NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31
James Ehnes ©B Ealovega
NACO Home Delivery

NACO in Copenhagen

Recorded in May 2019

We invite you to enjoy a special concert from our 2019 European tour, a recording of the live radio broadcast from the DR Koncerthuset in Copenhagen on May 22, 2019.

The NAC Orchestra’s 50th Anniversary “Crossings” Tour included memorable concerts in London, Stockholm, Paris, and especially in Copenhagen, where our concert was broadcast live-to-air on DR, the Danish Broadcasting Corporation, and shortly after on CBC and Radio-Canada. This concert included the best of the best, and a little bit of everything.

Quebec composer Claude Vivier’s haunting “Lonely Child”, with solo soprano Erin Wall, opens this program. Erin captures the exquisite beauty of Vivier’s text with a delicate tenderness, as a mother singing to her child to assuage any fears. James Ehnes performs Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto, giving one of the most exciting performances you are ever likely to hear. Dark and dramatic, it concludes with fiery pyrotechnics which drew the audience instantly to their feet. To close the program, we performed Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”. This masterpiece reflected Dvořák’s journey to North America in 1883. With its soulful English horn solo played by the wonderful Anna Petersen, and its blazing finale, the “New World” Symphony was a perfect fit for our own 50th Anniversary journey. You can find the NAC Orchestra’s JUNO nominated recording of this symphony on all your usual music streaming platforms.

Alexander’s Listening Guide: NACO in Copenhagen

For this fifth week of our NACO Home Delivery, we bring to you a concert which is very close to my heart and to our hearts as an orchestra.

In 2017, the Orchestra and I undertook a tour of every province and territory, performing for and alongside communities from coast to coast to coast in celebration of the sesquicentennial. Two years later, we toured to Europe as Canadian cultural ambassadors as the National Arts Centre celebrated its 50th anniversary.

The concert we are sending you today was recorded live during the midst of that European Tour at the beautiful Danish Radio Concert Hall, in the heart of the capital Copenhagen. It features three important elements that are at the core, both of these major tours and of our identity: championing Canadian music, championing Canadian soloists and showcasing the excellence of Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra. This triumvirate is what you will hear tonight.

We took an unprecedented number of Canadian works with us on our European Tour, the majority of which were recent NAC commissions, receiving their premieres outside the country. One such Canadian work, albeit somewhat older, was "Lonely Child", written by Quebec composer Claude Vivier in 1980. Vivier, an artist of extraordinary gift and accomplishment, who was taken from the world under terrible circumstances at the tender age of 34, stands to this day as one of Canada’s finest composers of international renown. He is a musician worth exploring.

"Lonely Child" is a soliloquy for solo voice (sung here by the magnificent Canadian soprano Erin Wall) in a unique language mix, accompanied by an unusual array of instruments in a chamber setting - strings, each with a solo voice, a smattering of woodwinds, two horns and some eastern percussion. The text, by Vivier himself, is one of reassurance for a child fearful of the night, as a mother at the bedside. All kinds of fantastical, religious and magical images are invoked to calm the child, while the orchestra conjures a carpet of exotic and beautifully crafted sonorities beneath. The fact that Vivier, an orphan, never enjoyed this sort of motherly tenderness and was himself fearful of the dark, brings a personal nature to this work that has led many to describe it as his most autobiographical. Its complex musical language and message bear multiple listenings to really absorb, and I would recommend having the text to hand (printed below).

Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto is of course a mainstay of the repertoire and provided a perfect vehicle for us to present another Canadian star, James Ehnes, who must rank among the finest living interpreters of this masterpiece. To this day it remains one of the most accessible of all concerti, demonstrating Mendelssohn’s trademark fluidity, melodic invention and imagination alongside, what was for the time, a bold three-movements-in-one form, in which the music melts from section to section without an audible break. Unusual was also the decision to have the soloist ‘dive in’ within a couple of bars of the opening. No formal introduction or exposition from the orchestra, but rather one and half bars of uneasy, undulating rhythm. The second movement, an intimate, tender lullaby, is interrupted only by a moment of melancholic unease, before liaising into one of the brightest, ebullient finales in all music. It is one of my very favourite movements to perform.

