dscf9130-curtis-perry-2-cropped
Music Director, NAC Orchestra

Alexander Shelley

Last updated: November 10, 2023

Alexander Shelley succeeded Pinchas Zukerman as Music Director of Canada’s NAC Orchestra in September 2015. The ensemble has since been praised as being “transformed... hungry, bold, and unleashed” (Ottawa Citizen) and Shelley’s programming credited for turning the orchestra into “one of the more audacious in North America” (Maclean’s). 

Shelley is a champion of Canadian creation; recent hallmarks include the multimedia projects Life Reflected and UNDISRUPTED,and three major new ballets in partnership with NAC Dance for Encount3rs. He is passionate about arts education and nurturing the next generation of musicians. He is an Ambassador for Ottawa’s OrKidstra, a charitable social development program that teaches children life skills through making music together. 

Alexander Shelley is also the Principal Associate Conductor of London’s Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and, starting with the 2024–2025 season, Artistic and Music Director of Artis-Naples and the Naples Philharmonic in Florida, USA. In the spring of 2019, he led the NAC Orchestra on its critically acclaimed 50th Anniversary European tour, and in 2017, he led the Orchestra in a tour across Canada, celebrating Canada’s 150th anniversary. Most recently, he led the Orchestra in its first performance at New York’s Carnegie Hall in 30 years.

He has made seven recordings with the NAC Orchestra, including the JUNO-nominated New Worlds, Life Reflected, ENCOUNT3RS, The Bounds of Our Dreams, and the acclaimed Clara, Robert, Johannes four-album series, all with Canadian label Analekta. 

 
The Music Director role is supported by Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LL.D. (hc) 

Upcoming events

  1. Before the Québec presentation of ''Two Orchestras, One Symphony'', join us for a bilingual pre-concert talk with Alexander Shelley … read more

  2. NACO joins forces with the OSQ, the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, and sensational guest pianist Kevin Chen for the final stop on a multi-city tour.   … read more

  3. NACO joins forces with the OSQ, the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, and sensational guest pianist Kevin Chen for the final stop on a multi-city tour.   … read more

Projects & initiatives

  • Illustration of 3 composers, Clara and Robert Schumann, and Johannes Brahms. New album

    Romance and Counterpoint

    The NAC Orchestra’s final album in a four-part recording cycle that explores the closely intertwined personal and artistic connections between three musical giants: Clara Schumann, Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms.

  • Naco-mentorship-06-10-22-rite-of-spring credit curtis-perry dscf8735 © Curtis Perry

    NAC Orchestra Mentorship Program

    Play it forward! A bold and innovative professional development initiative for talented emerging and early career professional orchestral creatives from around the world. 

  • Undisrupted-card start streaming

    UNDISRUPTED: A ground-breaking series

    Four Canadian musical visionaries have created episodes with the NAC Orchestra that use the power of music and video to share their stories.

NAC media featuring Alexander Shelley

Alexander Shelley

Dernière mise à jour: 26 février 2024

Alexander Shelley a reçu le titre de directeur musical de l’Orchestre du CNA en septembre 2015. Depuis, l’ensemble a été qualifié de « transformé », « passionné », « ambitieux » et « déchaîné » (Ottawa Citizen), et classé parmi les plus audacieux en Amérique du Nord (magazine Maclean’s) pour sa programmation.

Champion de la création au Canada, Shelley a signé récemment le projet multimédia Réflexions sur la vie, INCONDITIONNEL et RENCONTR3S, une collaboration avec Danse CNA comportant trois nouveaux ballets d’envergure.

Shelley s’attache à cultiver les talents de la relève : il est notamment un ambassadeur d’OrKidstra, un programme de développement social qui, à travers la musique, aide les jeunes d’Ottawa à acquérir des compétences essentielles.

Alexander Shelley est également premier chef d’orchestre associé du Royal Philharmonic Orchestra de Londres, et, à partir de la saison 2024-2025, directeur artistique et musical d’Artis-Naples et de l’Orchestre philharmonique de Naples en Floride (États-Unis). Il a dirigé l’Orchestre du CNA au printemps 2019 à l’occasion d’une tournée européenne très applaudie soulignant le 50e anniversaire de l’ensemble et, en 2017, dans le cadre d’une tournée aux quatre coins du Canada pour célébrer le 150e anniversaire du pays. Plus récemment, l’Orchestre a donné, sous sa baguette, son premier concert en 30 ans au Carnegie Hall de New York.

Shelley a fait paraître huit enregistrements avec l’Orchestre du CNA, dont Nouveaux Mondes (finaliste aux prix JUNO), Réflexions sur la vie, RENCONTR3S, Aux frontières de nos rêves, ainsi que la série louangée par la critique de quatre albums Clara, Robert, Johannes, tous parus sous l'étiquette canadienne Analekta. 
 

Le poste de directeur musical bénéficie du soutien d’Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LL.D.  (hc).

Événements

  1. L’OCNA s’allie à OSQ, le Toronto Mendelssohn Choir et le sensationnel pianiste invité Kevin Chen pour le dernier arrêt d’une … plus

  2. Vidéo Alexander Shelley Complet

    Deux Orchestres, Une Symphonie (Ottawa)

    Tournée 2024: L'Orchestre du CNA et l'Orchestre symphonique de Québec

    L’OCNA s’allie à OSQ, le Toronto Mendelssohn Choir et le sensationnel pianiste invité Kevin Chen pour le dernier arrêt d’une … plus

  3. Avant la présentation à Ottawa de Deux Orchestres, Une Symphonie, rejoignez Alexander Shelley (Directeur musical, OCNA) et Joël Brouillette … plus

Projets et initiatives

  • Illustration des 3 compositeurs, Clara et Robert Schumann et Johannes Brahms. Nouvel album

    Romance et contrepoint

    Cet nouvel album de l’Orchestre du CNA, le quatrième de quatre, fait partie d’un qui cycle explore les étroits liens personnels et artistiques qui unissaient ces trois géants de la musique : Clara Schumann, Robert Schumann et Johannes Brahms.

  • Programme de mentorat de l’Orchestre du CNA

    À vous de jouer! Une initiative audacieuse de perfectionnement professionnel pour les talents en musique orchestrale du monde entier qui finissent leur formation ou sont en début de carrière. 

  • regardez maintenant

    INCONDITIONNEL: Une série révolutionnaire

    Quatre visionnaires canadiennes organisent individuellement le contenu de quatre émissions et mettent à profit le pouvoir combiné de la musique et de la vidéo, se servant de l’Orchestre du CNA comme porte-voix.

Médias du CNA avec Alexander Shelley