November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
This event ended on: Nov 7, 2020

Affairs of the Heart

with the NAC Orchestra

Music Classical music
  • NAC Orchestra

  Saturday, November 7, 2020, 8:00 pm EST   90 minutes with no intermission.

JESSIE MONTGOMERY Coincident Dances HENRI TOMASI Trombone Concerto (Hillary Simms, trombone) HANNAH KENDALL Verdala (Canadian premiere) Marjan Mozetich Affairs of the Heart (Duncan McDougall, violin) VIOLET ARCHER Sinfonietta

Original broadcast date: Saturday November 7, 2020

With works spanning 1957-2018, by composers from Canada, the UK and the US, this concert is full of the sounds of contrasting cultures and moods, and pure musical virtuosity.

American composer Jessie Montgomery’s Coincident Dances is a musical snapshot of a walk through New York City, with layers of texture, colours, and cultures. 

Following the energetic opening work, the brilliant young trombonist Hillary Simms, from Torbay, Newfoundland and Labrador, performs music by French composer Henri Tomasi. His “mid-century modern” Trombone Concerto continues the mood of music that evokes city life: bustling, rhythmic, and gently bluesy. Hillary Simms was named one of CBC’s “30 Under 30” Classical musicians in 2020, and we are proud to feature many of the musicians from this group on our livestream series.

We next leap forward to 2018, with the Canadian premiere of UK composer Hannah Kendall’s Verdala. Hannah’s powerful music is a pointed, spare and uncompromising comment on war and sacrifice.  

This concert is titled after the next piece by Canadian composer Marjan Mozetich. Known for his accessible and beautiful compositions that combine classical and modern styles, Affairs of the Heart for Violin and String Orchestra is an exquisite masterpiece for violin and string orchestra. Duncan McDougall, also from CBC’s “30 Under 30” Classical list for 2020, will be our violin soloist.

Composer Violet Archer played an important role in 20th century Canadian composition with not only her own brilliant works, but in teaching at least three generations of musicians. We close our concert with her dramatic piece Sinfonietta from 1968. Be sure to listen for the virtuosic clarinet solo towards the end!

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de novembre 2020.
Cet événement s’est terminé le samedi, 7 novembre 2020

Cœur-à-cœur musical

avec l’Orchestre du CNA

Musique Musique classique
  • l'Orchestre du CNA

 

JESSIE MONTGOMERY Coincident Dances HENRI TOMASI Concerto pour trombone et orchestre (Hillary Simms, trombone) HANNAH KENDALL Verdala (première canadienne) Marjan Mozetich Affairs of the Heart (Duncan McDougall, violon) VIOLET ARCHER Sinfonietta

Date de diffusion originale : samedi 7 novembre 2020

Ce concert met en lumière des contrastes sonores, culturels et émotionnels, de même que la virtuosité musicale à son état pur. Vous entendrez des œuvres écrites entre 1957 et 2018 par des compositeurs canadiens, britanniques et américains.

Grâce à ses couches de textures, de couleurs et de cultures, Coincident Dances de la compositrice américaine Jessie Montgomery offre un aperçu musical d’une marche à New York.

Après cette ouverture énergique, Hillary Simms, une jeune tromboniste remarquable originaire de Torbay à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, interprète une œuvre du compositeur français Henri Tomasi. Ce concerto pour trombone du milieu du 20e siècle évoque également la ville urbaine grâce à son caractère animé, rythmé et blues. Hillary Simms fait partie des musiciens classiques de la liste 30 under 30 de CBC, édition 2020. Nous sommes heureux de faire briller ces artistes dans le cadre de nos concerts diffusés en direct.

Transportons-nous maintenant en 2018 alors que Verdala de la compositrice britannique Hannah Kendall a été créée au Canada. Cette œuvre constitue un commentaire pointu, direct et sans compromis sur la guerre et le sacrifice.

Le titre de ce concert est inspiré par la prochaine pièce. Vous entendrez Affairs of the Heart pour violon et orchestre à cordes du compositeur canadien Marjan Mozetich. Celui-ci est reconnu pour l’accessibilité et la beauté de ses œuvres qui réunissent le classicisme et le modernisme. Cette pièce est un magnifique chef-d’œuvre. Le violoniste Duncan McDougall, aussi nommé sur la liste 30 under 30 de CBC, sera le soliste.

La compositrice Violet Archer reste une figure importante de la composition canadienne du 20e siècle. Non seulement elle a écrit des œuvres remarquables, mais elle a aussi enseigné à au moins trois générations de musiciens. Notre concert se termine avec Sinfonietta, une œuvre dramatique composée en 1968. Vers la fin, portez attention à la virtuosité de la clarinette !

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacle Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu