme Notes

Florence Price’s Andante Moderato is the second movement of her first String Quartet. Completed in 1929, the piece shows Price fusing music of her Black heritage with the formal structures and harmonic techniques of European art music. This movement opens with a warm melody clearly inspired by African American spirituals, richly harmonized. A moody, blues-inflected theme in the minor mode follows. A playful dance appears at the movement’s centre, after which the minor mode tune returns, before closing with the spiritual material. 

An aura of mystery has long surrounded the history of Franz Schubert’s B Minor Symphony. In 1822, he finished the first two movements, after which it remains unclear whether he considered the work complete as is, or abandoned a plan for a four-movement work (existing sketches for a Scherzo third movement suggest the latter). The two movements were eventually premiered in Vienna in 1865, 37 years after the composer’s death, and has endured since, in this “unfinished” form, as one of Schubert’s orchestral masterpieces. 

In the first movement, Schubert juxtaposes, to extreme contrast, two emotional “realms”: the anguished B minor one of the murky first theme and its anxious continuation, and the sunny G major one with a soaring cello theme. In the middle, a climax of unprecedented pathos is reached. The second movement begins with an ethereal E major section featuring an exquisitely tender theme. It alternates with a haunting clarinet and oboe melody accompanied by gently pulsating violins and violas. This delicate atmosphere is later broken by powerful full-orchestra eruptions, which subside before returning to the opening mood. 

Igor Stravinsky’s 1919 Suite from The Firebird is based on his score to the ballet that caused a huge sensation at its 1910 premiere in Paris. The music follows a Russian fairy tale about rebirth and renewal: a splendid firebird is summoned by the Prince Ivan Tsarevich to help save the men and women (including his beloved) who are being held captive under the enchantments of the evil monster King Kaschey. To distinguish the fantasy world of Kaschey and the firebird from the humanity of the Prince and his beloved, Stravinsky masterfully uses chromaticism and spicy dissonances to evoke the former, while the latter is characterized by diatonic harmony and Russian folksong (two tunes appear in the Princesses’ Round Dance, a third in the Finale). Compared to the original score, the 1919 Suite uses a reduced instrumentation, but the composer’s brilliant orchestration skills are still evident, indeed, put front and centre, as are the orchestra’s musicians, in this dramatic concert hall version. 

Programme notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

NOTE: This performance will take place according to Ontario public health regulations step 2 guidelines.


The NAC Foundation is deeply grateful for the support of the Hon. Hilary M. Weston and the late Mr. W. Galen Weston on behalf of The Hilary and Galen Weston Foundation.

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 21 septembre 2021.
Cet événement s’est terminé le samedi, 10 juillet 2021

Inachevée

avec l'Orchestre du CNA

Musique Musique classique

En regarder plus de cette série

  • #CanadaEnPrestation
  • l'Orchestre du CNA

  10 jui 2021 - 20 h  HAE

Florence Price Andante moderato Schubert Symphonie no 8 en si mineur, « Inachevée » Stravinsky Suite de L’Oiseau de feu (1919)

Un dernier concert pour clore la saison de L’OCNA en direct! Le programme s’ouvre sur une magnifique pièce pour cordes de Florence Price, suivie de la célèbre « Symphonie inachevée » de Schubert. Ses deux mouvements charment depuis longtemps les auditoires avec leur dimension étrange, surprenante, et surtout avec de mémorables mélodies. L’incandescente Suite de « L’Oiseau de feu » de Stravinsky conclut le programme. Nos extraordinaires instrumentistes brillent dans cette captivante musique orchestrale tirée du ballet qui reprend le conte national russe du superbe Oiseau de feu!

Notes de programme

L’Andante Moderato de Florence Price est le deuxième mouvement de son premier Quatuor à cordes. Dans cette pièce achevée en 1929, la compositrice fusionne la musique de son héritage noir avec les constructions formelles et les techniques harmoniques de la musique savante européenne. Ce mouvement s’ouvre sur une mélodie chaleureuse richement harmonisée, ouvertement inspirée des spirituals afro-américains. Un thème sombre et bluesy en mode mineur lui succède. Une danse ludique apparaît dans la section centrale du mouvement, à laquelle s’enchaînent le retour de la mélodie en mode mineur et, pour conclure, celui du matériau du spiritual initial. 

Une aura de mystère a longtemps plané sur la Symphonie en ré mineur de Franz Schubert. En 1822, il avait fini d’écrire les deux mouvements que nous connaissons, mais on ignore s’il considérait l’œuvre achevée telle quelle ou s’il prévoyait une symphonie en quatre mouvements à laquelle il aurait finalement renoncé (l’existence d’esquisses d’un troisième mouvement, un scherzo, le donne à penser). Quoi qu’il en soit, les deux mouvements ont été créés à Vienne en 1865, trente-sept ans après la mort du compositeur, et l’œuvre a perduré depuis, sous cette forme « inachevée », comme un des absolus chefs-d'œuvre pour orchestre de Schubert. 

Dans le premier mouvement, Schubert juxtapose deux « plans » émotionnels extrêmement contrastés : celui, angoissé, du sombre premier thème en ré mineur et de sa suite tourmentée, et le radieux sol majeur avec son thème exaltant au violoncelle. La section médiane atteint un degré de pathos inouï. Le second mouvement s’amorce sur une section éthérée en mi majeur, comportant un thème d’une exquise tendresse. Celui-ci alterne avec une envoûtante mélodie à la clarinette et au hautbois, accompagnée par la douce pulsation des violons et des altos. Cette ambiance délicate est ensuite rompue par de puissantes explosions du tutti orchestral, qui s’apaise avant de renouer avec le climat initial. 

La suite de 1919 de L’oiseau de feu d’Igor Stravinsky est tirée de son ballet du même nom, qui avait fait sensation à sa création à Paris en 1910. La musique épouse la trame narrative d’un conte russe sur la renaissance et le renouveau : un splendide oiseau de feu est pressé par le prince Ivan Tsarevich de l’aider à sauver les hommes et les femmes (dont celle qu’il aime) qui sont retenus prisonniers par les enchantements du démoniaque Kachtcheï l’Immortel. Pour marquer le contraste entre l’univers fantastique de Kachtcheï et de l’oiseau de feu, d’une part, et l’humanité du prince et de sa bien-aimée, d’autre part, Stravinsky utilise magistralement le chromatisme et de piquantes dissonances pour évoquer le premier, tandis que la seconde s’exprime à travers l’harmonie diatonique et le folklore russe (deux mélodies traditionnelles apparaissent dans la « Ronde des princesses », et une troisième dans le Finale). Comparativement à la partition originale du ballet, la suite de 1919 a recours à une instrumentation réduite, mais les dons remarquables d’orchestrateur du compositeur n’en sont pas moins évidents, et sont mis de l’avant, tout comme les musiciens de l’orchestre, dans cette spectaculaire version de concert. 

Notes de programme par Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Selon ce que permettent les mesures de déconfinement en Ontario.


La Fondation du CNA est très reconnaissante du soutien de l’honorable Hilary M. Weston et du regretté W. Galen Weston au nom de la Fondation Hilary et Galen Weston.
 

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacles Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu