NAC Orchestra 50th Anniversary European Tour

Learning & Engagement

Crossing distances, generations and expectations through music, mentorship and collaboration

As we celebrate the 50th anniversary of Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra, we are pleased to partner with many organizations in Saffron Walden, London, Paris, Utrecht, Copenhagen, Stockholm, Gothenburg and connect with music fans of all ages through 60 interactive distance learning events, collaborative performances, meaningful discussions, chamber and choir performances, workshops and masterclasses. 

  • Crossing distances, generations and expectations through music, mentorship and collaboration

    As we celebrate the 50thanniversary of Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra, we are pleased to partner with many organizations throughout Europe and connect with music fans of all ages through interactive distance learning events, collaborative performances, meaningful discussions, chamber and choir performances, workshops and masterclasses.  

  • Inspiring collaborations

    A hallmark of all NAC Orchestra tours, we will collaborate with our partners to create unique events that inspire cross-cultural understanding and creative expression with youth bands and orchestras, choirs, and community ensembles.  

  • Mentoring the artists who will shape our future

    Whether at home or abroad, we are committed to mentoring the next generation of young artists.  Alexander Shelley, Music Director of the NAC Orchestra, will lead conducting workshops as well as discussions on music entrepreneurship while NAC Orchestra musicians offer masterclasses and coaching sessions.  

  • Royal College of Music Residency

    Alexander Shelley and NAC Orchestra musicians will be in residence at the Royal College of Music London from May 13 to May 14.  The residency will include a chamber music coaching session, a conducting workshop, mock-audition session, and a cross-Atlantic connected event linking young musicians in the UK and Canada together.

  • The Ambassador Trio and Bangers and Smash perform at Alperton School

    In partnership with the High Commission for Canada, the Ambassador Brass Trio and Bangers and Smash (percussion duo), will perform at Alperton Community School for hundreds of elementary students where Andria Zafirakou is the 2018 Global Teacher Prize winner for promoting creativity in the ethnically diverse community of Brent.  The students will share their artistic response to the theme of “Crossings” during our visit.

  • Guildhall School of Music Masterclasses with Yosuke Kawasaki and Joel Quarrington

    NAC Orchestra Concertmaster Yosuke Kawasaki and Principal Bass Joel Quarrington offer masterclasses to students at the Guildhall School of Music.

  • L’Élan musical (French only)

    L’Orchestre du CNA et Insula orchestra, en résidence à La Seine Musicale, vont rapprocher les continents et les générations en collaborant avec six étudiants en médiation de l’Université Paris 3- Sorbonne Nouvelle.

    Au cours des mois précédant la tournée européenne, chacun des trois ensembles de musique de chambre de l’Orchestre du CNA sera jumelé à un binôme d’étudiants. Ils imagineront des interventions ludiques et musicales de 30 minutes à destination des écoliers du département des Hauts-de-Seine qui seront présentées les 16 et 17 mai 2019 à La Seine Musicale.

  • Discovery Concert : String Duos by Bach, Mozart and Handel

    Two distinguished members of Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra, violinist Edvard Skerjanc and Principal violist Jethro Marks, and Pierre Jeannot, Lecturer in Arts and Media department at the Paris 3 – Sorbonne Nouvelle university, will explore playfully well-known composers' chamber music works by as Bach, Mozart, and Handel. This event/show is aimed at children from French primary schools.

    PRIVATE EVENT, by invitation only

  • Brass band celebration!

    The line between professional and amateur dissolves when musicians come together to play for the joy of creating music together. Members of the NACO brass section will join members of the Tegenwind Concert Band, a highly entertaining and energetic amateur ensemble, for an afternoon of musical exchanges.

  • Music entrepreneurship – a conversation with Alexander Shelley

    Students of the Utrecht Conservatory will have the unique opportunity to discuss artistry, orchestral music and entrepreneurship with the NAC Orchestra’s dynamic music director Alexander Shelley.  Topics will cover the future of orchestras and concert music, creation of new works, the role of new music for the NAC Orchestra, the future of concert venues, tradition vs. innovation, orchestral differences between North America, Europe and Asia, and much more!

  • Mentoring the next generation of artists- Libero String Orchestra

    As part of the NAC Orchestra’s residency at the TivoliVredenburg, the Libero String Orchestra will work with Associate Principal Violist David Marks in a public masterclass.  Outstanding violin soloists from Rotterdam will work with Concertmaster Yosuke Kawasaki.

  • MuziekRoute

    Children in the Utrecht Overvecht district and members of the NACO brass and percussion sections will work with MuziekRoute ensembles on a work written by the students and together they will perform the piece as part of a community concert.

