November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
This event ended on: Oct 31, 2020

Solace

with the NAC Orchestra

Music Classical music
  • NAC Orchestra

  Saturday, October 31, 2020, 8:00 pm EDT   90 minutes with no intermission.

GEORGE WALKER Lyric for Strings JESSIE MONTGOMERY Starburst Jacques Hétu Concerto for Guitar and Strings (Christ Habib, guitar) SAMUEL BARBER Knoxville: Summer of 1915 (Jonelle Sills, soprano) CARLOS SIMON Portrait of a Queen (Jonelle Sills, narrator) Jocelyn Morlock Solace (Yosuke Kawasaki, violin; Julia MacLaine, cello)

Original broadcast date: Saturday October 31, 2020

The NAC Orchestra makes a triumphant return to Southam Hall!

This livestream concert heralds a new era for NACO, throwing wide open the doors of the orchestra experience. We offer you music for reflection, contemplation and celebration.

The concert opens in a quiet and prayer-like fashion with George Walker’s Lyric for Strings. It was originally titled Lament, and composed in 1946 when the composer was only 24 years old. Walker was the first Black American composer to win the Pulitzer and his incredible artistry seems as relevant now as when it was first written.

After offering somber thought to what the world has experienced in 2020, we then explode into an expression of hope, drive and ambition with Jessie Montgomery’s Starburst. It’s fast, extroverted and bright, just as its title denotes. This piece was originally commissioned by the Sphinx Organization, a crucial organization dedicated to transforming lives through the power of diversity in the arts.

Our first soloist is classical guitarist Christ Habib who chose to perform Jacques Hétu’s Concerto for Guitar and Strings – championing this Quebecer’s work, which Christ feels should be part of the guitar’s standard repertoire.

Next, Samuel Barber’s Knoxville: Summer of 1915. Hand-picked by soprano Jonelle Sills, this lyrical piece, with its free-form, childlike impressions of the sounds of a small town summer evening, is a beautiful and poignant musical statement. Jonelle heard it first when studying at the Glenn Gould School, and leapt at the chance to perform it for us.

Jonelle also narrates Carlos Simon’s Portrait of a Queen. It weaves tales of Black women from royalty in Africa, via slavery, Jim Crow laws, and church matriarchy. The narrative is written by the composer’s friend Courtney Ware, who explains: “Although Queen represents black womanhood in America and in Africa, she is not one dimensional. Her story is a mixture of pain and struggle, hope and triumph.” You can learn more here.

The concert closes with a contemplative and quiet piece intended to offer Solace to us listening. JUNO Award-winning composer Jocelyn Morlock wrote this piece with beautiful solos by two of our brilliant orchestra members: Yosuke Kawasaki on violin and Julia MacLaine on cello.

Jocelyn says:

“In my first year of university, having made a sudden jump away from a planned career in sciences and towards composition, I heard all kinds of music that I’d never known existed before. It was thrilling, like seeing a new colour for the first time. In particular, the profound joy and beauty of Josquin’s Missa L’Homme Armé is what inspired me to write my piece, Solace, some years later.

“Unlike most string orchestra works, "Solace" requires the group to be divided into three smaller sub-ensembles:

1. the "early music" ensemble, consisting of two violins, two violas, cello and double bass, playing music that is partially derived from the Agnus Dei of Josquin's L'Homme Arme (sexti toni) Mass.

2. the more ethereal sounding group of five violins, positioned above the rest of the ensemble, playing very long, slow harmonics.”

3. the violin and cello soloists, whose music is meant to be a response to that of the "early music" ensemble.”

CREDITS

Sound Producer: Carl Talbot, Productions Musicom

Sound Engineer: Charles Gagnon 

Video Director & Live Switcher: Ian Cameron

Musical Assistant: Jonathan Patterson

Camera: Matthew Cameron, Jonathan Durand, Sharif Mirshak

Editors: Nick Jewell, Ian Cameron

Drone Pilot: Liam Olders

Thanks to CFM Local 180 and IATSE Local 471

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de novembre 2020.
Cet événement s’est terminé le samedi, 31 octobre 2020

Doux réconfort

avec l’Orchestre du CNA

Musique Musique classique
  • l'Orchestre du CNA

 

GEORGE WALKER Lyric for Strings JESSIE MONTGOMERY Starburst Jacques Hétu Concerto pour guitare et orchestre à cordes (Christ Habib, guitare) SAMUEL BARBER Knoxville: Summer of 1915 (Jonelle Sills, soprano) CARLOS SIMON Portrait of a Queen (Jonelle Sills, narratrice) Jocelyn Morlock Solace (Yosuke Kawasaki, violon; Julia MacLaine, violoncelle)

Date de diffusion originale : samedi 31 octobre 2020

Le retour grandiose de l’Orchestre du CNA dans la Salle Southam !

