NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31
National Arts Centre ©
NACO Home Delivery

Celebrating Canada Day

For Canada Day, we’ve curated a wonderful variety of music with different Music Directors from throughout the NAC Orchestra archives. Hear how each conductor brings something of themselves, which reflects in the Orchestra’s sound.

If you’ve ever been to one of our Canada Day concerts in Southam Hall, you will know we always begin with our national anthem, O Canada, and today is no different. (Don’t forget to stand!)

Music by Handel and Haydn follows, with Trevor Pinnock leading Handel’s Music for the Royal Fireworks (1994), and Gabriel Chmura conducting Haydn’s charming Symphony No. 101, nicknamed “The Clock” (1986).

In addition his brilliance in opera, Mario Bernardi was a champion of Canadian music. This archive of the “Barn Dance” from the ballet  Red Ear of Corn by John Weinzweig) is from the Orchestra’s early years, in 1970.

We then jump to 1999 to hear Pinchas Zukerman play and conduct Vivaldi’s Summer, welcoming the heat, sun and thunderstorms of summer.

As you know, we are very proud of Life Reflected, and our telling of Canadian stories from the female perspective. In My Name is Amanda Todd, composer Jocelyn Morlock musically represents Amanda’s bravery and courage to tell her story. Conducted by Alexander Shelley.

We top off this program with a celebratory bonbon: the William Tell Overture by Rossini, conducted by Franco Mannino (1983). To quote NACO violinist Winston Webber, during music advisor Mannino’s time, the Orchestra was literally the most exciting Italian orchestra in the world.

Never miss a delivery

Signup for email updates
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.
Centre national des Arts ©
OCNA à domicile

Bonne fête du Canada!

Pour célébrer la fête du Canada, nous avons élaboré un programme varié qui reflète l’histoire de notre Orchestre. Tous nos directeurs musicaux sont représentés dans des œuvres mettant en valeur le talent de nos musiciens. Écoutez comment chacun de ces chefs imprime sa touche personnelle à l’Orchestre.

Si vous avez déjà assisté à l’un de nos concerts de la fête du Canada dans la Salle Southam, vous savez que notre hymne national y est interprété en ouverture. C’est aussi le cas aujourd’hui. N’oubliez pas de vous lever !

Vous entendrez ensuite la musique de Händel et de Haydn. Trevor Pinnock dirige d’abord Musique pour les feux d’artifices royaux (1994), puis Gabriel Chmura dirige la charmante Symphonie n° 101 de Haydn, « L’horloge » (1986).

Mario Bernardi était reconnu non seulement pour son amour de l’opéra, mais aussi comme champion de la musique canadienne. Voici un enregistrement de « Barn Dance » tirée du ballet Red Ear of Corn de John Weinzweig effectué en 1970, aux débuts de l’Orchestre.

Nous faisons ensuite un bond jusqu’à l’année 1999 pour entendre Pinchas Zukerman interpréter et diriger L’été de Vivaldi. Il s’agit d’une belle façon d’accueillir le soleil, la chaleur et les orages estivaux !

Comme vous le savez, nous sommes très fiers de Réflexions sur la vie, qui fait connaître des histoires canadiennes dans une perspective féminine. Dans My Name is Amanda Todd, la compositrice Jocelyn Morlock décrit en musique le courage dont a fait preuve Amanda en racontant sa propre expérience de cyberintimidation. Dirigée par Alexander Shelley.

Pour vous mettre dans une ambiance festive, nous vous proposons, pour terminer ce programme, l’ouverture de Guillaume Tell de Rossini, dirigée par Franco Mannino en 1983. À cette époque, notre ensemble était littéralement l’orchestre italien le plus exaltant du monde, selon le violoniste Winston Webber.

Ne manquez jamais une livraison

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi!
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

Menu