October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Ian Cusson ©John Arano
NACO Home Delivery

Ian Cusson and Sibelius

This Home Delivery brings concert recordings from February 2017 with John Storgårds and from the musicians’ popular chamber music series, Music for a Sunday Afternoon from 2018. We have prepared a rich, contemplative and contrasting program, with one work sharing themes of identity, and the other of serene optimism.

While Ian Cusson wrote important works about his Métis culture during his time as NAC Carrefour Composer, for his very first commission he chose to write a song cycle based on the poems of celebrated author, Joy Kogawa. Where There’s a Wall, for mezzo-soprano and six instrumentalists, received its world premiere on November 4, 2018. The poems reflect Joy Kogawa’s childhood in an internment camp for Japanese-Canadians during the Second World War, poems to which Ian felt a direct connection: “On the surface they don’t seem to share any common ground with my Métis history, but deep down they do share something with my key interests as a composer: themes of displacement, dislocation, and fear of outsiders – all of which are surprisingly common themes of the Métis experience.”

Of all of Sibelius’ symphonies, his Sixth is considered his most enigmatic. Written between 1918-1922, it premiered in February 1923 with Sibelius conducting, and drew confused, yet appreciative reviews as it was so unlike his previous works. In many ways, it can be considered his most optimistic work, full of sublime, lyrical and tranquil beauty. This Symphony doesn’t include a slow movement; in fact, none of the movements possess a negativity or darkness before triumphant light. It simply peacefully fades away. One could say it is his “Pastoral” symphony. Sibelius himself said “The Sixth Symphony always reminds me of the scent of the first snow”.

Never miss a delivery

Signup for email updates
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 mai 2021.
Ian Cusson ©John Arano
OCNA à domicile

Ian Cusson et Sibelius

Voici pour vous l’enregistrement d’un concert de février 2017 dirigé par John Storgårds. Vous entendrez aussi celui d’un récital de la populaire série de musique de chambre Musique pour un dimanche après-midi datant de 2018. Dans ce riche programme contrastant, une œuvre traite du thème de l’identité et l’autre se caractérise par un optimisme serein.

Au cours de sa résidence de composition Carrefour au CNA, Ian Cusson a écrit des œuvres majeures reliées à sa culture métisse. Il a cependant choisi, pour sa première œuvre, de composer un cycle de chants autour des poèmes de l’auteure primée Joy Kowaga. Where There’s A Wall, pour mezzo-soprano et sextuor, a été créé le 4 novembre 2018 par la mezzo-soprano canadienne Krisztina Szabó et six membres de l’Orchestre du CNA. Les poèmes de Kowaga, qui évoquent l’enfance de l’auteure dans un camp de détention pour Canadiens d’origine japonaise pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, ont profondément touché Cusson : « À première vue, ils paraissent très éloignés de mon héritage métis, mais fondamentalement, ces poèmes rejoignent mes centres d’intérêt principaux comme compositeur : les thèmes du déplacement forcé, de la dislocation et de la peur des étrangers font étonnamment écho à l’expérience métisse. »

La Symphonie no 6 est assurément la plus énigmatique œuvre du genre de Sibelius. Écrite entre 1918 et 1922, elle a été créée en février 1923 sous la houlette du compositeur lui-même. Elle était si différente de ses œuvres précédentes que les critiques en ont été déconcertés. Remplie d’une sublime, lyrique et tranquille beauté, la Sixième est considérée comme la pièce la plus optimiste de Sibelius. Cette symphonie ne comprend pas de mouvement lent ; en fait, le passage des ténèbres à la lumière si typique des œuvres du genre ne figure dans aucun de ses mouvements. L’œuvre s’estompe simplement, tout doucement. On pourrait presque la qualifier de « pastorale ». Sibelius disait lui-même que la Sixième lui rappelait le doux parfum de la première neige.

Ne manquez jamais une livraison

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi!
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

Menu