Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra’s 50th Anniversary European Tour, led by Music Director Alexander Shelley, will cross distances, generations and expectations and break new ground for the orchestral experience both inside and outside the concert hall. The tour features adventurous new works, fresh interpretations of classics and meaningful community partnerships.

The tour kicks off in the UK from May 12 to the 15, where there will be two main concerts: one at Saffron Hall and the other at Cadogan Hall.  Both concerts feature Canadian musicians Jan Lisiecki and David DQ Lee as well as local choir, London Voices.  Community outreach and education highlights in London include a live broadband connected event, Music ConneXXions 2019, and a Royal College of Music residency.


Education & Outreach

  • Royal College of Music Residency

    Alexander Shelley and NAC Orchestra musicians will be in residence at the Royal College of Music London from May 13 to May 14.  The residency will include a chamber music coaching session, a conducting workshop, mock-audition session, and a cross-Atlantic connected event linking young musicians in the UK and Canada together.

  • The Ambassador Trio and Bangers and Smash perform at Alperton School

    In partnership with the High Commission for Canada, the Ambassador Brass Trio and Bangers and Smash (percussion duo), will perform at Alperton Community School for hundreds of elementary students where Andria Zafirakou is the 2018 Global Teacher Prize winner for promoting creativity in the ethnically diverse community of Brent.  The students will share their artistic response to the theme of “Crossings” during our visit.

  • Guildhall School of Music Masterclasses with Yosuke Kawasaki and Joel Quarrington

    NAC Orchestra Concertmaster Yosuke Kawasaki and Principal Bass Joel Quarrington offer masterclasses to students at the Guildhall School of Music.

Menu

La tournée européenne du 50e anniversaire de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada transcendera les distances, les générations et les attentes; elle repoussera les limites de l’expérience symphonique, en salle et au-delà. Créations audacieuses, relectures inattendues de classiques et partenariats communautaires significatifs sont au menu.

La tournée débute au Royaume-Uni (12–15 mai), où deux concerts principaux auront lieu, l’un, à Saffron Hall, et l’autre, à Cadogan Hall. Ces spectacles mettront en vedette deux solistes canadiens, Jan Lisecki et David DQ Lee, ainsi que le chœur London Voices. Parmi les activités éducatives et de rayonnement dans la collectivité, notons un concert transatlantique en direct par connexion à large bande dans le cadre de Music ConneXXions 2019, et une résidence au Royal College of Music.


Activités éducatives

  • Résidence au Royal College of Music

    Alexander Shelley et les musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA seront en résidence au Royal College of Music de Londres les 13 et 14 mai. Au programme, une séance d’encadrement de musique de chambre; un atelier de direction d’orchestre; des auditions simulées; et un événement transatlantique branché permettant à de jeunes musiciens du Canada et du Royaume-Uni de se produire ensemble.

  • Bangers and Smash et le trio Ambassador se produisent à l’école Alperton

    En partenariat avec le Haut-Commissariat du Canada au Royaume-Uni, le trio de cuivres Ambassador et le duo de percussions Bangers and Smash se produiront à l’école Alperton devant des centaines d’élèves du niveau élémentaire. C’est dans cette institution qu’enseigne Andria Zafirakou, lauréate du Global Teacher Prize 2018 pour son travail de promotion de la créativité dans la communauté multiethnique de Brent. Pendant notre visite, les élèves utiliseront la création artistique pour réfléchir au thème de la tournée, PASSAGES.

  • Classes de maître avec Yosuke Kawasaki et Joel Quarrington à la Guildhall School of Music

    Yosuke Kawasaki, premier violon de l’Orchestre du CNA, et Joel Quarrington, contrebasse solo de l’Orchestre, offriront des classes de maître aux étudiants de la Guildhall School of Music.

Menu