NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31
Ana Sokolović ©
NACO Home Delivery

Celebrating Quebec Composers

For this Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day, we celebrate the music of la belle province, Quebec. We’ve curated a wonderful program of works by Quebecois composers performed throughout the NAC Orchestra’s history.

First is Kaléidoscope, written in 1948, by Pierre Mercure (1927-1966). Though his life was short, he accomplished much before his tragic death at age 39: he played bassoon with the Montreal Symphony, studied with the legendary composition teacher Nadia Boulanger, and even produced a successful TV show for CBC French Television on Radio-Canada. In this 1977 performance led by Raffi Armenian, hear how, in Mercure’s first major work, he explores new worlds of texture and sonorities.

Linda Bouchard (b. 1957) has had her music performed all over the world, and she is currently focused on developing multi-media work. She was the NAC Orchestra’s first Composer-in-Residence from 1993-1996. She wrote many works during her tenure, including Vertige, conducted here, from a performance in 1995, by then Music Director Trevor Pinnock. Nature, by turns both orderly and chaotic, inspired this virtuosic, colourful work for orchestra.

Symphony No. 3 by the renowned Jacques Hétu (1938-2010) is next. Perhaps the most performed Canadian composer, his music is unmistakably modern, profoundly expressive and sensitive, reflecting the composer’s own spirit. Conductor Emeritus Pinchas Zukerman is a long-time champion of Hétu’s music and took this work on the NAC Orchestra’s 1990 European Tour; accompanied by Jacques, and his wife, Jeanne Desaulniers. This archive recording, conducted by Pinchas Zukerman, is also from 1990, from a concert prior to the Tour. The short Symphony is compelling, full of lyricism and contrasting colours and tempos.

When Ana Sokolović (b. 1968) became one of the NAC’s Award Composers in 2009, a stimulating partnership was born. Ringelspiel (2013; heard here in a 2016 performance), is a fifteen-minute work laid out in five short, connected sections. The piece is the composer's reflection on childhood and nostalgia. The German word for merry-go-round, Ringelspiel also plays with the mechanical aspects of movement and the circular motion of the machine.

We close with Symphonie minute by José Evangelista (b. 1943). Written in 1994, this archive is from 1996, conducted by Samuel Wong. Contrary to most symphonies of great length, this miniature seven-minute symphony for large orchestra does it all in four, short movements. This charming work is rhythmic, dissonant, and full of rich texture. Hear the woodwinds shine in the second movement.

PROGRAM NOTE FROM ANA SOKOLOVIĆ

Here is what the composer had to say about the work…

Ringelspiel was my first commissioned work for the NAC Orchestra. Ringelspiel is the Austrian-German word for merry-go-round, and is similar to the word Ringispil in my native Serbian. This fifteen minute piece is laid out in five short, connected sections: mechanical, heavy-footed, merry-go-round ballerina, mechanical and broken merry-go-round.

For me, and to most of us, a merry-go-round brings back memories of childhood and conjures up emotional responses of nostalgia and naïveté. In addition, I derived inspiration from the mechanical aspects of a merry-go-round – its simplicity of movement, its circular motion, and its status as an icon of the machine age.

      I.       mechanical
      II.      heavy-footed
      III.     merry-go-round ballerina
      IV.     mechanical
      V.      broken merry-go-round

Never miss a delivery

Signup for email updates
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address

Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août
Ana Sokolović ©
OCNA à domicile

Hommage aux compositeurs québécois

Pour la Saint-Jean-Baptiste, nous mettons à l’honneur la musique québécoise. Nous avons concocté un magnifique programme regroupant des œuvres de compositeurs québécois interprétées par l’Orchestre du CNA tout au long de son histoire.

Pierre Mercure (1927–1966) ouvre le bal avec Kaléidoscope (1948). Malgré sa mort tragique à 39 ans, il a eu une brillante carrière ; basson à l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, Mercure a été l’élève de la légendaire professeure de composition Nadia Boulanger et a même réalisé de populaires émissions de télévision pour Radio-Canada. Il explore de nouvelles textures et sonorités dans sa première œuvre majeure, interprétée ici en concert, en 1977, sous la direction de Raffi Armenian.

Linda Bouchard (née en 1957) est jouée partout dans le monde. Si elle se consacre actuellement à la création d’œuvres multimédias, elle a été la première compositrice en résidence auprès de notre Orchestre (1993–1996). Parmi les pièces écrites dans ce contexte, notons Vertige, ici dirigée par Trevor Pinnock, alors directeur musical. La nature, tantôt ordonnée, tantôt chaotique, a été la source d’inspiration de cette œuvre pour orchestre colorée et virtuose.

Vient ensuite le compositeur canadien probablement le plus fréquemment joué, Jacques Hétu (1938–2010), avec sa Symphonie no 3. Sa musique est indéniablement moderne, profondément expressive et émouvante, reflet de l’esprit même de son auteur. Notre chef émérite Pinchas Zukerman se fait depuis longtemps le champion de Hétu ; il a d’ailleurs dirigé ses œuvres lors d’une tournée européenne de l’Orchestre en 1990, à laquelle le compositeur et sa femme, Jeanne Desaulniers, ont assisté. Cet enregistrement d’un concert de 1990 a aussi été effectué sous la houlette de Pinchas Zukerman avant le départ pour la tournée. Passionnante et lyrique, cette brève symphonie est aussi remplie de couleurs et de tempos contrastants.

Lorsqu’Ana Sokolović (née en 1968) a remporté le Prix de composition du CNA en 2009, un stimulant partenariat entre elle et notre Orchestre est né. Ringelspiel (écrit en 2013 ; enregistrement de 2016), dont l’exécution dure une quinzaine de minutes, est divisé en cinq brèves sections interreliées. Il s’agit d’une réflexion sur l’enfance et la nostalgie. L’œuvre, qui doit son nom au mot allemand pour « carrousel », évoque le mouvement mécanique et circulaire du manège de chevaux de bois.

Notre livraison à domicile se termine sur la Symphonie minute de José Evangelista (né en 1943), écrite en 1994 (enregistrement de 1996, Samuel Wong au podium). Cette symphonie miniature pour grand orchestre, dont l’exécution dure sept minutes, n’a rien à envier à ses consœurs de plus grande ampleur : c’est une œuvre charmante, rythmique, dissonante et riche en textures. Portez attention aux bois, qui brillent dans le deuxième mouvement.

ANA SOKOLOVIĆ

Voici ce que la compositrice avait à raconter à propos de son œuvre.

Ringelspiel est la première pièce qui m’a été commandée par l’Orchestre du CNA. R ingelspiel veut dire « carrousel » en allemand et ressemble au Ringispil de ma Serbie natale. Cette œuvre de 15 minutes se décline en cinq courtes sections reliées entre elles : mécanique, large-pieds, manège-ballerine, mécanique et carrousel cassé.

Tout comme pour la plupart d’entre vous, le carrousel me ramène à des souvenirs d’enfance. Bref, il évoque la nostalgie d’un temps d’insouciance. C’est certes l’effet qu’il produit sur moi. J’ai donc trouvé mon inspiration dans les aspects mécaniques du carrousel — la simplicité du mouvement circulaire d’une invention emblématique de l’ère des machines.

      I.      mécanique
      II.     large-pieds
      III.    manège–ballerine
      IV.    mécanique
      V.     carrousel cassé

Ne manquez jamais une livraison

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi!
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

Menu