NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until June 30
Measha Brueggergosman ©
NACO Home Delivery

Measha Brueggergosman Sings Strauss

Programme:

HAWKINS "Goin' Up Yonder" (Measha Brueggergosman, soprano a cappella)
R. STRAUSS "Im Abendrot" from Four Last Songs (Measha Brueggergosman, soprano)
[Recorded June 2, 2019]

KEVIN LAU Dark Angels Suite
[Recorded October 3, 2019]

R. STRAUSS Death and Transfiguration
[Recorded  March 31, 2016]

This week's Home Delivery concert recalls our 50th Anniversary season, is abundant with Canadian talent, and features the searingly poignant music of Richard Strauss.

In October 2019, we performed the Dark Angels Suite by Canadian composer Kevin Lau which was commissioned and recorded as part of Encount3rs for NACO and the National Ballet of Canada. Kevin’s music expresses love and violence, all within a delicate, fragile frame, as he explores the struggle to find one’s place in the world. The Suite fits together much like a concerto for orchestra, and Principal Cello Rachel Mercer receives the biggest feature, in a heart-wrenching, elegiac solo.

The NAC 50th anniversary concert on June 2, 2019, included a special moment with Canadian soprano Measha Brueggergosman. Her singular, powerful voice rang through the hall, first in a beautiful solo spiritual, and then with the Orchestra in one of Strauss’s exquisite Four Last Songs, “Im Abendrot”, or “In the glow of evening”. Measha’s voice soars gently above the orchestra, as she reflects dreamily about life and death.

And with that music still ringing in our ears, hear the Orchestra perform Tod und Verklärung or Death and Transfiguration, from a March 2016 concert. In this 1889 tone poem for large orchestra, written when he was only 24 years old, Strauss artfully depicts the physiological and psychological states of a dying man. In the final bars, as his soul leaves the body, we hear the “Transfiguration” theme in its fullest beauty, its celestial ascent represented by two harps. Intriguingly, on Strauss’s own deathbed in 1949, he remarked that “dying is just the way I’d composed it in Tod und Verklärung."

Death and Transfiguration: Alexander’s Listening Notes

In composing Death and Transfiguration at the tender age of 24, Richard Strauss demonstrated his uncannily preternatural gift for capturing the most profound emotions in music. So prescient was his vision, that later, he self-quoted a phrase from this piece in response to the line ‘Is this perhaps death’ in his very last work. That song, ‘Im Abendrot’ (“In the glow of Evening”), written a year before Strauss’s passing at age 85, is also offered in this digital concert, brought to life by the extraordinary voice of Measha Brueggergosman.

Death and Transfiguration is beautifully simple in its four-part construction.

The strings begin. Gentle, insistent, the sound of a beating heart in a lonely, darkened room. This heart, its rhythm uncomfortable, its energy waning, is that of our protagonist: an ageing artist, recumbent on his deathbed. His weary, heavy breathing punctuates the near silence before the harp leads us into melancholic wisps of melody on the flute and clarinet. A brief sequence of rising harmonic modulations hints at a regathering life force only for us to land firmly in the minor, with an exquisite oboe line leading a passage of doleful reminiscence presented by woodwind and string soloists. As these memories ebb away, our artist falls back into fatigue, the quiet and loneliness return. Further flashes of reminiscence, underscored by uneasy, apprehensive strings, serve as a premonition of what is to come. His heartbeat returns, more present now, more uneven, voiced not the by the strings but by the brass…

…And then a kick in the gut as his body seizes and fever takes hold. Timpani punch, low strings and woodwinds stretch and distort, high strings scream in panic as the artist convulses. Ever forward the tempo is driven as the violence of his illness consumes him, the gently insistent heartbeats of the opening transformed into punishing racing beats in the brass and timpani. At the high point of this fever, a sudden turning of the tide: this was not his final moment…

