50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it! (Starting in:
)

Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra’s 50th Anniversary European Tour, led by Music Director Alexander Shelley, will cross distances, generations and expectations and break new ground for the orchestral experience both inside and outside the concert hall. The tour features adventurous new works, fresh interpretations of classics and meaningful community partnerships.

The tour continues in Utrecht from May 19 to 21 with a concert at the TivoliVredenburg on May 20.  The concert will feature GRAMMY award-winning violinist James Ehnes and Canadian soprano Erin Wall. Community outreach highlights in Utrecht include a special community concert with the Catching Cultures Orchestra made up of refugee and Dutch musicians.

Utrecht


Education & Outreach

  • Brass band celebration!

    The line between professional and amateur dissolves when musicians come together to play for the joy of creating music together. Members of the NACO brass section will join members of the Tegenwind Concert Band, a highly entertaining and energetic amateur ensemble, for an afternoon of musical exchanges.

  • Music entrepreneurship – a conversation with Alexander Shelley

    Students of the Utrecht Conservatory will have the unique opportunity to discuss artistry, orchestral music and entrepreneurship with the NAC Orchestra’s dynamic music director Alexander Shelley.  Topics will cover the future of orchestras and concert music, creation of new works, the role of new music for the NAC Orchestra, the future of concert venues, tradition vs. innovation, orchestral differences between North America, Europe and Asia, and much more!

  • Mentoring the next generation of artists- Libero String Orchestra

    As part of the NAC Orchestra’s residency at the TivoliVredenburg, the Libero String Orchestra will work with Associate Principal Violist David Marks in a public masterclass.  Outstanding violin soloists from Rotterdam will work with Concertmaster Yosuke Kawasaki.

  • MuziekRoute

    Children in the Utrecht Overvecht district and members of the NACO brass and percussion sections will work with MuziekRoute ensembles on a work written by the students and together they will perform the piece as part of a community concert.

Menu

La tournée européenne du 50e anniversaire de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada transcendera les distances, les générations et les attentes; elle repoussera les limites de l’expérience symphonique, en salle et au-delà. Créations audacieuses, relectures inattendues de classiques et partenariats communautaires significatifs sont au menu.

L’Orchestre s’arrête ensuite aux Pays-Bas (19–21 mai) et se produira au TivoliVredenburg d’Utrecht le 20 mai ; le violoniste James Ehnes, lauréat d’un prix GRAMMY, et la soprano canadienne Erin Wall seront de la partie. Au nombre des activités de rayonnement dans la collectivité, on compte un concert communautaire avec l’Orchestre Catching Cultures, composés de musiciens néerlandais et réfugiés.


Activités éducatives

  • Vive la fanfare!

    La distance entre amateurs et professionnels s’efface lorsque des musiciens se rassemblent pour faire de la musique et jouer pour le plaisir. Des membres de la section des cuivres de l’Orchestre du CNA vont se joindre à l’harmonie Tegenwind, un ensemble amateur énergique et divertissant, le temps d’un après-midi d’échanges musicaux.

  • L’entrepreneuriat musical – une discussion avec Alexander Shelley

    Des étudiants du Conservatoire de musique d’Utrecht vont avoir la chance de discuter entrepreneuriat, musique orchestrale et talent musical avec le dynamique directeur musical de l’Orchestre du CNA, Alexander Shelley. Quelques-uns des thèmes abordés : l’avenir des orchestres, de la musique de concert et des salles de spectacles; la création d’œuvres nouvelles; la place de la musique nouvelle dans le répertoire de l’Orchestre du CNA; les rapports entre la tradition et l’innovation; les différences dans l’orchestration entre l’Amérique du Nord, l’Europe et l’Asie.

  • Soutenir les artistes de demain -avec l’Orchestre Libero String

    Dans le cadre de la résidence de l’Orchestre du CNA au TivoliVredenburg, David Marks, violoncelle solo associé de l’Orchestre du CNA, s’associe avec l’Orchestre Libero String pour présenter une classe de maître publique. Des violonistes solos de premier plan venus de Rotterdam feront équipe avec Yosuke Kawasaki, violon solo de l’Orchestre du CNA.

  • MuziekRoute

    Des enfants du quartier Overvecht d’Utrecht et des musiciens des sections des cuivres et des percussions de l’Orchestre du CNA vont collaborer avec des ensembles de MusiekRoute pour interpréter une œuvre composée par les enfants dans le cadre d’un concert pour la communauté.

Menu