Solace

with the NAC Orchestra

2020-10-31 20:00 2020-10-31 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Solace

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/27450

NAC Livestream

Original broadcast date: Saturday October 31, 2020 The NAC Orchestra makes a triumphant return to Southam Hall! This livestream concert heralds a new era for NACO, throwing wide open the doors of the orchestra experience. We offer you music for reflection, contemplation and celebration. The concert opens in a quiet and prayer-like fashion with George Walker’s Lyric for Strings. It was originally titled Lament, and composed in 1946 when the composer was only 24 years old. Walker was the...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, October 31, 2020
8 PM EDT
NAC Livestream

≈ 90 minutes · No intermission

Our programs have gone digital.

Scan the QR code at the venue's entrance to read the program notes before the show begins.

Repertoire

GEORGE WALKER

Lyric for Strings

JESSIE MONTGOMERY

Starburst

Jacques Hétu

Concerto for Guitar and Strings (Christ Habib, guitar)

Samuel Barber

Knoxville: Summer of 1915 (Jonelle Sills, soprano)

Commissioned by the American soprano Eleanor Steber, Knoxville: Summer of 1915 is a “lyric rhapsody” by Samuel Barber. Steber premiered the work in 1949, with the Boston Symphony Orchestra conducted by Serge Koussevitsky. The text is from an autobiographical prose poem by James Agee (1909–1955) and is a nostalgic reflection on a childhood summer in Knoxville, the year before his father’s death. Barber closely identified with the poem, who noted that it “particularly struck me because the summer evening he describes in his native southern town reminded me so much of similar evenings, when I was a child at home.” Moreover, it resonated with his experience of the long illness and subsequent death in August 1947 of his own father, to whom he dedicated this work.

Barber used a third of Agee’s original poem, specifically choosing the closing paragraphs, which “I put it into lines to make the rhythmic pattern clear.” Musically, as musicologist Benedict Taylor has aptly described, the “nostalgia and wistful tone of Agee’s poem is translated into Barber’s music by several markers for childhood, past time, and musical nostalgia.” These elements include a recurring lullaby refrain and a simple, folk song–like vocal line. The diverse timbres of the orchestra’s instruments vividly evoke the various sights and sounds described in the poem. To guide listening, the text is provided in full below with brief commentary on the music.

The introduction, with the sounds of the English horn, clarinet, bassoon, and harp create a pastoral setting, conjuring up a simpler time and place. The voice enters, with the words on the primary lullaby theme, and gentle, rocking accompaniment.

It has become that time of evening when people sit on their porches, rocking gently and talking gently and watching the street and the standing up into their sphere of possession of the trees, of birds' hung havens, hangars. People go by; things go by. A horse, drawing a buggy, breaking his hollow iron music on the asphalt: a loud auto: a quiet auto: people in pairs, not in a hurry, scuffling, switching their weight of aestival body, talking casually, the taste hovering over them of vanilla, strawberry, pasteboard, and starched milk, the image upon them of lovers and horsemen, squared with clowns in hueless amber.

An urgent episode disrupts the reverie with the noise and bustle of daily urban life, here represented by the sounds of a streetcar, emulated by staccato woodwinds and plucked strings, among other effects.

A streetcar raising into iron moan; stopping; belling and starting; stertorous; rousing and raising again its iron increasing moan and swimming its gold windows and straw seats on past and past and past, the bleak spark crackling and cursing above it like a small malignant spirit set to dog its tracks; the iron whine rises on rising speed; still risen, faints; halts; the faint stinging bell; rises again, still fainter; fainting, lifting, lifts, faints foregone: forgotten.

Another brief episode follows, that, with muted strings, has a wistful, magical quality, as the voice tenderly recalls this memory:

Now is the night one blue dew, my father has drained, he has coiled the hose.
Low on the length of lawns, a frailing of fire who breathes…

It then sinks back into the lullaby refrain.

Parents on porches: rock and rock. From damp strings morning glories hang their ancient faces.
The dry and exalted noise of the locusts from all the air at once enchants my eardrums.

The third episode introduces a new melodic motif, and the music becomes somewhat unsettled and intensifies—through wide leaps in the violins and the infusion of more chromatic harmonies—as the voice contemplates “their people” around them and the ephemerality of life.

On the rough wet grass of the backyard my father and mother have spread quilts. We all lie there, my mother, my father, my uncle, my aunt, and I too am lying there. … They are not talking much, and the talk is quiet, of nothing in particular, of nothing at all. The stars are wide and alive, they all seem like a smile of great sweetness, and they seem very near. All my people are larger bodies than mine, … with voices gentle and meaningless like the voices of sleeping birds. One is an artist, he is living at home. One is a musician, she is living at home. One is my mother who is good to me. One is my father who is good to me. By some chance, here they are, all on this earth; and who shall ever tell the sorrow of being on this earth, lying, on quilts, on the grass, in a summer evening, among the sounds of the night.