…The oboe, whose voice led the earlier reminiscence, returns as the mood calms. Over a trickling brook of string accompaniment, the artist looks back at his life. Flute lines trace his earliest, innocent youth, coloured by a hint of violin melancholy. A modulation heralds the entry of the horns, depicting for the first time a young, confident man taking his place in the world. This confidence, embodied by a virtuosic flourish in the violins, grows bar by bar, punctuated only by the insistent return of the heartbeat motif, dragging us constantly back to grim reality. But again the memories take hold, and in one of the most gloriously uplifting passages in all music, once more he envisions his youthful vigour, blossoming, into his first love. We barely reach this first peak before darkness again takes hold, his illness fighting to quash these precious moments with baleful oboe and viola lines. The tussle between hope and despair continues as a second peak of optimism is subdued. The intensity grows, motifs overlaid in ever more abundance - here the heartbeat, the gut-wrenching fever; there the youth, the vitality - until ultimately, a glowing memory of life lived to its fullest, of true love and joy, wins through. The artist, spent from this final act, falls back, chromaticism charting his diminishing power. The heartbeat, the heavy breaths return. Silence, isolation consume him. A final violent fever attacks, the heart convulses as life is wrenched away, a tam-tam strike heralding the moment he slips from one world to the next…

…And it is with that tam-tam that the extraordinary, all-enveloping transfiguration begins. Unfolding over several minutes the music depicts the tender, inexorable motion of the artist’s soul rising heavenward until, with warm-hearted inevitability, it pauses on a single high-lying violin note. The gates of heaven, the pivotal moment. Acceptance means stepping across the threshold, but also bidding farewell to that rich and joyful life of his memories. The heroic love theme returns, transfigured, as the artist looks back hesitantly, melancholically, then steps forward into the light with gathering belief. This journey through life and death culminates in one of the great orchestral cadences in the repertoire, easing into a glowingly serene C-major as the artist finally finds peace.

I hope that you enjoy this masterpiece!

Never miss a delivery

Signup for email updates
Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.
Measha Brueggergosman ©
OCNA à domicile

Measha Brueggergosman chante Strauss

Au programme:

HAWKINS « Goin' Up Yonder »
Measha Brueggergosman, soprano a cappella

R. STRAUSS « Au crépuscule », tiré des Quatre derniers lieder
Measha Brueggergosman, soprano
[Enregistrés le 2 juin 2019]

KEVIN LAU Suite Dark Angels
[Enregistrée le 3 octobre 2019]

R. STRAUSS Mort et transfiguration
[Enregistré le 31 mars 2016]

Cette semaine, nous mettons à l’honneur notre 50e anniversaire, les talents canadiens et la poignante musique de Richard Strauss.

Nous avons interprété en octobre 2019 la suite tirée de Dark Angels du compositeur canadien Kevin Lau, œuvre commandée et enregistrée dans le cadre de notre projet Rencontr3s en collaboration avec le Ballet national du Canada. Kevin y exprime à la fois l’amour et la violence, entourés d’un simple et fragile rempart, et explore le défi de se faire une place dans le monde. Cette suite, qui a quelque chose du concerto pour orchestre, met en vedette notre violoncelle solo, Rachel Mercer, dans un solo élégiaque des plus bouleversants.

La soprano canadienne Measha Brueggergosman nous a offert des moments de magie lors du concert du 2 juin 2019 soulignant le 50e anniversaire du CNA. Sa voix puissante et singulière a retenti dans la Salle Southam, d’abord dans un joli spiritual solo, puis avec l’Orchestre dans l’un des Quatre deniers lieder de Richard Strauss, « Im Abendrot » (« Au crépuscule »); elle semblait flotter au-dessus des musiciens en contemplant rêveusement la vie et la mort.

Ce lied en tête, je vous invite ensuite à écouter l’Orchestre interpréter Tod und Verklärung ou Mort et transfiguration dans un concert de mars 2016. Ce poème symphonique pour grand orchestre, composé alors que Strauss avait 24 ans à peine, décrit finement l’état physiologique et psychologique d’un artiste moribond. On y entend, dans les dernières mesures qui évoquent le moment où l’âme est libérée du corps, le thème de la transfiguration dans toute sa splendeur – l’ascension vers les cieux y étant symbolisée par un motif énoncé par deux harpes. Étrangement peut-être, Strauss aurait dit sur son lit de mort, en 1949, que l’agonie était exactement comme il l’avait décrite dans Mort et transfiguration.

Guide d’écoute d’Alexander Shelley : Mort et transfiguration

Dans Mort et transfiguration, un Richard Strauss de 24 ans à peine fait montre de son talent extraordinaire et presque surnaturel pour traduire en musique les émotions les plus profondes. Sa vision était si prophétique qu’elle resurgit des années plus tard dans sa toute dernière œuvre, « Au crépuscule », en réponse au vers « Serait-ce donc la mort? ». Ce lied composé un an avant la mort de Strauss à 85 ans figure d’ailleurs à l’enregistrement de ce soir et y est porté par la voix extraordinaire de Measha Brueggergosman.