James has been a friend of the Orchestra for many years. A Manitoban born and bred, he has known our musicians as friends and colleagues for decades and has been a regular guest both on our Southam Hall stage and also on tour with us nationally and internationally. This note-perfect recording encapsulates all that we love about him - his virtuosity, his refinement and taste and his ability to call on these gifts with utter calm and command. Alongside this, he is both a broad and deep thinker and one of the most fun people to have around on tour… mischievous doesn’t even begin to cover it!

Our program ends with Dvořák’s symphonic masterpiece, the beloved "New World Symphony". Inspired by the sights, sounds and stories that the Czech master encountered during his visit to the US, this work was a constant companion to us during our Canadian and European tours. Keeping such a concert hall warhorse fresh is, paradoxical as it sounds, a matter of constantly revisiting the original text, intentions and inspirations of the composer. It is a great challenge and a joy to keep revisiting such a work and demands everything of an orchestra: from the delicate opening - not too fast, not too slow, blended, balanced, singing, mysterious yet taught (this is a symphony not a tone poem) - through to the exquisitely lyrical slow movement and on into that famous finale, there is nothing that a performer should ever take for granted. I hope that our interpretation imbues you with that sense of precision, fidelity and passion that were worked so hard to achieve and that you enjoy every note of what was for us, an historic concert!

 

Lonely Child:

Beauteous child of light sleep, sleep, sleep, forever sleep.

The dreams will come, the gentle fairies will come and dance with thee.

Wonder, the fairies and the elves will fête thee and the merry farandole will inebriate thee.

Friend.

Sleep, my child.  Open up, doors of diamond, sumptuous palaces,

     my child, the swallows will guide thy steps.

Kuré nouyazo na-oudè waki nannoni eudou-a.

Sleep, my child.

Dadodi yo rrr-zu-i yo a-e-i dage dage da è-i-ou dage dage ou-a-è dagè dadoudè dagè dagè dagè

     na-ou-è ka jadè-do yanousè mayo rès tè de-i-a wè nanoni nowi i-è ka.

The stars make prodigious leaps in space, time, dimensions striped with coloured zebra-markings.

The times discuss Merlin in parables, the wondrous magicians splash the glowing sun with gold, the

     acrobats touch with their nose the mischievous stars, the gardens make the mauve monks dream.

Children’s dreams, give me your hand and let us go and look up the fairy Carabosse. Her palace of jade, lying amidst pieces of forgotten dreams, is already floating in eternity.

Oh, queen of blue dawns, give me, please, eternity.

Oh, Queen.

Koré noy Tazio.

Koré kore Tazio Tazio Tazio.

Koré noy na-ou yasin kè.

The gentle helianthus directs the sublime energy towards the stars, Tazio. The language of the fairies, you will speak it and you will know love, Tazio. Tenderly, your green eyes will dip into dregs of outmoded tales to create a real one, yours, Tazio. And the hope of time, of time.

Beyond time, my child appears, the stars n the sky are shining

     for you, Tazio, and will love you forever and ever.

Never miss a delivery

Signup for email updates
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.
James Ehnes ©B Ealovega
OCNA à domicile

L’OCNA à Copenhague

Enregistré en mai 2019.

Nous vous offrons un concert exceptionnel tiré de notre tournée européenne de 2019 : un enregistrement de la diffusion radiophonique en direct du DR Koncerthuset à Copenhague le 22 mai 2019.

La tournée du 50e anniversaire de l’Orchestre du CNA, intitulée « Passages », a donné lieu à des concerts mémorables à Londres, Stockholm, Paris, et tout particulièrement à Copenhague, où notre concert a été diffusé en direct sur les ondes de DR, la société de radiodiffusion et télévision danoise, et peu après sur les ondes de CBC et Radio-Canada. Ce concert est un florilège des plus beaux morceaux.   

C’est la soprano Erin Wall qui ouvre le programme avec l’envoûtante pièce Lonely Child du compositeur québécois Claude Vivier. Erin rend l’exquise beauté du texte de Vivier avec une grande tendresse, telle une mère qui chante à son enfant pour assouvir ses craintes. James Ehnes offre ensuite l’une des interprétations les plus dynamiques et fougueuses du Concerto pour violon de Mendelssohn. Ténébreuse et dramatique, l’œuvre se termine par un étalage de virtuosité qui a mené à une ovation instantanée du public. Pour clore le programme, nous avons interprété la Symphonie no 9 de Dvořák, « Du Nouveau Monde ». Ce chef-d’œuvre évoque le séjour en Amérique du Nord de Dvořák en 1883. Avec son émouvant solo de cor anglais interprété par la magnifique Anna Petersen et sa finale incendiaire, la symphonie « Du Nouveau Monde » était toute désignée pour notre tournée de 50e anniversaire. Vous pouvez trouver l’enregistrement de cette symphonie, finaliste aux prix JUNO, sur toutes les plateformes numériques de diffusion musicale.

L’OCNA à Copenhague – guide d’écoute d’Alexander Shelley

Pour cette cinquième livraison de L’OCNA à domicile, je vous propose l’enregistrement d’un concert cher à mon cœur et à celui des musiciens de l’Orchestre.

En 2017, nous avons effectué une tournée en l’honneur du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne à travers tous les territoires et provinces du pays; nous nous sommes produits dans des communautés d’un océan à l’autre, souvent en compagnie de membres de celles-ci. Deux ans plus tard, nous avons tourné en Europe à titre d’ambassadeurs culturels du Canada dans le cadre du 50e anniversaire du Centre national des Arts.

Le concert de ce soir a été capté en direct, pendant notre tournée européenne, à la superbe Salle symphonique de Copenhague, en plein cœur de la capitale du Danemark. On retrouve dans ce concert trois éléments clés de nos tournées et de notre identité comme orchestre : promouvoir la musique canadienne; faire connaître des solistes canadiens; et mettre en valeur l’excellence de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada. Vous entendrez cette « trinité » ce soir.

Au cours de la tournée européenne, nous avons interprété un nombre sans précédent d’œuvres de compositeurs canadiens, dont une majorité de commandes récentes du CNA présentées en première à l’étranger. Parmi ces pièces canadiennes, quoiqu’elle soit moins récente, notons Lonely Child du compositeur québécois Claude Vivier, écrite en 1980. Vivier, qui possédait un talent exceptionnel et est mort dans des circonstances tragiques à tout juste 34 ans, demeure à ce jour l’un des plus grands compositeurs canadiens jouissant d’une réputation internationale. C’est un artiste à découvrir.

Lonely Child est un soliloque pour soliste (interprété ici par la merveilleuse soprano canadienne Erin Wall) écrit dans un mélange inusité de langues et accompagné d’instruments tout aussi inusités en formation de chambre – des cordes, chacune ayant son soliste, quelques instruments à vent, deux cors et des percussions orientales. Nées de la plume de Vivier lui-même, les paroles semblent rassurer un enfant effrayé, comme le ferait une mère. Toute une gamme d’images fantastiques, religieuses et magiques sont évoquées pour réconforter l’enfant, tandis que l’orchestre produit une sorte d’arrière-plan sonore exotique et habilement conçu. Le fait que Vivier, qui était orphelin, n’a jamais connu ce genre de tendresse maternelle et avait peur du noir dans son enfance, confère à cette œuvre une dimension intime; plusieurs critiques n’hésitent pas à y avoir une œuvre autobiographique. Quelques écoutes seront probablement nécessaires pour véritablement apprécier la complexité du langage musical et du message de Lonely Child; je vous recommande donc d’en avoir les paroles sous la main (voir ci-dessous).

Incontournable du répertoire symphonique, le Concerto pour violon en mi mineur de Mendelssohn est l’écrin par excellence pour faire connaître un autre de nos brillants artistes canadiens, James Ehnes, qui figure aujourd’hui parmi les plus grands interprètes de ce chef-d’œuvre. Cette œuvre demeure de nos jours l’un des concertos les plus populaires de l’histoire de la musique; on y remarque la fluidité caractéristique de Mendelssohn, son inventivité mélodique, son imagination, mais aussi l’enchaînement de trois mouvements – toute une audace formelle à l’époque! – si bien que chaque section semble se fondre dans la suivante sans pause. L’entrée en scène du soliste dès les premières mesures de la partition a sans doute également surpris les premiers auditeurs du concerto : ici, pas d’introduction formelle ou d’exposition de l’orchestre, mais plutôt quelques mesures d’un rythme ondulant et troublant. Le deuxième mouvement, une tendre et intime berceuse, est interrompu par un moment de mélancolie angoissante avant de se dissoudre dans l’un des plus brillants et exubérants finales de l’histoire de la musique. C’est d’ailleurs l’un de mes mouvements favoris.  

James est un ami de l’Orchestre du CNA depuis de nombreuses années. S’il est né et a grandi au Manitoba, il entretient des liens d’amitié et de collégialité avec nos musiciens depuis longtemps; il partage fréquemment la scène avec nous, que ce soit à la Salle Southam ou en tournée au Canada et à l’étranger. Sa prestation, parfaite jusqu’à la dernière note, représente bien tout ce que nous admirons en James : sa virtuosité, son raffinement, son élégance et sa capacité à faire appel à ses multiples talents avec calme et autorité. Et, comme si ce n’était pas assez, James est aussi à la fois un grand intellectuel et une personne agréable à côtoyer en tournée… il est même un peu espiègle.  Je n’en dirai pas plus!

Notre programme se conclut sur un chef-d’œuvre symphonique de Dvořák, sa bien-aimée Symphonie « Du Nouveau Monde ». Cette œuvre, qui s’inspire des paysages, sonorités et récits qui ont marqué le grand maître tchèque lors d’un séjour aux États-Unis, est l’un des points d’ancrage de nos tournées, au Canada comme en Europe. Pour offrir une interprétation actuelle de ce pilier des salles de concert, il faut – même si cela peut sembler paradoxal – revoir attentivement la partition originale, les intentions et les inspirations du compositeur. C’est un défi et un bonheur de revisiter fréquemment une telle œuvre, sollicitant l’ensemble de l’orchestre. De son ouverture délicate – ni trop lente ni trop rapide, équilibrée, mesurée, chantante, mystérieuse tout autant qu’érudite (l’œuvre est bien une symphonie et non un poème symphonique) – au célèbre finale, en passant par un mouvement lent d’un lyrisme exquis, il n’y a pas un passage qu’un interprète puisse prendre à la légère. J’espère que vous apprécierez la précision, la fidélité et la passion que nous avons voulu insuffler à notre interprétation, et que chaque note vous ravira, comme cela a été le cas pour nous lors de ce concert historique!

 

Lonely Child:

Bel enfant de la lumière dors, dors, dors, toujours dors.

Les rêves viendront, les douces fées viendront danser avec toi.

Merveille, les fées et les elfes te fêteront, la farandole joyeuse t’enivrera.

Ami.

Dors, mon enfant, ouvrez-vous portes de diamant, palais somptueux,

     mon enfant, les hirondelles guideront tes pas.

Kuré nouyazo na-oudè waki nannoni eudou-a.

Dors, mon enfant.

Dadodi yo rrr-zu-i yo a-e-i dage dage da è-i-ou dage dage ou-a-è dagè dadoudè dagè dagè dagè

     na-ou-è ka jadè-do yanousè mayo rès tè de-i-a wè nanoni nowi i-è ka.

Les étoiles font des bonds prodigieux dans l’espace, temps, dimensions zébrées de couleurs.

Les temps en paraboles discutent de Merlin, les magiciens merveilleux embrassent le soleil d’or,

     les acrobates touchent du nez les étoiles pas trop sages, les jardins font rêver aux moines mauves.

Rêves d’enfant, donnez-moi la main et allons voir la fée Carabosse, son palais de jade sis au milieu des

     morceaux de rêves oubliés déjà flotte éternellement.

Oh reine des aubes bleues donne-moi s’il te plaît l’éternité.

Oh Reine.

Koré noy Tazio.

Koré kore Tazio Tazio Tazio.

Koré noy na-ou yasin kè.

L’hélianthe douce dirige vers les étoiles l’énergie sublime, Tazio, la langue des fées, tu la parleras

     et tu verras l’amour, Tazio, tendrement tes yeux verts, puiseront dans les lambeaux de contes

     surannés pour en créer un vrai, le tien, Tazio, donne-moi la main, Tazio, Tazio, et l’espoir

     du temps, du temps.

Hors temps apparaît mon enfant, les étoiles au ciel brillent pour

     toi, Tazio, et t’aiment éternellement.

Ne manquez jamais une livraison

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi!
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

Menu