September 2020 Update on Live Performances and Events at the NAC.
Tanya Tagaq ©
NACO Home Delivery

Indigenous Artists Spotlight

Ambe
Ambe Anishinaabeg
biindigeg Anishinaabeg
Mino-bimaadiziwin omaa
Ambe
Come in
Come in, two-legged beings
come in all people
There is good life here
Come in!

In anticipation of June 21 and National Indigenous Peoples Day, this week’s Home Delivery invites you to reflect on music from several past concerts celebrating the diverse and powerful voices of Indigenous artists.   

First, composer/conductor Andrew Balfour (Cree) leads soaring human voices to welcome us into our virtual space. Then you’ll hear the world premiere performances of two works by Ian Cusson (Métis) from 2019’s shkamo Festival.  The Home Delivery concludes with the voices and words of two remarkable women: actor Monique Mojica (Guna and Rappahannock) inhabits the words of Mikmaw Elder and poet Rita Joe; and Inuk throat singer Tanya Tagaq performs her own work, Qiksaaktuq, from our concert on International Womens Day, on March 8, 2019.

Andrew Balfours a cappella choral piece, Ambe, is based on an original song in Ojibway, the words of which were gifted to him by traditional drummer and singer Cory Campbell. Campbell describes his words as a call to the people to the ceremonial way of life”.  The steady beat represents the heartbeat of Mother Earth, with the lyrical sopranos conveying the powerful totem of the eagle, which represents the teachings of love, wisdom and strength.

We embraced Ian Cusson as part of the NAC Orchestra family when he became one of our inaugural Carrefour Composers. His time with the Orchestra resulted in two new works.  Dodo, mon tout petit, performed by soprano Melody Courage (Métis), is a special work that will be a lasting demonstration of reconciliation: it will forever stand in place of a different aria in the 1967 opera Louis Riel (created by Harry Somers and Mavor Moore), an aria which was culturally appropriated from Nisgaa people without permission. 

Le loup de Lafontaine, Ians second Carrefour commission, is a fable about a wolf based on part-legend, part-history from Ian’s familys hometown in Georgian Bay. At the time of the story, various settler and Indigenous communities lived in close proximity, though wary of the other. When a wolf comes to town, the community is united in fear of this new outsider” and works together to defeat it. In this work, Ian has skillfully woven a beautiful tapestry awash of colour and texture, descriptive scenery, and human emotion of victory and loss.

When you hear the words from Mikmaw Elder Rita Joes poem, I Lost My Talk, you cant help but be moved by their beauty and hard-hitting truths. Monique Mojica powerfully embodies Rita Joe’s words, amidst the lush musical landscape by composer John Estacio. Hear Principal Flute Joanna Gfroerer represent Ritas journey in this flagship piece from our project, Life Reflected.

The experience of Tanya Tagaq performing Qiksaaktuq is like none other. The Inuktitut word for grief, this piece is dedicated to Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls, and to those who grieve for them. As Tanyas gut wrenching performance leads us through the five stages of grief, we are invited to experience those same emotions. This piece, and her performance, is powerful, visceral and leaves an indelible mark on both performer and listener. It will remain with you long after you hear it.

LISTENING GUIDE FROM IAN CUSSON

Le loup de Lafontaine is a dance work based on a story, part-legend and part-history, that takes place in the small French-speaking Ontario community of Lafontaine in 1902. The story is a cautionary tale of a diverse but divided community ravaged by a lone wolf.

Lafontaine lies on the banks of Georgian Bay and has long been a meeting place of different peoples. In the time of the story, various settler and Indigenous communities lived in close proximity, one to the other, rarely intermixing. Each had a deep mistrust of the other.

It is only with the arrival of the wolf – an outsider – that the community comes to terms with their divided nature. They unite, despite their differences, with the common goal of ridding the land of the intruder.

The wolf in the story is the testing place of the community’s fears and rivalries and hatred. As the outsider, it becomes a scapegoat whose expulsion from the community will be the means by which the divided peoples are restored.