Mort et transfiguration se décline en quatre parties d’une habile simplicité.

Les cordes donnent le coup d’envoi : elles évoquent le son doux et incessant d’un cœur qui bat dans une chambre sombre et solitaire. Ce cœur, dont le rythme est irrégulier et dont l’énergie se dissipe, est celui d’un artiste moribond gisant sur son lit de mort. Un quasi-silence règne, ponctué par une respiration faible, pénible; puis la harpe introduit une mélodie mélancolique développée par la flûte et la clarinette. Une brève séquence de modulations harmoniques ascendantes suggère un regain de vitalité; or, le mode mineur s’établit fermement avec une exquise ligne au hautbois qui mène à de douloureuses réminiscences portées par les solistes des vents et des cordes. Tandis que les souvenirs s’envolent, la fatigue reprend notre artiste. Le calme et la solitude s’installent. Quelques instants de réminiscence passent fugitivement, mis en évidence par un motif troublant des cordes et annonçant ce qui est à venir. Les battements de cœur sont de retour, plus présents, plus irréguliers, énoncés, cette fois, par les cuivres.

Et l’agonie suit son cours : la fièvre s’empare du corps qui subit une attaque. Les timbales donnent des coups; les cordes basses et les vents étirent et distendent la mélodie; les cordes aiguës donnent une voix à la panique de l’artiste pris de convulsions. Le tempo s’accélère et reflète la violence de la maladie qui consume l’artiste. Les doux et incessants battements de cœur du début se transforment en épuisants battements – le cœur s’emballe – des cuivres et des timbales. Au comble de la fièvre, la roue semble tourner : ce n’était peut-être pas la fin…

Le hautbois, qui avait un peu plus tôt signalé les souvenirs, nous revient alors que l’atmosphère se calme. L’artiste se penche sur sa vie au son des cordes ruisselantes. Les flûtes rappellent le passé lointain, la jeunesse innocente, teintés d’un brin de mélancolie des violons. Une modulation annonce l’entrée des cors, décrivant pour la première fois un jeune homme confiant, prêt à prendre sa place dans le monde; cette confiance en soi, incarnée en une ornementation virtuose des violons, se développe d’une mesure à l’autre et est ponctuée par le retour insistant du motif du battement de cœur, lequel nous ramène inexorablement à la triste réalité. Mais des souvenirs refont surface : l’artiste se remémore la vigueur de la jeunesse et l’épanouissement de son premier amour – c’est l’un des passages les plus radieux et les plus inspirants de l’histoire de la musique. Ce sommet à peine atteint, les ténèbres rejaillissent, la maladie réprimant ces moments de bonheur – sinistres passages au hautbois et à l’alto. La lutte entre l’espérance et le désespoir se poursuit tandis qu’un deuxième sommet d’optimisme est aussitôt refréné. La musique s’intensifie. De nombreux motifs se recoupent : ici, les battements de cœur désordonnés et la violence de la fièvre; là, la jeunesse et la vitalité, et enfin domine le souvenir éclatant d’une vie bien vécue, remplie de bonheur et d’amour. L’artiste est à bout de force; un passage chromatique marque la diminution de son énergie. Les battements de cœur et la respiration haletante reprennent. Le silence et la solitude rongent l’artiste. Un ultime et terrifiant accès de fièvre prend le corps d’assaut, lui donne des convulsions, et la vie se détache violemment; un coup de tam-tam est le signe du passage d’un monde à l’autre…

Et c’est au son de ce tam-tam que l’extraordinaire, enveloppante, transfiguration débute. Pendant plusieurs minutes, la musique décrit l’inexorable et délicate ascension de l’âme vers les cieux, et atteint inévitablement une note aiguë, unique et rassurante, des violons. Les portes du paradis s’ouvrent, c’est le moment-charnière : l’artiste doit maintenant accepter la mort, franchir le seuil du paradis et dire adieu à ses souvenirs. Le thème héroïque de l’amour revient, transfiguré : l’artiste se retourne avec hésitation et mélancolie pour contempler sa vie, puis avance vers la lumière avec foi. Ce parcours de la vie à la mort culmine en l’une des plus grandes cadences du répertoire symphonique, éclatante et sereine, doucement énoncée en do majeur et évoquant la paix que l’artiste a enfin trouvée.

J’espère que ce chef-d’œuvre vous plaira, et je vous transmets, à vous et les vôtres, mes vœux de santé et de bonheur.

Ne manquez jamais une livraison

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi!
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

Menu