About the NAC French Theatre

The direction of the Théâtre français is entrusted to artists renowned for their remarkable professional careers, creative drive and contributions to the promotion of the arts. 

The Théâtre français… 

… is a place for artistic freedom.

Where artists get support and resources to reach their dreams.

… supports promising artistic projects.

The TF serves as a springboard for performances presented in its venue. The TF sees its role as a driving force, a catalyst, a stimulus for artists from Quebec and from French-speaking regions all across Canada.

… contributes to developing works of theatre.

These works make their début at the NAC and, insofar as possible, helps promote presentations of such plays abroad.

… actively supports new works.

We are lucky to have in Quebec and in French Canada a rich, diverse, intense and ongoing cultural scene. 

… places great importance on programming for children and adolescents.

Young spectators are viewed as an audience in their own right, in all their intelligence, verve, vigour and sensitivity, and the TF presents them with artists and wide-ranging works that are rich in meaning and sensations, each one outdoing the other in daring and invention.

… works to create a relationship to art that extends beyond the performance itself.

The TF wants to enrich the artistic experience of its audience, regardless of their age. Through various activities and initiatives, the team enlightens spectators as to the artistic approach and creative process of featured artists, helping to broaden and deepen their encounters with the works presented.

… brings Canadian audiences into contact with exceptional works of art from other countries.

Hosting foreign works bring new and stimulating perspectives, forms and ideas to the Canadian stage.

… is a focal point for the French-speaking community and a source of delight for Francophiles.

The TF is a dedicated defender of the French language which is viewed as an essential expression of  cultural identity. 

The French Theatre under the direction of Brigitte Haentjens

Under the direction of Brigitte Haentjens, the theatre reaches out to its audience with a program of plays remarkably diverse in form and in emotional response. Each season features works rich in writing, highly original styles and brilliant stagings, presented by committed artists who speak their minds, who charm, provoke or deeply touch the spectator, but who leave no one indifferent.

Brigitte Haentjens supports emerging artists who deserve access to major stages both here and elsewhere. 

Youth Programming under the direction of Mélanie Dumont

Mélanie Dumont seeks to cultivate the curiosity and imaginations of children by promoting the pleasure of discovery and the unexpected. The emphasis is thus on supporting the development and effervescence of singular voices in the theatre for young audiences (TYA) sphere. This is achieved by presenting works that surprise due to their atypical form or structure, and by supporting emerging artists, some of whom are making their first foray into the TYA scene.

Adolescents also receive special attention at the Théâtre français. The challenge is to create for this group a different rapport to theatre and to the NAC, a place they are familiar with because of school outings, and to give them a significant experience that goes beyond “consumption” of a performance.

Thus, regardless of the spectator’s age, the entire youth audience is taken seriously. Shows, projects and related activities reflect trust in the curiosity, insight and creativity of young spectators. The idea of audacious, inventive theatre that is constantly rejuvenated and that allows them to explore and rediscover reality, is the concept guiding our choices and actions. 

More than just a play

  • Post-show talkbacks

    The Thursday evening performance has just ended and the air is still electric with emotion. Moments later, the actors return to the stage for a 30-minute Q&A with the audience. Host: Catherine Voyer-Léger.

    On Saturday afternoons, children and their adults are invited to stay after the matinee performance for a 20‑minute “meet and greet” with the creators of the show they’ve just seen. Host: Mélanie Dumont.

  • Complementary activities

    To enrich your theatre experience, French Theatre organizes various activities throughout the season to complement the plays being presented: discussions, round tables, lectures, workshops, pre-show activities for children (arts and crafts, reading corner), and more. Don’t miss out: sign up for our e-newsletter at cna-nac.ca/infolettre.

  • Club des Y

    The Club des Y is a cultural outreach initiative designed to introduce 10 interested “Gen Y” members (ages 20 to 35) to the many aspects of theatre. During their journey of discovery, participants attend French Theatre plays, chat with the artists, and meet members of the arts community. Do you know someone who’d like to join this adventure? Invite them to apply for membership in the Club des Y by sending a photo and a short covering letter to theatrefrancais@cna-nac.ca, to the attention of Guy Warin. Application deadline: September 6, 2016.

  • De plain-pied evenings

    Teens are invited to two boisterous evenings that combine the best of a creative workshop and a party. Be prepared for hustle and bustle, challenges and new encounters! Friday, December 9 and Friday, March 17 at 7:30 p.m. at the NAC. For ages 14+. Free. Places are limited. For information, contact Véronique Lavoie-Marcus: veronique.marcus@cna-nac.ca.

