October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
©
NACO Home Delivery

Beethoven Celebration

Beethoven’s 250th birthday, in December 2020, is being marked around the world in 2020 and in 2021.  This Home Delivery is a fascinating listen to the NAC Orchestra over its 50 years of music making—you’ll hear 2 (or 3 or 4!) distinctly different ensembles—but with an identifiable “DNA” coursing through the Orchestra’s sound.  The selections are from concerts in 1971, 1983, 2000 and 2012. 

A rare listen starts the concert off:  the legendary Chilean pianist Claudio Arrau, performing Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto, in a 1971 concert with Mario Bernardi.  Franco Mannino’s connection with the players was electric, as is their performance together of Beethoven’s iconic Symphony No. 5. Then Pinchas Zukerman performs Beethoven’s Second Romance for Violin, a perfect gem, in the hands of one of the world’s finest violinists.  And we conclude with Beethoven’s lush, vivid “Pastorale” Symphony No. 6, which was Alexander Shelley’s first Beethoven on the podium with the Orchestra, as a guest conductor, in 2012.  The musicians of the NAC Orchestra listen as though this were chamber music; this is their hallmark, and even fifty years later, it is still impressive!

"The music of Beethoven is central to the life of musicians and audiences. Over the course of his nine masterpieces, Beethoven evolved not just his own music, but revolutionized all of music in a way and at a pace hitherto unprecedented. From the classical strains of his first to the universal themes of his last, there is not a single note out of place, not a single bar wasted, not a single idea unexplored. He challenges the orchestra to be its best. He demands rigour and attention of performers and listeners alike. And why? In order to express, through the abstract language of music, the most fundamental and tangible shared emotions of humankind. Joy, passion, warmth, mourning, hope, loss, melancholy, peace, victory, struggle, solidarity, desperation, reverence, simplicity… I cannot think of a state of mind that is not in one way or another expressed through this music."

     --Alexander Shelley

Never miss a delivery

Signup for email updates
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.
©
OCNA à domicile

Beethoven en fête

Le 250e anniversaire de naissance de Beethoven, qui aura lieu en décembre prochain, sera célébré partout dans le monde jusqu'en en 2021. Cette semaine, nous rendons hommage à cet illustre compositeur à travers de fascinants moments représentatifs des 50 ans d’histoire de notre orchestre. Vous entendrez deux (peut-être même trois ou quatre !) ensembles distincts, mais aussi un certain « ADN » reconnaissable dans le son de l’Orchestre. Nous avons sélectionné des enregistrements de 1971, 1983, 2000 et 2012.

Une rareté ouvre le bal : le légendaire pianiste chilien Claudio Arrau interprète le Concerto pour piano no 3 dans un concert de 1971 avec Mario Bernardi au podium. Puis, le rapport électrique qui unissait Franco Mannino à ses musiciens est perceptible dans une prestation de l’emblématique Symphonie no 5. Pinchas Zukerman interprète ensuite la Romance pour violon et orchestre no 2, un pur joyau que fait briller l’un des plus grands violonistes du monde. Enfin, la riche et éclatante Symphonie no 6 conclut notre programme ; la « Pastorale » est la première œuvre de Beethoven qu’Alexander Shelley a dirigée avec l’Orchestre, alors qu’il était chef invité en 2012. Les musiciens abordaient cette oeuvre comme s’il s’agissait de musique de chambre ; cette marque de commerce impressionne toujours, près de 50 ans plus tard.

"La musique de Beethoven est au cœur de la vie des musiciens et des mélomanes. Au fil de ses neuf chefs-d’œuvre, le compositeur a non seulement fait évoluer sa propre musique, mais il a révolutionné la musique d’une manière et à un rythme sans précédent. Du classicisme de sa première à l’universalisme de sa dernière, on chercherait en vain une seule note qui ne tombe pas en place, une seule mesure de trop, une seule idée laissée en suspens. Beethoven oblige l’orchestre à donner le meilleur de lui-même. Il exige rigueur et attention, tant des interprètes que des auditeurs. Et pourquoi ? Pour exprimer, par le langage abstrait de la musique, les émotions les plus fondamentales et tangibles, communes à toute l’humanité : la joie, la passion, la chaleur, le deuil, l’espoir, la perte, la mélancolie, la paix, la victoire, la lutte, la solidarité, le désespoir, la vénération, la simplicité… Je ne peux imaginer un seul état d’esprit qui n’ait pas été évoqué d’une manière ou d’une autre dans sa musique."

     --Alexander Shelley

Ne manquez jamais une livraison

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi!
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

Menu