The wolf is hunted and killed. The town is rid of the intruder and the community is united – but at a cost.

SYNOPSIS

[0’00”] Evening in early spring in the small country-side community of Lafontaine, on the shores of Georgian Bay. The area has long been a meeting place, and in 1902, is the home of several distinct people groups: Métis, Ojibwe and various French settlers, all of whom share a deep mistrust of the other.

First Scene

[2’26”] Inside the local tavern, townsfolk drink and dance. When Joseph Lortie, a drunk French man stumbles into François Labatte, a Métis man, François berates the man and all Frenchmen like him. Joseph challenges François: they will each dance for the honour of their people.

[3’39”] The Métis tune their fiddles and François and his wife dance.

[4’52”] Joseph stumbles into the middle of the room and attempts to dance. Barely able to stand, he falls over. His friends help him up and a young French man takes his place in the competition.

[7’10”] Just as a fight is about to break out, the sound of a howling wolf stops everyone. A wolf loose in the village means one thing: it is hungry. Panic ensues and everyone rushes for the door.

Second Scene

[7’45”] An early morning fog lingers over an empty field. Out of nowhere, the wolf appears.

[9’10”] He is cautious, timid even.

[10’16”] A butterfly appears. He chases it away. A distant bird calls. Curious, he replies.

The butterfly returns. Together, they play, running through the field.

[11’06”] The wolf stops dead in his tracks when he comes face-to-face with a small girl. The girl approaches the wolf. Ever so carefully, the wolf approaches the girl.

[11’52”] They play together: a mystical dance, until, exhausted, they lay down in the field and fall asleep.

[14’58”] They awaken to the commotion of the enraged townspeople. Before anyone can lay hands on him, the wolf vanishes.

Third Scene

[15’55”] Fear of the wolf is at an extreme. The entire community holds its breath.

[17’10] The townspeople, French, Métis and Ojibwe rally together. The wolf must be stopped. Putting aside their differences, they will hunt the wolf together.

[17’20”] A first group of hunters sets out in search of the wolf but are unsuccessful. A second group of hunters try their luck. They shoot, but miss.

[18’26”] The one-eyed Théophile Brunelle takes aim, shoots and misses. Again he tries. In one last attempt, he aims his gun across the field, closes his one good eye and shoots. The bullet hits the animal.

[18’58”] The wolf limps off into the bush and dies.

[20’42”] Animals from the surrounding bush try to wake him before the hunters arrive.

[21’03”] The hunters find the wolf and drag him to the town square. They string up his lifeless body in front of the church. The townspeople rejoice.

[21’45”] Pushing through the crowd, the young girl reaches the square and sees the wolf.

[22’41”] A church bell sounds, calling the townspeople. They enter the church. A hymn plays from within as the townspeople hold a Mass in celebration of the wolf’s death. Alone, outside, the girl weeps.

Never miss a delivery

Signup for email updates
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.
Tanya Tagaq ©
OCNA à domicile

Pleins feux sur les artistes autochtones

Ambe
Ambe Anishinaabeg
biindigeg Anishinaabeg
Mino-bimaadiziwin omaa
Ambe
Entrez
Entrez, êtres à deux pattes
Entrez, tous autant que vous êtes
La vie est bonne ici
Entrez!

En vue de la Journée nationale des peuples autochtones, qui aura lieu le 21 juin, je vous invite à revivre quelques-uns de nos concerts mettant en lumière les voix puissantes et diversifiées des artistes autochtones.

Le compositeur et chef de choeur Andrew Balfour (cri) dirige d’abord un chœur dans des envolées qui donnent le ton à cette livraison à domicile. Viendront ensuite deux œuvres d’Ian Cusson (métis) créées lors du Festival shkamo en 2019. Enfin, place à des femmes remarquables : la comédienne Monique Mojica (guna et rappahannock) donne vie aux mots de l’aînée et poétesse mi’kmaq Rita Joe, puis la chanteuse de gorge inuite Tanya Tagaq interprète l’une de ses compositions, Qiksaaktuq, lors du concert que nous avons présenté le 8 mars 2019 à l’occasion de la Journée internationale des femmes.

