NAC French Theatre

2017-2018 SEASON

Mélanie DUMONT Associate artistic director, Enfance/jeunesse

Finding the light

Theatre is not separate from our everyday world. It is, as much as possible, an integral part of it.

At a time when the limits of the unthinkable are being pushed back at dizzying speed, leaving us uncertain and unsteady, the need for illuminating theatre is more pressing than ever. Immersed in planning this new season, eagerly anticipating our return home after a year on the move, I hoped THAT OUR THEATRE WOULD SHINE BRIGHT, LIKE A BEACON IN THE DISTANCE; that here in the city, amid the busy streets and bustling crowds, it would be a central point, a place to pause and gather strength and courage, warmth and momentum.

Beacon–theatre. Precisely! And we can already begin to visualize it, thanks to the artists who, by participating in our season, will add their creative fire to its brilliance. Bonfires, bushfires, fireworks ... Creators, too, are looking for ways to meet the urgent need to rekindle hope, spark the imagination, make way for invention, forge new connections, envision the future. So there will be exploration, movement, possibility. Bursts of laughter and poetry crafted on the spot, out of practically nothing. Investigations of the unlikely, and a fantasy featuring the spikes, fur and feathers of a fabulous bestiary. There will be singing on stage, and dancing too, to get you in the groove!

Let’s embrace this beacon–theatre, this vibrant life, these eager and sensitive souls who forge courageously ahead, who defy history in order to reinvent it, who paint with mud or talk to the birds, when they’re not conversing with a barking egg. So that the light flickering deep within, at the core of the treasure that is childhood, may shine out and illuminate our world.

Menu

Théâtre français du CNA

SAISON 2017-2018

Illustration : Julie Charland

Mélanie DUMONT Directrice artistique associée, volet Enfance/jeunesse

Chercher la lumière

Le théâtre n’est pas un lieu hors du monde. Il s’y inscrit, autant que possible.

Mais alors que les limites de l’inconcevable sont repoussées de manière sidérante, faisant vaciller le sol sous nos pieds, la nécessité d’un théâtre plus lumineux que jamais s’impose. Plongée dans l’élaboration de cette nouvelle saison, avec le retour au bercail en tête, après une année en cavale, j’ai souhaité QUE LE THÉÂTRE BRASILLE AUSSI VIVEMENT QU’UN PHARE AU LOIN. Qu’il incarne dans la ville, au carrefour de ses artères et des foules affairées, un endroit cardinal où se poser et venir puiser force et courage, chaleur et élan.

Un théâtre-fanal. Oui, voilà ! Et nous pouvons déjà commencer à en rêver grâce aux artistes qui l’investiront pour l’alimenter de leur feu. Feu de joie, feu de Bengale, feu follet. Créatrices et créateurs cherchent aussi à répondre au besoin pressant de rescaper l’espoir, de vivifier les imaginaires, de donner une chance à l’invention, de défricher des chemins vers l’autre, de penser l’avenir. Il y aura donc des quêtes, du mouvement, des possibles. Des rires qui éclatent et une poésie qui se fabrique dans l’instant, avec presque rien. Des jeux avec l’improbable et une fantaisie où s’invitent les piques, les plumes et les poils d’un prodigieux bestiaire. Et on chantera sur scène. Et on dansera aussi, la musique dans les jambes.

Collons-nous à ce théâtre-fanal, à cette vie qui bat, à ces cœurs emballés et tendres qui traversent des forêts comme des frontières, qui défient l’histoire pour la réinventer, qui peignent avec de la boue ou dialoguent avec les oiseaux, quand ce n’est pas avec un œuf qui jappe. Pour que la lumière emmagasinée là, au creux du trésor qu’est l’enfance, étoile le monde présent.

Menu