September 2020 Update on Live Performances and Events at the NAC.
R. Murray Schafer ©André Leduc
NACO Home Delivery

Maureen Forrester Sings Schafer

The incomparable Canadian mezzo-soprano Maureen Forrester is our featured soloist in this concert archive of music by 3 powerful voices in American and Canadian composition: Alexina Louie, R. Murray Schafer, and the late Aaron Copland.  

Adieu, Robert Schumann (1978), by Murray Schafer, written for Maurreen Forrester and commissioned by the CBC, is a musical monodrama, with one character in an operatic concert setting, sometimes speaking over the music. The style is a throwback to the Romanticism of 18th century Europe, but continues today in music as varied as Schoenberg’s expressionist masterpiece Erwartung and a chart-topping Chinese R&B pop song (Monodrama). To learn more about Shafer, check out David New’s 2009 short film entitled “Listen” on the National Film Board of Canada website.

Maureen Forrester was undeniably one of the world’s greatest singers.  Her interpretations of Mahler and early mentorship by conductor Bruno Walter, have become the stuff of legend.  She had a long relationship with the National Arts Centre Orchestra, and particularly with Mario Bernardi, collaborating in the Tchaikovsky opera The Queen of Spades (among others) and in the world premiere of Schafer’s Adieu, Robert Schumann, where she embodies the composer’s wife Clara Schumann, relieving the moments at the end of Robert’s life. The text, clearly interpreted by Forrester, is drawn from Clara’s own journals and letters. Schafer draws on Robert Schumann’s music, weaving painfully beautiful quotes from his lieder, beginning with Dein Angesicht and Heinrich Heine’s words, “Your face, so loveable and fair; I saw it recently in a dream. It is so mild and angelic, yet so pale and full of pain.”

NAC Award Composer Alexina Louie’s Infinite Sky With Birds was an NAC commission which the Orchestra premiered in Ottawa with guest conductor Carlos Kalmar and later toured across Canada with Pinchas Zukerman.  The composer described it to Toronto Star music critic John Terauds in 2006, “‘The actual inspiration came from a sight that always lifts my heart, the sight of a flock of birds taking off’, her description of Infinite Sky revolves around moods and visual impressions. ‘There's a cycle to it,’ she says. ‘An eternal cycle, birds wheeling in the air ... You hear the whole thing taking flight many times, until the final ascent from the very bottom of the orchestra to the top.’ "  

And finally, Appalachian Spring (1945 version) by Aaron Copland.  Originally a ballet by Martha Graham, it has entered the musical lexicon as iconically “American”, stitching the beautiful Shaker tune Simple Gifts into a rich musical quilt. This performance is from 2010, with then guest conductor Alexander Shelley in his second appearance with our Orchestra. 

We hope you enjoy this colourful and evocative Home Delivery. 

Never miss a delivery

Signup for email updates
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 mai 2021.
R. Murray Schafer ©André Leduc
OCNA à domicile

Maureen Forrester chante Schafer

L’incomparable mezzo-soprano canadienne Maureen Forrester est notre soliste vedette cette semaine. Au programme, les œuvres de trois importantes voix de la composition canadienne et américaine, Alexina Louie, R. Murray Schafer et feu Aaron Copland.

Commande de la CBC, Adieu, Robert Schumann (1978) a été expressément écrit pour Maureen Forrester. Ce monodrame musical de Murray Schafer a quelque chose de l’opéra version concert, avec un seul personnage qui parfois prend la parole. L’œuvre évoque à la fois le romantisme européen du XVIIIe siècle et la musique contemporaine (Attente, chef-d’œuvre expressionniste de Schoenberg, et « Monodrama », chanson pop R & B chinoise qui a atteint le sommet des palmarès). Pour en apprendre plus sur Shafer, nous vous conseillons le court-métrage de David New, Listen (2009), disponible sur le site Web de l’Office national du film du Canada.

Maureen Forrester a sans contredit été l’une des plus grandes chanteuses du monde. Ses interprétations de Mahler et le mentorat que lui a offert le chef d’orchestre Bruno Walter à ses débuts sont passés à l’histoire. Elle a longtemps collaboré avec l’Orchestre du CNA, en particulier sous la direction de Mario Bernardi; elle a notamment été de l’opéra de de Tchaïkovsky La dame de pique et de la création mondiale d’Adieu, Robert Schumann. Elle y incarne brillamment la femme du compositeur, Clara Schumann, dans les derniers moments de ce dernier; les paroles sont d’ailleurs tirées des journaux intimes et lettres de celle-ci. Schafer s’est inspiré de la musique de Robert Schumann, reprenant les notes du douloureusement poignant lieder d’Heinrich Heine « Ton visage », dont les premiers vers sont : « Ton visage si cher et si beau, / Je l’ai vu récemment en rêve, / Il est si doux et si angélique, / Et pourtant si pâle, empli de douleur. »

Infinite Sky With Birds est une commande du CNA composée par Alexina Louie, lauréate du prix de composition du Centre. Notre Orchestre a créé l’œuvre avec le chef invité Carlos Kalmar, et l’a plus tard interprétée en tournée pancanadienne avec Pinchas Zukermann. La compositrice a dit au critique musical John Terauds du Toronto Star en 2006 : « Mon inspiration première, c’est l’envol des oiseaux, qui m’a toujours ravie. » Des impressions visuelles et des tons variés caractérisent la pièce : « Il y a ici un cycle, un cycle éternel. Les oiseaux tracent des cercles dans les airs… On peut entendre ces mouvements plusieurs fois jusqu’à la dernière envolée qui s’échelonne des notes les plus basses aux plus aiguës de l’orchestre. »

Notre programme se clôt sur Appalachian Spring (version de 1945) d’Aaron Copland. D’abord musique pour un ballet de Martha Graham, cette composition qui reprend la jolie mélodie de la chanson Shaker « Simple Gifts » est aujourd’hui un incontournable de la musique américaine. Notre enregistrement a été effectué en 2010, alors qu’Alexander Shelley était au pupitre pour la deuxième fois à titre de chef invité de l’Orchestre.

Nous espérons que cette édition colorée et évocatrice de L’OCNA à domicile vous plaira.

Ne manquez jamais une livraison

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi!
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

Menu