Ambe est une pièce pour chœur d’Andrew Balfour interprétée a cappella. Elle s’inspire d’une chanson originale en ojibwé offerte au compositeur par le chanteur et joueur de tambour traditionnel Cory Campbell, qui la décrit ainsi : « Un appel à suivre la voie sacrée de l’existence ». Le rythme régulier du tambour rappelle les battements de cœur de la Terre-Mère, tandis que les mélodies lyriques de la soprano évoquent le puissant totem de l’aigle, lequel représente la sagesse, l’amour et le courage.

Nous avons chaleureusement accueilli le compositeur Ian Cusson au sein de la famille de l’Orchestre du CNA dès le début de sa résidence Carrefour. De cette expérience sont nées deux œuvres. Dodo, mon tout petit, interprétée par la soprano Melody Courage (métisse), est une œuvre magnifique symbole de réconciliation durable : elle remplace dorénavant l’aria qui figurait dans la version originale de l’opéra Louis Riel d’Harry Somers et de Mavor Moore (1967) et utilisait sans autorisation un chant appartenant au peuple Nisga’a.

La deuxième œuvre d’Ian composée pendant sa résidence parmi nous, Le loup de Lafontaine, s’inspire d’un récit à mi-chemin entre histoire et légende se déroulant dans son village natal, situé sur les rives de la baie Georgienne. À l’époque du récit, divers groupes de colons et d’Autochtones y cohabitent, mais se méfient profondément les uns des autres. Ce n’est que lorsqu’un loup — un étranger — s’installe dans les parages que les villageois apeurés s’unissent pour chasser l’intrus. Cette composition est une magnifique tapisserie alliant couleurs, textures, paysages pittoresques et profondes émotions humaines, telles victoire et deuil.

En écoutant les paroles du poème I Lost My Talk de l’aînée mi’kmaq Rita Joe, on ne peut qu’être ému par leur beauté et leur vérité percutante. Enveloppée d’un riche paysage musical signé John Estacio, Monique Mojica personnifie magnifiquement les mots de ce poème. Vous entendrez aussi Joanna G’froerer, notre flûte solo, faire écho au parcours de Rita Joe à la flûte dans l’une des pièces maîtresses de notre projet Réflexions sur la vie.

Entendre Tanya Tagaq interpréter Qiksaaktuq est une expérience hors du commun. Cette pièce, qui tire son nom du mot « deuil » en inuktitut, est dédiée aux femmes et filles autochtones disparues et assassinées ainsi qu’à leurs proches. Dans une prestation particulièrement poignante, Tanya nous fait vivre les émotions associées au processus du deuil. Cette pièce possède une dimension viscérale et la prestation de mars 2019 a laissé une marque indélébile sur les auditeurs comme les interprètes. Cette expérience demeurera avec vous longtemps après en avoir écouté l’enregistrement.

LE LOUP DE LAFONTAINE : GUIDE D’ÉCOUTE D’IAN CUSSON

Le loup de Lafontaine est une œuvre pour la danse s’inspirant d’un récit qui se situe à mi-chemin entre la légende et l’histoire réelle, et se déroule en 1902 dans le petit village francophone de Lafontaine, en Ontario. Ce récit édifiant nous parle d’une communauté multiculturelle, mais divisée, où un loup solitaire fait des ravages.

Sis sur les rives de la baie Georgienne, Lafontaine est depuis longtemps un lieu où différents peuples se rencontrent. Au moment du récit, divers groupes de colons et d’Autochtones y vivent ensemble, mais sans se mêler. Ils se méfient profondément les uns des autres.

Ce n’est que lorsqu’un loup — un étranger — s’installe dans les parages que les villageois surmontent leurs différends et s’unissent pour chasser l’intrus.

Dans ce récit, le loup devient un symbole pour la communauté : c’est celui qui met à l’épreuve toutes les peurs, rivalités et haines qui la divisent. Il est l’étranger craint et honni dont l’expulsion restaurera l’unité au village. 

Le loup est le bouc émissaire par excellence. Il sera chassé et tué. La communauté réussit à se débarrasser de l’intrus et à se réconcilier, mais à quel prix ?

SYNOPSIS

[0:0] Un soir au début du printemps dans le petit village de Lafontaine, sur les rives de la baie Georgienne. L’endroit est depuis longtemps un lieu de rencontre entre les peuples. En 1902, plusieurs groupes y cohabitent — Métis, Ojibwés et colons francophones divers —, mais la méfiance règne.

Première scène  

[2:26] À la taverne, les villageois chantent et dansent. Lorsque Joseph Lortie bute dans son ivresse contre le métis François Labatte, celui-ci s’emporte contre le Canadien français et ses semblables. Joseph lance alors un défi à François : un duel où chacun dansera pour l’honneur de son peuple.

[3:39] Les Métis accordent leurs violons. François et sa femme dansent.

[4:52] Joseph se dirige en titubant vers le milieu de la pièce pour commencer sa danse. Tenant à peine debout, il tombe par terre. Ses amis l’aident à se relever, et un jeune Canadien français vient prendre la relève.

[7:10] Alors qu’une bagarre est sur le point d’éclater, les gens se figent en entendant un loup hurler. Si un loup rôde aux alentours, c’est qu’il est à la recherche d’une proie. Pris de panique, tous se précipitent dehors.

Deuxième scène

[7:45] Un restant de brume s’attarde au-dessus d’un champ désert, au petit matin. Le loup surgit de nulle part.

[9:10] Il avance prudemment, timidement.

[10:16] Un papillon apparaît. Le loup le chasse. Un oiseau lance un appel au loin. Curieux, il lui répond. Le papillon revient et joue avec le loup ; ils s’élancent ensemble dans le champ.

[11:06] Le loup s’arrête brusquement en tombant face à face avec une fillette. Elle s’approche de l’animal. Très doucement, celui-ci s’approche à son tour.

[11:52] Les deux nouveaux amis jouent ensemble : une danse mystique. Ils dansent encore et encore jusqu’à ce qu’ils tombent d’épuisement et s’endorment dans le champ.

[14:58] La fillette et le loup se réveillent au son du tapage que font les villageois enragés. Le loup disparaît avant qu’on ne l’attrape.  

Troisième scène

[15:55] La peur du loup est à son paroxysme. L’ensemble du village retient son souffle.  

[17:10] Les villageois, Français, Métis et Ojibwés, se réunissent. Il faut tuer le loup. Mettant de côté leurs différends, ils décident de le chasser ensemble.

[17:20] Un premier groupe de chasseurs se lance à la poursuite du loup, mais sans succès.

Un deuxième groupe tente de faire mieux. Les tirs ratent la cible.

[18:26] Le borgne Théophile Brunelle vise, tire et manque son coup. Il recommence en vain. En une dernière tentative, il pointe son arme vers l’extrémité du champ, ferme son bon œil et tire. La balle atteint l’animal.

[18:58] Le loup claudique péniblement jusque dans les bois, et meurt.

[20:42] Des animaux, ses compagnons des bois, essaient de le réveiller avant l’arrivée des chasseurs.

[21:03] Les chasseurs trouvent leur ennemi inanimé et le traînent jusqu’à la place publique du village. Ils suspendent son cadavre devant l’église. Les villageois se réjouissent.

[21:45] Se frayant un chemin parmi la foule, la fillette arrive sur la place publique et voit son ami inanimé. 

[22:41] Les cloches de l’église sonnent, appelant les villageois, qui entrent dans la maison de Dieu. Un cantique s’élève à l’intérieur pour la messe célébrant la mort du loup. Toute seule à l’extérieur, la fillette sanglote.

Ne manquez jamais une livraison

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d'envoi!
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

Menu