Primal Message

with the NAC Orchestra
Nokuthula Ngwenyama

Primal Message

Describing her piece Primal Message, originally written for string quintet in 2018, Nokuthula Ngwenyama says it’s “based on the idea of communicating the things we learn to communicate with each other: our intelligence, our emotions, our goodness.” The creative journey of the work was sparked by her reading Steven Johnson’s 2017 article, “Greetings E.T. (Please Don’t Murder Us)”, in The New York Times Magazine, and her reflecting on the Arecibo message, the interstellar radio message about Earth and humanity sent to globular star cluster M13 in 1974. As she told Matthew Neil Andrews in an interview for Oregon ArtsWatch from September 2018,

Primal Message was good for exploring us, and how we communicate. …Primal essence—both the intelligent and emotional, all of it. How do you get in touch with that? And how do you communicate that? And have it be a message of beauty, and compelling enough for another life form to be like, “whoa, that’s kind of cool that someone tried to put that math in there and do this and make it a song.”

Tonight, you’ll hear the orchestral version of Primal Message, which was premiered in November 2020 by the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Xian Zhang. As a compositional framework, Ngwenyama uses the prime number sequence 2-3-5-7, which shapes the rhythmic patterns as well as melodic and harmonic structures of the piece. A warm, yearning melody, based on the pentatonic scale, is the work’s heart. Presented in wave-like sections, with quieter, delicately textured moments surging into more intense, impassioned outpourings with denser counterpoint, the melody has, as Ngwenyama notes, “a certain sort of ecstasy…all the hopes, dreams, and passions of humanity.”

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Florence Price

Piano Concerto in One Movement

Andantino – Adagio cantabile – Allegretto

Florence B. Price’s Piano Concerto in One Movement, completed in 1934, was the composer’s second major orchestral work, following the success of her first Symphony in E minor. She was the soloist for the work’s premiere, which took place on June 24, 1934, at the commencement exercises of Chicago Musical College, where she was a graduate student. Accompanied by the college’s orchestra, her performance was positively reviewed, and the concerto was subsequently played elsewhere to critical acclaim.

Gender and racial barriers ultimately restricted the reach of Price’s music, and following her death in 1953, her works, including her Piano Concerto, were largely forgotten. In 1993, American musicologist Rae Linda Brown examined the two extant manuscripts to the concerto (one for solo piano and orchestra reduction, and one for two pianos), and located manuscript orchestral parts in the private collection of Eugenia Anderson, a Chicago piano teacher. The score has since been reconstructed, and in recent years, the Piano Concerto has emerged on concert programs again, championed by pianists such as Michelle Cann.

Price’s Piano Concerto fuses Euro-American art music elements—here, the “romantic piano” idiom of the 19th century—with melodic, harmonic, and rhythmic aspects from the music of her African American heritage. The piece unfolds in three distinct sections. The opening Andantino, in D minor, unfolds to reveal a spiritual-like theme. It is initially introduced as fragments—first, as short motives in the trumpet, then, in a free passage for solo piano—followed by further development by the orchestra. Only after another piano cadenza is the theme unveiled in full by the orchestra, accompanied by grand arpeggios in the piano. There’s a brief section with a fanfare-like theme in the trumpets; then, an extended developmental episode, in which piano and orchestra are more closely intertwined, awash in impressionistic harmonies, with ample virtuosic passages for the soloist.

The Concerto shifts into D major for the gorgeous song that is the Adagio cantabile. As Brown has noted, it’s in the call-and-response form commonly used in African American folk music. Each time the call (or verse) is introduced by the oboe, it’s subtly altered, in keeping with the improvisatory nature of the part. This alternates with the solo piano’s lyrical response, frequently tinged with chromatic harmonies, and lushly accompanied by strings. The final section is based on the syncopated rhythms of the “pattin’ juba”, a popular antebellum folk dance. Piano and orchestra alternately take on the catchy syncopated melody, subjecting it to a whirlwind tour through different keys and harmonies as well as complex rhythmic treatment, thus bringing the Concerto to a high-spirited close.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Mozart

Symphony No. 39 in E-flat Major

I. Adagio – Allegro
II. Andante con moto
III. Menuetto: Allegretto – Trio – Menuetto
IV. Finale: Allegro

 

Mozart composed his Symphony No. 39 in the summer of 1788, during which he also completed the “great” G minor Symphony (No. 40), and the “Jupiter” Symphony (No. 41). There is little to no record of their first performances, but it’s quite likely that they appeared in concerts in Vienna in the autumn of that year. For one, the composer was a pragmatic man and was unlikely to have written symphonies, which was then a genre of increasing prestige, without the prospect of earning money or recognition. However, perhaps the lack of performance information was connected to the circumstances of the time, notably, of Austria being at war with Turkey; with many aristocratic families having left Vienna as a result, there were limited resources and opportunities to put on large orchestral concerts.

Symphony No. 39 in E-flat major has elegance, wit, drama, and brilliance. Its “sound world” is characterized by a certain warmth and mellowness, owing to the presence of clarinets (but no oboes). (Mozart had long loved the sound and expressive qualities of the instrument.) A slow introduction opens the first movement in a grand manner; for a moment, it takes a darker turn and later, ends rather mysteriously, but the first theme of the movement proper is all sunny and relaxed grace in the violins. A vigorous orchestral episode follows, transitioning into a gentle second theme, led by the clarinets. As the movement progresses, it’s the energetic element that is developed and prevails in the end.

The Andante second movement features an elegant theme of dotted rhythms, initially presented by the strings. Its presentation (varied upon subsequent returns) alternates with two contrasting episodes of stormy, turbulent character. The ensuing Minuet is a robust and stately dance, while in the Trio, one clarinet takes centre stage with a charming melody, while the other burbles underneath. Built on a single lively theme, the final Allegro is full of drive and wit. There are plenty of surprises throughout as well; listen for abrupt stops, sudden changes in key and dynamics, even a mysterious chorale featuring clarinets and bassoons, which help wrap up this exquisite symphony with brilliance and drama.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley


NAC Orchestra

FIRST VIOLINS
Yosuke Kawasaki (concertmaster)
Jessica Linnebach (associate concertmaster)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistant concertmaster)
Elaine Klimasko**
Marjolaine Lambert
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Manuela Milani
Leah Roseman
Erica Miller*
Martine Dubé*
Marc Djokic* 

SECOND VIOLINS
Mintje van Lier (principal)
Winston Webber (assistant principal)
Mark Friedman
Carissa Klopoushak
Frédéric Moisan
Edvard Skerjanc**
Karoly Sziladi
Emily Westell**
Andréa Armijo-Fortin*
Renée London*
Sara Mastrangelo*
Heather Schnarr*

VIOLAS
Jethro Marks (principal)
David Marks (associate principal)
David Goldblatt (assistant principal)
Paul Casey
Ren Martin-Doike**
David Thies-Thompson
Sonya Probst*

CELLOS
Rachel Mercer (principal)
Julia MacLaine (assistant principal)
Timothy McCoy
Marc-André Riberdy
Leah Wyber
Desiree Abbey*

DOUBLE BASSES
Etienne Lepine-Lafrance (guest principal)*
Hilda Cowie (acting assistant principal)
Marjolaine Fournier
Vincent Gendron

FLUTES
Joanna G'froerer (principal)
Stephanie Morin**

OBOES
Charles Hamann (principal)
Anna Petersen**

CLARINETS
Kimball Sykes (principal)
Sean Rice

BASSOONS
Christopher Millard (principal)
Vincent Parizeau

HORNS
Lawrence Vine (principal)
Julie Fauteux (associate principal)
Elizabeth Simpson
Louis-Pierre Bergeron**

TRUMPETS
Karen Donnelly (principal)
Steven van Gulik

TROMBONES
Donald Renshaw (principal)
Colin Traquair

BASS TROMBONE
Douglas Burden**

TUBA
Chris Lee (principal)**

TIMPANI
Feza Zweifel (principal)

PERCUSSION
Jonathan Wade
Dan Morphy*
Timothy Francom*

HARP
Angela Schwarzkopf*

KEYBOARD
Olga Gross*

 

PRINCIPAL LIBRARIAN
Nancy Elbeck

ASSISTANT LIBRARIAN
Corey Rempel

PERSONNEL MANAGER
Meiko Lydall

*Additional musicians
**On leave

Menu

Message brut

avec l'Orchestre du CNA
Nokuthula Ngwenyama

Primal Message

Nokuthula Ngwenyama dit de son œuvre, Primal Message, écrite initialement pour quatuor à cordes en 2018, qu’elle est « basée sur l’idée de transmettre les choses que nous apprenons pour communiquer entre nous : notre intelligence, nos émotions, notre gentillesse ». Le voyage créatif qui a donné naissance à cette œuvre commence après la lecture d’un article de Steven Johnson paru en 2017 dans le New York Times Magazine, « Greetings E.T. (Please Don’t Murder Us) », et après une réflexion sur le message d’Arecibo, ce message radio interstellaire sur la Terre et l’humanité envoyé en 1974 sur l’amas globulaire M13. Comme elle en parle à Matthew Neil Andrews dans une entrevue pour l’Oregon ArtsWatch en septembre 2018 :

« Primal Message était une bonne façon d’explorer ce que nous sommes et comment nous communiquons… L’essence primaire, à la fois l’intelligence et l’émotion, tout à la fois. Comment prendre contact avec cela? Comment le communiquer? Comment en faire un message de beauté, un message assez convaincant pour qu’une autre forme de vie se dise “Waouh, c’est génial que quelqu’un ait pensé à intégrer les mathématiques là-dedans et à en faire une chanson”. »

Ce soir, vous entendez la version orchestrale de Primal Message, qui a été présentée pour la première fois en novembre 2020 par l’Orchestre Symphonique de Detroit, sous la direction de Xian Zhang. Comme cadre pour sa composition, Nokuthula Ngwenyama se base sur la séquence de nombres premiers 2-3-5-7, qui définit la trame rythmique ainsi que la structure harmonique et mélodique de l’œuvre. Le cœur même de la pièce est une mélodie empreinte de chaleur et de nostalgie, fondée sur la gamme pentatonique. Elle se déploie par vagues, avec des moments assourdis et délicatement texturés qui s’enflent ensuite en un déferlement intense et passionné doté d’un contrepoint plus dense. Selon la compositrice, la mélodie possède « une sorte d’extase… et renferme tous les espoirs, les rêves et les passions de l’humanité. »

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley

Florence Price

Concerto pour piano en un mouvement

Andantino – Adagio cantabile – Allegretto

Le Concerto pour piano en un mouvement de Florence B. Price, achevé en 1934, est la deuxième œuvre orchestrale majeure de la compositrice, faisant suite au succès de sa Symphonie no1 en mi mineur. Elle est la soliste lors de la première représentation de l’œuvre, le 24 juin 1934, à l’occasion de la cérémonie de remise des diplômes du Chicago Musical College, où elle fait alors des études supérieures. Sa performance, accompagnée par l’orchestre du collège, reçoit un bel accueil. Par la suite, le concerto est interprété ailleurs, récoltant les éloges de la critique.

Les obstacles de genre et de race limitent ultimement la diffusion de sa musique. Après sa mort en 1953, ses œuvres, dont son Concerto pour piano, tombent dans l’oubli. C’est en 1993 que Rae Linda Brown, une musicologue américaine, examine les deux manuscrits survivants du concerto (une réduction pour piano et orchestre et un pour deux pianos) et retrouve des parties manuscrites de l’œuvre pour orchestre dans la collection privée d’Eugenia Anderson, une professeure de piano de Chicago. La partition a depuis été reconstituée et, au cours des dernières années, le Concerto pour piano a refait son apparition dans les programmes de concerts, avec le soutien de pianistes comme Michelle Cann.

Le Concerto pour piano de Florence Price fusionne des éléments de la musique savante euroaméricaine – ici, l’expression « piano romantique » du XIXe siècle – avec des aspects mélodiques, harmoniques et rythmiques de son héritage musical afro-américain. L’œuvre comporte trois parties. Elle s’ouvre sur un Andantino en ré mineur qui révèle un thème spirituel. Celui-ci nous arrive par fragments – d’abord sous la forme de courts motifs interprétés par les trompettes, puis d’un passage pour piano solo – avant d’être développé par l’orchestre. Il faut attendre une autre cadence de piano pour que le thème soit révélé en entier par l’orchestre, accompagné de somptueux arpèges au piano. Une brève partie à la trompette rappelle une fanfare; vient ensuite un long épisode de développement où piano et orchestre s’entremêlent, se perdent dans des harmonies impressionnistes, rehaussé par de longs passages d’une grande virtuosité du soliste. 

Le concerto se poursuit en ré majeur, avec la merveilleuse mélodie qu’est l’Adagio cantabile. Comme le mentionne Brown, elle suit le format d’« appel et de réponse » typique de la musique folklorique afro-américaine. Chaque fois que l’appel (ou le couplet) est introduit par le hautbois, il est subtilement modifié, dans l’esprit d’improvisation propre à cette partie. L’appel est suivi de la réponse lyrique du piano solo, souvent teintée d’harmonies chromatiques et somptueusement accompagnée par les cordes. La dernière partie s’inspire des rythmes syncopés de la danse Juba, une populaire danse folklorique d’avant-guerre. Piano et orchestre s’emparent tour à tour de la mélodie syncopée et accrocheuse, l’emportant dans un tourbillon de tons, d’harmonies et de traitements rythmiques complexes et hissant le concerto jusqu’à sa finale exaltante.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley

Mozart

Symphonie no 39 en mi bémol majeur

I. Adagio – Allegro
II. Andante con moto
III. Allegretto – Trio – Menuetto
IV. Finale : Allegro

 

Mozart compose sa Symphonie no 39 durant l’été 1788, période où il achève également la Grande symphonie en sol mineur (no 40) et la Symphonie no 41, dite « Jupiter ». Il existe peu de traces, voire aucune, des premières représentations de ces œuvres, mais il y a de fortes chances qu’elles aient eu lieu à Vienne, l’automne de la même année. D’abord parce que le compositeur était un homme pragmatique qui aurait rechigné à composer des symphonies, qui était alors un genre de plus en plus prestigieux, sans qu’on lui fasse miroiter reconnaissance et fortune. Toutefois, le manque d’information sur les représentations peut être relié aux circonstances de l’époque, notamment de la guerre entre l’Autriche et la Turquie. Cette dernière ayant poussé plusieurs familles aristocratiques à quitter Vienne, les ressources et les possibilités de réaliser de grands concerts orchestraux étaient limitées.

La Symphonie no 39 en mi bémol majeur allie l’élégance, la vivacité, le drame et l’éclat. Son « monde sonore » est caractérisé par une certaine chaleur et volupté que l’on doit à la présence de clarinettes (sans hautbois). (Mozart a toujours aimé le son et les qualités expressives de cet instrument). Une introduction lente ouvre le premier mouvement de manière grandiose; l’espace d’un instant, il prend un tournant sombre, puis s’achève mystérieusement. Mais le premier thème du mouvement, porté par les violons, est gorgé de soleil et d’une grâce décontractée. Un épisode orchestral vigoureux s’ensuit et aboutit au deuxième thème, tout en douceur, mené par les clarinettes. Au fil de la progression du mouvement, c’est l’énergie qui monte et qui triomphe à la fin.

Le second mouvement, Andante, présente un thème élégant aux rythmes parsemés, joué d’abord par les cordes. Son déroulement (qui change selon les retours) alterne avec deux épisodes contrastants à l’allure turbulente et tumultueuse. Le Minuet qui lui succède est une danse robuste et majestueuse, alors que dans le Trio, une clarinette prend le devant de la scène avec une mélodie envoûtante, alors que l’autre bourdonne derrière. Bâti autour d’un thème unique et gai, l’Allegro final respire la passion et la vivacité. Ce mouvement regorge de surprises; prêtez l’oreille aux arrêts abrupts, aux changements soudains de tons et de nuances, et même à cette chorale mystérieuse de clarinettes et de bassons, qui contribue à conclure cette symphonie exquise de façon éclatante et dramatique.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley


Orchestre du CNA

PREMIERS VIOLONS
Yosuke Kawasaki (violon solo)
Jessica Linnebach (violon solo associée)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistante violon solo)
Elaine Klimasko**
Marjolaine Lambert
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Manuela Milani
Leah Roseman
Erica Miller*
Martine Dubé*
​Marc Djokic*

SECONDS VIOLONS
Mintje van Lier (solo)
Winston Webber (assistant solo)
Mark Friedman
Carissa Klopoushak
Frédéric Moisan
Edvard Skerjanc**
Karoly Sziladi
Emily Westell**
Andréa Armijo-Fortin*
Renée London*
Sara Mastrangelo*
​Heather Schnarr*

ALTOS
Jethro Marks (solo)
David Marks (solo associé)
David Goldblatt (assistant solo)
Paul Casey
Ren Martin-Doike**
David Thies-Thompson
Sonya Probst*

VIOLONCELLES
Rachel Mercer (solo)
Julia MacLaine (assistante solo)
Timothy McCoy
Marc-André Riberdy
​Leah Wyber

Desiree Abbey*

CONTREBASSES
Etienne Lepine-Lafrance (solo invité)*
Hilda Cowie (assistante solo par intérim)
Marjolaine Fournier
Vincent Gendron

FLÛTES
Joanna G'froerer (solo)
Stephanie Morin**

HAUTBOIS
Charles Hamann (solo)
Anna Petersen**

CLARINETTES
Kimball Sykes (solo)
Sean Rice

BASSONS
Christopher Millard (solo)
Vincent Parizeau

CORS
Lawrence Vine (solo)
Julie Fauteux (solo associée)
Elizabeth Simpson
Louis-Pierre Bergeron**

TROMPETTES
Karen Donnelly (solo)
Steven van Gulik

TROMBONES
Donald Renshaw (solo)
Colin Traquair

TROMBONE BASSE
Douglas Burden**

TUBA
Chris Lee (solo)**

TIMBALES
Feza Zweifel (solo)

PERCUSSIONS
Jonathan Wade
Dan Morphy*
Timothy Francom*

HARPE
Angela Schwarzkopf*

CLAVIERS
Olga Gross*

 

MUSICOTHÉCAIRE PRINCIPALE
Nancy Elbeck

MUSICOTHÉCAIRE ADJOINT
Corey Rempel

CHEF DU PERSONNEL
Meiko Lydall

* Musiciens surnuméraires
** En congé

Menu