  • Mentoring the Next Generation of Artists

    The NAC Orchestra is proud to be in residence at the Royal Danish Academy of Music in Copenhagen. Nine instrumental masterclasses with NAC Orchestra musicians featuring RDAM students will take place on May 22nd. This residency is part of an on-going partnership between Canada’s National Arts Centre and the International Office of the RDAM who, like the NAC, specialize in next-generation distance learning and telematic performance.

  • Masterclass with James Ehnes

    Grammy award-winning violinist James Ehnes will give a masterclass with some of Sweden’s top violin students at Stockholm’s Konserthuset.  James will also meet and play some music for the senior string ensemble from El Sistema Södertälje. 

  • El Sistema Södertälje Workshop and Performance: Crossing Distances

    El Sistema Södertälje has been collaborating with Ottawa’s OrKidstra to re-write a Swedish folk song, “Dejlig Rosa,” to become Garden of Maple Rose.  This new commission prepared by Margaret Munro Tobolowska and members of OrKidstra will be rehearsed by El Sistema Södertälje with members of the NAC Orchestra and performed together at the Royal Palace in Stockholm.


“I am thrilled to be supporting the education and outreach work of Canada's NAC Orchestra as it embarks on its 50th Anniversary European Tour. Music and the arts have the ability to cross oceans and build bridges between different generations, cultures, and backgrounds. It's vital that today’s youth be inspired to learn, to dream, to be part of a team and to have grand adventures. What better way than through encouraging the love of music and music making?” Dasha Shenkman OBE, Education Partner
Menu

Tournée européenne du 50e anniversaire de l’Orchestre du CNA

Activités éducatives

Transcender les distances, les générations et les attentes grâce à la musique, au mentorat et à la collaboration

En l’honneur du 50e anniversaire de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada, nous sommes heureux de collaborer avec plusieurs organisations européennes à Saffron Walden, Londres, Paris, Utrecht, Copenhague, Stockholm et Göteborg pour nouer des liens avec des mélomanes de tous âges à travers 60 activités de téléapprentissage, des discussions, des prestations conjointes, des concerts de musique symphonique et de chambre, des ateliers et des classes de maître.

  • Transcender les distances, les générations et les attentes grâce à la musique, au mentorat et à la collaboration

    En l’honneur du 50e anniversaire de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada, nous sommes heureux de collaborer avec plusieurs organisations européennes et de nouer des liens avec des mélomanes de tous âges à travers des activités de téléapprentissage, des discussions, des prestations conjointes, des concerts de musique symphonique et de chambre, des ateliers et des classes de maître.

  • Des collaborations inspirantes

    Les tournées de l’Orchestre du CNA se distinguent de celles d’autres ensembles grâce aux activités uniques, fruit de collaborations avec des partenaires locaux, qui transcendent les cultures et favorisent l’expression de soi chez les jeunes qui font partie d’harmonies et d’orchestres, de chœurs et de groupes communautaires.

  • Le mentorat des artistes de demain

    À Ottawa comme en tournée, nous avons à cœur de soutenir la prochaine génération d’artistes. Le directeur musical de l’Orchestre du CNA, Alexander Shelley, animera des ateliers sur la direction d’orchestre et mènera des discussions sur l’entrepreneuriat en musique, tandis que des musiciens de l’Orchestre offriront des classes de maître et des séances d’encadrement.

  • Résidence au Royal College of Music

    Alexander Shelley et les musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA seront en résidence au Royal College of Music de Londres les 13 et 14 mai. Au programme, une séance d’encadrement de musique de chambre; un atelier de direction d’orchestre; des auditions simulées; et un événement transatlantique branché permettant à de jeunes musiciens du Canada et du Royaume-Uni de se produire ensemble.

  • Bangers and Smash et le trio Ambassador se produisent à l’école Alperton

    En partenariat avec le Haut-Commissariat du Canada au Royaume-Uni, le trio de cuivres Ambassador et le duo de percussions Bangers and Smash se produiront à l’école Alperton devant des centaines d’élèves du niveau élémentaire. C’est dans cette institution qu’enseigne Andria Zafirakou, lauréate du Global Teacher Prize 2018 pour son travail de promotion de la créativité dans la communauté multiethnique de Brent. Pendant notre visite, les élèves utiliseront la création artistique pour réfléchir au thème de la tournée, PASSAGES.

  • Classes de maître avec Yosuke Kawasaki et Joel Quarrington à la Guildhall School of Music

    Yosuke Kawasaki, premier violon de l’Orchestre du CNA, et Joel Quarrington, contrebasse solo de l’Orchestre, offriront des classes de maître aux étudiants de la Guildhall School of Music.