Ce concert marque le début d’une nouvelle ère. Les portes de l’orchestre sont maintenant grandes ouvertes. Nous vous proposons une musique portant à réfléchir, à contempler et à célébrer.

Le concert s’ouvre de façon calme et introspective avec Lyric for Strings de George Walker. Cette œuvre a été écrite en 1946 et s’intitulait alors Lament. À l’époque, Walker n’avait que 24 ans. Il est le premier compositeur afro-américain gagnant d’un prix Pulitzer. Son talent artistique demeure toujours autant d’actualité.

Cette sombre réflexion sur 2020 précède une explosion d’espoir, de dynamise et d’ambition grâce à Starburst de Jessie Montgomery. À l’image de son titre, cette œuvre est rapide, extravertie et brillante. Elle a été commandée par la Sphinx Organization, un organisme phare souhaitant changer des vies par le biais de la diversité en arts.

Notre premier soliste, Christ Habib, a choisi d’interpréter le Concerto pour guitare et orchestre à cordes de Jacques Hétu. Christ soutient que cette œuvre québécoise devrait faire partie du répertoire des guitaristes classiques.

Vous entendrez ensuite Knoxville : Summer of 1915 de Samuel Barber. Cette œuvre lyrique de forme libre a été choisie par la soprano Jonelle Sills. Ce témoignage musical beau et poignant évoque, dans une perspective enfantine, l’environnement sonore d’une soirée d’été dans une petite ville. Jonelle l’a entendue pour la première fois à l’école Glenn Gould. Elle a saisi la chance de nous l’interpréter.

Jonelle narrera aussi Portrait of a Queen de Carlos Simon. Cette œuvre raconte l’histoire des femmes noires de la royauté africaine par l’entremise de l’esclavage, de Jim Crow et de l’église matriarcale. Le texte a été écrit par une amie du compositeur, Courtney Ware. Elle affirme : « Même si la Reine représente les femmes noires en Amérique et en Afrique, elle prend plusieurs dimensions. Son histoire est un mélange de douleur, de difficultés, d’espoir et de triomphe ». Pour plus de détails : cliquez ici.

Nous terminons avec une musique contemplative, calme et réconfortante (Solace). Cette œuvre de Jocelyn Morlock, lauréate de prix JUNO, contient de magnifiques solos interprétés par deux membres de notre merveilleux orchestre : Yosuke Kawasaki (violon) et Julia MacLaine (violoncelle).

À propos de cette œuvre, Jocelyn affirme :

« Dans ma première année d’université, j’ai abandonné mon programme en sciences pour aller vers la composition. J’ai entendu toutes sortes de musiques que je ne connaissais pas. C’était fascinant, comme si je découvrais des couleurs. La joie et la beauté profondes de la Missa L’Homme Armé de Josquin m’ont inspirée pour Solace.

« Contrairement à la plupart des œuvres pour orchestre à cordes, Solace demande à ce que l’ensemble soit divisé en trois sous-groupes :

  1. L’ensemble de “musique ancienne” est constitué de deux violons, deux altos, d’un violoncelle et d’une contrebasse. La musique provient en partie de l’“Agnus Dei” de la Missa L’Homme Armé de Josquin.
  2. La musique céleste est jouée par cinq violons placés au-dessus du reste de l’ensemble. Ils jouent des harmoniques longs et lents.
  3. La musique du violon et du violoncelle solos est en réponse à l’ensemble de “musique ancienne”. »

CRÉDITS

Réalisateur, son : Carl Talbot, Productions Musicom

Ingénieur du son : Charles Gagnon 

Réalisateur et aiguilleur : Ian Cameron

Assistant à la musique : Jonathan Patterson

Caméramans : Matthew Cameron, Jonathan Durand, Sharif Mirshak

Éditeur vidéo : Nick Jewell, Ian Cameron

Pilote de drone : Liam Olders

Merci au chapitre 180 de la FCM et au chapitre 471 de l’AIEST.

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacle Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu