January 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
©
NACO Home Delivery

Itzhak Perlman Plays Brahms

In 1972, the NAC Orchestra had been performing together as a brand new ensemble for barely 3 years, but the buzz and excitement that surrounded the new orchestra and the glamorous new National Arts Centre attracted the world’s most exciting artists to Ottawa.

The great violinist Itzhak Perlman first performed with the NAC Orchestra when he was 26 years old, and we are delighted to share that concert recording, from February 2, 1972, with you today.  He performs the touching, joyful Brahms Violin Concerto (1878) with then-Music Director Mario Bernardi. 

A Midsummer Night’s Dream is the inspiration for Violet Archer’s Prelude-Incantation (1964), a commission by the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra (ESO) in celebration of the 400th anniversary of Shakespeare’s birth.  The performance here is by the NAC Orchestra in 1976, led by Pierre Hétu, who at the time was music director of the ESO.

Violet Archer (1913-2000) spent much of her long music career in Edmonton, teaching at the University of Alberta, and she had a wide reaching impact on many Canadian musicians, having taught composer Vivian Fung in her undergrad years, as well as knowing (and even composing for) a talented young violinist named Jessica Linnebach.

Never miss a delivery

Signup for email updates
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 mai 2021.
©
OCNA à domicile

Itzhak Perlman joue Brahms

En 1972, l’Orchestre du CNA existait depuis seulement trois ans. Déjà, l’engouement et l’enthousiasme entourant ce jeune orchestre et le prestigieux nouveau Centre national des Arts attiraient la crème de la crème.

C’est à 26 ans que le grand violoniste Itzhak Perlman s’est produit avec l’Orchestre du CNA pour la première fois. Nous sommes ravis de vous partager l’enregistrement du concert du 2 février 1972. Il avait alors interprété le touchant et joyeux Concerto pour violon de Brahms (1878) sous la baguette du directeur musical de l’époque, Mario Bernardi.

Prelude-Incantation (1964) de Violet Archer a été inspirée par A Midsummer Night’s Dream de Shakespeare et a été commissionnée par le Edmonton Symphony Orchestra (ESO) à l’occasion du 400e anniversaire de naissance de Shakespeare. Vous entendrez ici la version de l’Orchestre du CNA dirigée par Pierre Hétu, alors directeur musical de l’ESO, en 1976.

Violet Archer (1913-2000) a passé la plus grande partie de sa longue carrière à Edmonton, où elle enseignait à l’Université d’Alberta. Elle a également influencé de nombreux musiciens canadiens. Par exemple, elle a enseigné à la compositrice Vivian Fung alors qu’elle était au baccalauréat. Elle connaissait aussi une jeune violoniste talentueuse pour qui elle a même composé, Jessica Linnebach.

Ne manquez jamais une livraison

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi!
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

Menu