  • Cahiers du Théâtre français

    In the Cahiers du Théâtre français, you’ll discover a wide range of content (interviews, essays, letters, personal accounts, etc.) related to the particular themes and characteristics of the plays in our season. Anything goes: you can browse at leisure, skip a section, read the last part first … Pick up a copy of the next issue, Cahier Neuf, in the fall. You can also access digital copies of past issues on French Theatre’s welcome page: cna-nac.ca/tf.

  • House programs

    For every show in the season, French Theatre produces a house program containing information about the play and the creative team, and articles by some of the featured artists. The program is handed out to audience members before every performance; a digital version is also posted in advance on the show page on our website.

  • Podcasts

    French Theatre produces a series of podcasts of our featured artists discussing their practice, presenting their work and sharing anecdotes in an informal setting. The artists are interviewed by ICI Radio-Canada Première reporter and podcast producer Julien Morissette. Find out more at cna-nac.ca/balados.

  • Comments

    To reach French Theatre or provide feedback about a performance, please contact Guy Warin at 613-947-7000, ext. 581 or guy.warin@cna-nac.ca.

NAC French Theatre Team

Marketing and Communications Team

Menu

Le Théâtre français du CNA

La direction du Théâtre français est confiée à des artistes reconnus pour leur parcours artistique remarquable, leur dynamisme et pour leur contribution à l’avancement de la discipline. 

Le Théâtre français… 

…est un lieu de liberté artistique.

Où les artistes reçoivent le soutien et les ressources pour aller au bout de leurs rêves.

…soutient les démarches artistiques prometteuses.

Le Tf se veut un tremplin pour les spectacles à l’affiche de sa programmation. Il se veut propulseur, catalyseur, déclencheur, et ce tant auprès des artistes québécois que dans la francophonie canadienne.

…contribue au développement d’œuvres théâtrales.

Ces œuvres sont d’emblée diffusées au CNA et, dans la mesure du possible, le Tf en favorise le rayonnement.

…appuie tout spécialement la création.

Nous avons la chance, au Canada français et au Québec d’avoir une activité de création foisonnante, intense, et continue.  

…accorde une très grande importance à l’enfance et à la jeunesse.

Pour le Tf, les jeunes spectateurs sont considérés à part entière, dans leur intelligence, leur vivacité et leur sensibilité, grâce notamment à l’accueil d’artistes et à la présentation d’œuvres multiformes, riches de sens et de sensations, rivalisant chacune à leur manière d’audace et d’invention. 

…travaille à créer une relation à l’art qui se déploie au-delà du spectacle comme tel.

Le Tf a le souci d’enrichir l’expérience artistique du spectateur, quel que soit son âge. Par différentes initiatives, l’équipe cherche à faire connaître les démarches et processus de création des artistes, de même qu’à prolonger et approfondir la rencontre avec les œuvres présentées. 

…permet la rencontre des auditoires canadiens avec des démarches artistiques d’exception provenant de l’étranger.

L’accueil d’artistes étrangers permet d’insuffler des perspectives, des formes et des idées nouvelles et stimulantes.

…rassemble la communauté francophone et ravit les francophiles.

Le Tf se veut un fort défenseur de la langue française qu’il considère comme un vecteur essentiel de culture et d’identité. 

Le Théâtre français sous la direction de Brigitte Haentjens

Sous la direction de Brigitte Haentjens, le théâtre va à la rencontre du public avec une  programmation qui se distingue par la diversité des formes et des émotions qu’elle suscite. La programmation est riche d’écritures et de démarches originales, de mises en scène éclatées. Des paroles d’artistes, fortes, justes, qui charment, provoquent ou bouleversent, mais qui ne peuvent laisser indifférent.

Brigitte Haentjens entend notamment appuyer des artistes des générations montantes méritant un accès aux scènes majeures d’ici et d’ailleurs. 

Le volet enfance-jeunesse sous la direction de Mélanie Dumont

Mélanie Dumont a à cœur de cultiver la curiosité et l’imaginaire chez les enfants en favorisant le plaisir de la découverte et de l’inattendu. Il lui importe donc d’appuyer le développement et l’effervescence de voix singulières en théâtre jeune public. Cela peut se traduire par l’accueil de spectacles étonnants, voire atypiques au plan de la forme, ou par un appui à des artistes montants, dont c’est parfois une première incursion sur la scène jeune public.

Les adolescents font aussi l’objet d’une réflexion particulière au Théâtre français. Comment développer chez les jeunes un rapport différent au théâtre, de même qu’au CNA – lieu qu’ils fréquentent, s’ils le fréquentent, par le biais de l’école principalement. Comment leur faire une place significative, au-delà de la seule « consommation » d’un spectacle ?

Ainsi, peu importe l’âge des spectateurs, tous sont considérés avec sérieux. Les spectacles, les projets et les activités qui leur sont proposés témoignent d’ailleurs de cette confiance indéfectible en la curiosité, la perspicacité et la créativité des jeunes publics. L’idée d’un théâtre audacieux et inventif, qui se renouvelle sans cesse et qui permet d’explorer et de redécouvrir le réel, est celle qui guide nos choix et nos actions. 

Plus que du théâtre

  • Rencontres d’après-spectacle

    La représentation du jeudi soir vient tout juste de se terminer, les émotions flottent encore dans l’air, et voilà que reviennent sur scène les artistes pour échanger avec vous pendant trente minutes. Animation : Catherine Voyer-Léger.

    Après la représentation du samedi après-midi, ce sont les enfants et leurs parents qui ont le loisir de s’entretenir librement pendant une vingtaine de minutes avec l’équipe de création du spectacle auquel ils viennent d’assister. Animation : Mélanie Dumont

  • Activités complémentaires

    Pour enrichir votre expérience, le Théâtre français organise à quelques occasions au cours de la saison des activités en lien avec les spectacles à l’affiche : discussions, tables rondes, conférences, ateliers, activités d’avant-spectacle pour les enfants (bricolage et coin-lecture), etc. Pour ne rien manquer, inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre : cna-nac.ca/infolettre

  • Club des Y

    Le Club des Y est un projet de médiation culturelle permettant à dix néophytes en théâtre issus de la génération Y (qui ont entre 20 et 35 ans) d’explorer les multiples facettes de l’art théâtral sous forme de voyage initiatique. Au programme : découvertes de spectacles, échanges avec des artistes, rencontres avec des intervenants du milieu. Vous connaissez une personne qui serait enthousiasmée à l’idée de vivre cette aventure ? Invitez-la à s’inscrire au Club des Y en envoyant une photo et une courte lettre de motivation à theatrefrancais@cna-nac.ca, à l’attention de Guy Warin. Date limite : 6 septembre 2016 

  • Soirées De plain-pied

    Les adolescents sont conviés à deux rendez-vous turbulents, à mi-chemin entre l’atelier de création et la fête. En vue : remue-ménage, défis, nouvelles rencontres ! Les vendredis 9 décembre et 17 mars à 19 h 30, au CNA. 14 ans et +. Gratuit. Places limitées. Pour information, écrivez à Véronique Lavoie-Marcus : veronique.marcus@cna-nac.ca

  • Cahiers du Théâtre français

    Dans Les Cahiers du Théâtre français, découvrez des textes de formes diverses (entretiens, essais, lettres, témoignages, etc.) s’articulant autour des spectacles, en ce que chacun a de distinct et de particulier. Toutes les libertés sont permises, voire encouragées : bifurquer, sauter une section, revenir en arrière… Procurez-vous le prochain numéro – le Cahier Neuf – dès l’automne ou consultez les numéros précédents, à votre disposition sur la page d’accueil du Théâtre français : cna-nac.ca/tf

  • Programmes des spectacles

    Le Théâtre français conçoit, pour chacune des œuvres présentées, un programme qui renferme des renseignements sur le spectacle et des réflexions venant des artistes qui y ont donné naissance. Remis à tous les spectateurs à l’entrée de la salle, cette publication peut aussi être consultée d’avance sur chacune des pages de notre site Internet consacrées aux spectacles. 

  • Baladodiffusions

    Le Théâtre français reprend ses baladodiffusions, qui vous permettront d’entendre les artistes de la saison expliquer leur démarche, présenter leur création et raconter des anecdotes, le tout dans une atmosphère conviviale. Les échanges sont animés par Julien Morissette, chroniqueur à ICI Radio-Canada Première et réalisateur de balados. Tous les détails au cna-nac.ca/balados

  • Commentaires

    Tout spectateur qui désire communiquer avec le Théâtre français ou transmettre ses commentaires à la suite d’une représentation peut contacter Guy Warin au 613 947-7000, poste 581, ou à guy.warin@cna-nac.ca

L’équipe du Théâtre français

Équipe des communications et du marketing

Menu