The pastoral music from the introduction returns; the voice intones an impassioned prayer, to which the orchestra responds with an intense climax.

May God bless my people, my uncle, my aunt, my mother, my good father, oh, remember them kindly in their time of trouble; and in the hour of their taking away.

For one last time, the lullaby returns. On the final words, which, in Barber’s view, “expresses a child’s feeling of loneliness, wonder, and a lack of identity in that marginal world between twilight and sleep,” the voice soars to ethereal heights above the orchestra.

After a little I am taken in and put to bed. Sleep, soft smiling, draws me unto her: and those receive me, who quietly treat me, as one familiar and well-beloved in that home: but will not, oh, will not, not now, not ever; but will not ever tell me who I am.

On the lullaby’s rocking motif, the orchestra draws the rhapsody to a reflective close.

 

Knoxville: Summer of 1915 Libretto (PDF 188.91 KB)

Carlos Simon

Portrait of a Queen (Jonelle Sills, narrator)

Portrait of a Queen Narrative (PDF 107.8 KB)

Jocelyn Morlock

Solace (Yosuke Kawasaki, violin; Julia MacLaine, cello)

Artists

  • Composer George Walker
  • montgomery-jessie-copy
    Composer Jessie Montgomery
  • Composer Jacques Hétu
  • Guitar Christ Habib
  • Composer Samuel Barber
  • sills-jonelle-copy
    Soprano Jonelle Sills
  • simon-carlos-2
    Composer Carlos Simon
  • jocelynmorlock-bio
    Composer Jocelyn Morlock
  • Violin Yosuke Kawasaki
  • julia-maclaine-2
    Cello Julia MacLaine
  • bio-orchestra
    Orchestra National Arts Centre Orchestra
  • dscf9130-curtis-perry-2-cropped
    Conductor Alexander Shelley

Doux réconfort

avec l’Orchestre du CNA

2020-10-31 20:00 2020-10-31 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Doux réconfort

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/27450

CNA en direct

Date de diffusion originale : samedi 31 octobre 2020 Le retour grandiose de l’Orchestre du CNA dans la Salle Southam ! Ce concert marque le début d’une nouvelle ère. Les portes de l’orchestre sont maintenant grandes ouvertes. Nous vous proposons une musique portant à réfléchir, à contempler et à célébrer. Le concert s’ouvre de façon calme et introspective avec Lyric for Strings de George...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 31 octobre 2020
20 h HNE
Diffusion en direct

≈ 90 minutes · Sans entracte

Répertoire

GEORGE WALKER

Lyric for Strings

JESSIE MONTGOMERY

Starburst

Jacques Hétu

Concerto pour guitare et orchestre à cordes (Christ Habib, guitare)

SAMUEL BARBER

Knoxville: Summer of 1915 (Jonelle Sills, soprano)

Fruit d’une commande de la soprano américaine Eleanor Steber, Knoxville: Summer of 1915 est une « rhapsodie lyrique » de Samuel Barber. Steber a créé l’œuvre en 1949, avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Boston dirigé par Serge Koussevitsky. Le texte, tiré d’un poème autobiographique en prose de James Agee (1909-1955), constitue une réflexion nostalgique sur un été d’enfance à Knoxville, l’année précédant la mort de son père. Barber s’est étroitement identifié au poème, notant : « Il m’a particulièrement frappé parce que la soirée d’été qu’il décrit dans sa ville natale du Sud m’a tellement rappelé des soirées semblables de mon enfance. » De plus, le texte faisait écho à son expérience de la longue maladie et de la mort subséquente, en août 1947, de son propre père, à qui il a dédié cette œuvre.

Barber a utilisé un tiers du poème original d’Agee, choisissant spécifiquement les derniers paragraphes, qu’il a « placés en lignes pour que le schéma rythmique soit clair ». Sur le plan musical, comme le musicologue Benedict Taylor l’a décrit avec justesse, « la nostalgie et le ton mélancolique du poème d’Agee se traduisent dans la musique de Barber par plusieurs marqueurs de l’enfance, du temps passé et de la nostalgie musicale ». Ces éléments comprennent un refrain récurrent de berceuse et une ligne vocale simple, évoquant une chanson folklorique. Les différents timbres des instruments de l’orchestre évoquent avec vivacité les divers sons et images décrits dans le poème. Pour vous guider dans l’audition de l’œuvre, une version française du texte intégral est reproduite ci-dessous, avec un bref commentaire sur la musique.

L’introduction, avec les sons du cor anglais, de la clarinette, du basson et de la harpe, crée un cadre pastoral, évoquant une époque et un lieu d’innocence. La voix fait son entrée, réglant les mots sur le thème principal de la berceuse, avec un accompagnement doux et apaisant.

