Affairs of the Heart

with the NAC Orchestra

2020-11-07 20:00 2020-11-07 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Affairs of the Heart

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/27460

NAC Livestream

Original broadcast date: Saturday November 7, 2020 With works spanning 1957-2018, by composers from Canada, the UK and the US, this concert is full of the sounds of contrasting cultures and moods, and pure musical virtuosity. American composer Jessie Montgomery’s Coincident Dances is a musical snapshot of a walk through New York City, with layers of texture, colours, and cultures.  Following the energetic opening work, the brilliant young trombonist Hillary Simms, from Torbay,...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, November 7, 2020
8 PM EDT
NAC Livestream

≈ 90 minutes · No intermission

Repertoire

JESSIE MONTGOMERY

Coincident Dances

HENRI TOMASI

Trombone Concerto (Hillary Simms, trombone)

HANNAH KENDALL

Verdala (Canadian premiere)

Marjan Mozetich

Affairs of the Heart (Duncan McDougall, violin)

VIOLET ARCHER

Sinfonietta

I. Andantino ma energico
II. Larghetto piacevole
III. Allegro molto con brio

Canadian composer Violet Archer relished writing music for orchestra. Although trained as a pianist and organist, she spent nearly eight years (1940–1947) as the percussionist for the Montreal Women’s Symphony Orchestra, playing all percussion instruments except the timpani. She credits the experience for her interest in—and understanding of—writing for the orchestral medium. “Being in that orchestra was a great learning experience in the ‘inside’ of orchestra sound,” she said in an autobiographical essay. “It also made me conscious of the importance of the dynamic value of percussion instruments in the orchestral fabric.”

Archer’s Sinfonietta from 1968, originally commissioned by the Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra, is a fine display of her signature style and craft in writing for large instrumental ensemble. In each of its three movements, groups of instruments are assigned various melodic motifs, which they present, develop, and recombine in dialogue with each other. With the textures being relatively spare rather than dense, the distinctive timbres of the instruments—as well as the artistry of the orchestra’s musicians—are allowed to shine.

The energetic first movement has a somewhat grand, ceremonial quality about it with its trumpet fanfares and the ratatat of the snare drum throughout. It progresses, first by individually highlighting in turn three main sections of the orchestra and their respective motifs—strings, then dialoguing woodwinds, and later, the brass with bold proclamations. In between, there are episodes of playful counterpoint. As the motifs develop, the sections gradually combine, building intensity and volume of sound to culminate in a boisterous final shout.

The second movement is a tender serenade, with a lyrical melody whose phrases are passed from instrument to instruments. Silvery touches of triangle evoke a dreamy nighttime atmosphere. In the middle, the strings introduce a haunting chant-like motif that they take to an impassioned peak. Afterwards, the serenade resumes, the triangle now more prominent, before fading out with the flute at the close.

Lighthearted and full of humorous touches, the finale includes a scampering tune, a quirky motif of alternating notes, and a majestic phrase of repeated sustained notes against vigorous tremolo. A rather ominous climax is reached that stops the orchestra in its tracks, giving space for a solo clarinet cadenza. But the violins soon interrupt the clarinet’s rhapsody with a reprise of the scampering tune, ultimately leading to a bold ending on the motif of alternating notes.

Menu

Cœur-à-cœur musical

avec l’Orchestre du CNA

2020-11-07 20:00 2020-11-07 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Cœur-à-cœur musical

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/27460

CNA en direct

Date de diffusion originale : samedi 7 novembre 2020 Ce concert met en lumière des contrastes sonores, culturels et émotionnels, de même que la virtuosité musicale à son état pur. Vous entendrez des œuvres écrites entre 1957 et 2018 par des compositeurs canadiens, britanniques et américains. Grâce à ses couches de textures, de couleurs et de cultures, Coincident Dances de la compositrice américaine Jessie...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 7 novembre 2020
20 h HNE
Diffusion en direct

≈ 90 minutes · Sans entracte

Répertoire

JESSIE MONTGOMERY

Coincident Dances

HENRI TOMASI

Concerto pour trombone et orchestre (Hillary Simms, trombone)

HANNAH KENDALL

Verdala (première canadienne)

Marjan Mozetich

Affairs of the Heart (Duncan McDougall, violon)

VIOLET ARCHER

Sinfonietta

I. Andantino ma energico
II. Larghetto piacevole
III. Allegro molto con brio

La compositrice canadienne Violet Archer avait une prédilection pour la musique orchestrale. Bien qu'elle ait reçu une formation de pianiste et d’organiste, elle a œuvré pendant près de huit ans (1940-1947) comme percussionniste au sein de l’Orchestre symphonique des femmes de Montréal, jouant de tous les instruments à percussion, à l’exception des timbales. Elle attribuait à cette expérience son amour et sa compréhension de l’écriture pour orchestre. « Appartenir à cet ensemble m’a permis d’apprendre à connaître le son de l’orchestre ‘de l’intérieur’ », expliquait-elle dans un essai autobiographique. « Cela m'a également fait prendre conscience de l'importance de la valeur dynamique des instruments à percussion dans le tissu orchestral. »  

Sa Sinfonietta de 1968, qui lui avait été commandée par l’Orchestre symphonique de Saskatoon, offre un bel exemple de son style et de son art caractéristique de l’écriture pour grand ensemble instrumental. Dans chacun de ses trois mouvements, des groupes d’instruments se voient attribuer divers motifs mélodiques qu’ils présentent, développent et recombinent en dialogue les uns avec les autres. La trame étant relativement dépouillée plutôt que dense, les timbres distinctifs des instruments – ainsi que l’art consommé des musiciens et des musiciennes de l'orchestre – sont mis en lumière.  

L'énergique premier mouvement présente un aspect grandiose, cérémoniel, avec ses fanfares de trompettes et les roulements de la caisse claire. Il progresse tout d’abord en mettant individuellement en valeur, tour à tour, trois sections principales de l'orchestre et leurs motifs respectifs – les cordes, puis les bois qui dialoguent et, plus tard, les cuivres qui émettent des énoncés audacieux. Dans l’intervalle, on trouve des épisodes de contrepoint ludique. À mesure que les motifs se déploient, les sections se combinent progressivement, augmentant l'intensité et le volume du son pour culminer dans un cri final endiablé.  

Le deuxième mouvement est une tendre sérénade, avec une mélodie lyrique dont les phrases se transmettent d’un instrument à l’autre. Les tintements cristallins du triangle évoquent une atmosphère nocturne et onirique. Dans la section médiane, les cordes introduisent un motif envoûtant, semblable à un chant, qu’elles portent à un sommet passionné. Ensuite, la sérénade revient, le triangle prenant de plus en plus de place avant de s’éteindre avec la flûte à la fin.   

Enjoué et ponctué de touches humoristiques, la finale comporte un air sautillant, un motif excentrique de notes alternées, et une phrase majestueuse de notes soutenues répétées sur un trémolo vigoureux. Un point culminant quelque peu angoissant est atteint et freine l’orchestre dans son élan, pour céder la place à une cadence de clarinette solo. Cependant, les violons ne tardent pas à interrompre la rhapsodie de la clarinette en reprenant l’air fugace du début, aboutissant à une audacieuse conclusion sur le motif des notes alternées.  

Menu