Voici le moment du soir où les gens s’assoient sur leur porche, se berçant doucement, parlant tout bas, observant la rue et laissant entrer dans leur bulle les grands arbres dressés, refuges d’oiseaux perchés, hangars. Les gens passent; les choses passent. Un cheval, tirant un buggy, fait éclater le son caverneux d’une musique métallique sur l’asphalte : une voiture bruyante : une voiture silencieuse : des gens par deux, pas pressés, qui se chamaillent, transfèrent le poids de leur corps estival, parlent avec désinvolture, tandis que planent au-dessus d’eux des parfums de vanille, de fraise, de carton-pâte et de lait d’amidon, et se superpose à eux l’image d’amoureux et de cavaliers, semblables à des clowns dans de l’ambre incolore.

Un épisode empreint d’urgence vient interrompre la rêverie par l’irruption du bruit et de l’agitation de la vie urbaine, représentée ici par les sons d'un tramway, émulés par des vents joués en staccato et des cordes pincées, entre autres effets.

Un grincement métallique s’élève d’un tramway; il s’arrête; carillonne et repart; souffle bruyamment; fait entendre à nouveau son cri métallique, de plus en plus fort, tournant ses fenêtres dorées et ses sièges de paille vers le passé, le passé et encore le passé, une étincelle lugubre crépitant et jurant par-dessus lui comme un esprit malin qui se lance sur ses traces; le grincement métallique monte de plus en plus vite; toujours aigu, s’évanouit; s’interrompt; la cloche tinte faiblement; s’élève à nouveau, plus faible  encore; s’évanouit, s’élève, s’évanouit, s’élève, s’efface : oublié.

Suit un épisode bref qui, avec les cordes en sourdine, présente un caractère magique et mélancolique, alors que la voix évoque tendrement ce souvenir :

Voici maintenant la nuit de la rosée bleue, mon père a drainé, il a enroulé le tuyau.
Bas le long des pelouses, un feu follet respire…

La musique retombe ensuite dans le refrain de la berceuse.

Les parents sur les porches se bercent et se bercent. Suspendues à des fils humides, les belles-de-jour montrent leurs visages de vieilles.
Le bruit sec et exalté des sauterelles remplissant tout l’air à la fois ravit mes tympans.

Le troisième épisode introduit un nouveau motif mélodique, et la musique se trouble quelque peu et s’intensifie – par de grands sauts dans les violons et l’infusion d’harmonies plus chromatiques – tandis que la voix contemple « son monde » qui l’entoure et la brièveté de la vie.

Sur l’herbe rêche et humide de la cour, mon père et ma mère ont étendu des courtepointes. Nous sommes tous allongés là, ma mère, mon père, mon oncle, ma tante, et moi aussi, je suis allongé là. […] Ils ne parlent pas beaucoup, avec le plus grand calme, et de rien en particulier, de rien du tout. Les étoiles sont grosses et vivantes, toutes semblables à un sourire d’une grande douceur, et elles ont l’air très proches. Tout mon monde a des corps plus grands que le mien, […] avec des voix douces et anodines comme celles d’oiseaux endormis. L’un est un artiste, il vit à la maison. L’une est musicienne, elle vit à la maison. L’une est ma mère qui est bonne pour moi. L’un est mon père qui est bon pour moi. Par bonheur, ils sont tous là, sur cette terre; et qui dira jamais le chagrin d’être sur cette terre, allongés sur des courtepointes, dans l’herbe, un soir d’été, parmi les sons de la nuit.

La musique pastorale de l’introduction revient; la voix entonne une prière passionnée, à laquelle l'orchestre répond en atteignant un intense paroxysme.

Que Dieu bénisse mon monde, mon oncle, ma tante, ma mère, mon bon père, oh, souviens-toi d’eux avec bonté au moment de leur détresse, et à l’heure de leur disparition.

La berceuse se fait entendre à nouveau, pour la dernière fois. Sur les derniers mots, qui, selon Barber, « expriment le sentiment de solitude, d’émerveillement et de manque d’identité d’un enfant dans cet intervalle entre le crépuscule et le sommeil », la voix s’élève à des hauteurs éthérées au-dessus de l’orchestre.

Au bout d’un moment, on me prend et on me met au lit. Le sommeil, doux et souriant, m’attire à lui : et je suis reçu, traité avec douceur, comme un être familier et bien-aimé dans cette maison; mais ils ne veulent pas, oh, ne veulent pas, ni maintenant, ni jamais, ne voudront pas me dire qui je suis.

Sur le motif chaloupé de la berceuse, l’orchestre amène la rhapsodie à sa méditative conclusion.

 Libretto pour Knoxville: Summer of 1915 (PDF 188,91 KB)

Carlos Simon

Portrait of a Queen (Jonelle Sills, narratrice)

Récit pour Portrait of a Queen (PDF 107,8 KB)

Jocelyn Morlock

Solace (Yosuke Kawasaki, violon; Julia MacLaine, violoncelle)

Menu