  • L’Élan musical

    L’Orchestre du CNA et Insula orchestra, en résidence à La Seine Musicale, vont rapprocher les continents et les générations en collaborant avec six étudiants en médiation de l’Université Paris 3- Sorbonne Nouvelle.

    Au cours des mois précédant la tournée européenne, chacun des trois ensembles de musique de chambre de l’Orchestre du CNA sera jumelé à un binôme d’étudiants. Ils imagineront des interventions ludiques et musicales de 30 minutes à destination des écoliers du département des Hauts-de-Seine qui seront présentées les 16 et 17 mai 2019 à La Seine Musicale.

  • Concert découverte : Duos pour instruments à cordes de Bach, Mozart et Haendel

    Le violoniste Edvard Skerjanc et l’altiste solo Jethro Marks, tous deux membres de l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada, et Pierre Jeannot, chargé de cours au département Arts et Médias de l'Université Paris 3 - Sorbonne Nouvelle, exploreront de manière ludique des œuvres de musique de chambre de compositeurs tels que Bach, Mozart et Haendel. Cet événement/Ce spectacle s'adresse à des élèves issus d'écoles primaires du Département des Hauts-de-Seine.

    ÉVÉNEMENT PRIVÉ, par invitation seulement

  • Vive la fanfare!

    La distance entre amateurs et professionnels s’efface lorsque des musiciens se rassemblent pour faire de la musique et jouer pour le plaisir. Des membres de la section des cuivres de l’Orchestre du CNA vont se joindre à l’harmonie Tegenwind, un ensemble amateur énergique et divertissant, le temps d’un après-midi d’échanges musicaux.

  • L’entrepreneuriat musical – une discussion avec Alexander Shelley

    Des étudiants du Conservatoire de musique d’Utrecht vont avoir la chance de discuter entrepreneuriat, musique orchestrale et talent musical avec le dynamique directeur musical de l’Orchestre du CNA, Alexander Shelley. Quelques-uns des thèmes abordés : l’avenir des orchestres, de la musique de concert et des salles de spectacles; la création d’œuvres nouvelles; la place de la musique nouvelle dans le répertoire de l’Orchestre du CNA; les rapports entre la tradition et l’innovation; les différences dans l’orchestration entre l’Amérique du Nord, l’Europe et l’Asie.

  • Soutenir les artistes de demain -avec l’Orchestre Libero String

    Dans le cadre de la résidence de l’Orchestre du CNA au TivoliVredenburg, David Marks, violoncelle solo associé de l’Orchestre du CNA, s’associe avec l’Orchestre Libero String pour présenter une classe de maître publique. Des violonistes solos de premier plan venus de Rotterdam feront équipe avec Yosuke Kawasaki, violon solo de l’Orchestre du CNA.

  • MuziekRoute

    Des enfants du quartier Overvecht d’Utrecht et des musiciens des sections des cuivres et des percussions de l’Orchestre du CNA vont collaborer avec des ensembles de MusiekRoute pour interpréter une œuvre composée par les enfants dans le cadre d’un concert pour la communauté.

  • Soutenir les musiciens de demain

    L’Orchestre du CNA est fier d’être en résidence à l’Académie royale de musique du Danemark (ARMD), à Copenhague. Pas moins de neuf classes de maître avec des musiciens de l’Orchestre et des élèves de l’ARMD se tiendront le 22 mai. Cette résidence est rendue possible grâce à un partenariat de longue date entre le Centre national des Arts du Canada et le Bureau des affaires internationales de l’ARMD. L’ARMD, tout comme le CNA, se spécialise dans le téléapprentissage de pointe et les prestations télématiques.

  • Classe de maître avec James Ehnes

    Le violoniste primé James Ehnes donnera une classe de maître à quelques-uns des élèves de violon les plus prometteurs de la Suède à la Maison des concerts de Stockholm (Konserthuset Stockholm). Il fera aussi de la musique avec les élèves avancés de l’ensemble de cordes d’El Sistema Södertälje.

  • Transcender les distances : atelier et prestation d’El Sistema Södertälje

    El Sistema Södertälje collabore depuis quelque temps avec OrKidstra d’Ottawa pour créer une nouvelle adaptation de la chanson traditionnelle suédoise « Dejlig Rosa ». Cette nouvelle œuvre, intitulée Garden of Maple Rose, a été composée par Margaret Munro Tobolowska et des membres d’OrKidstra. El Sistema Södertälje et des musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA la présenteront en récital au Palais royal de Stockholm le 24 mai.

Apprenez-en plus sur les activités éducatives offertes dans


« Je suis ravie de soutenir les activités éducatives et culturelles de l’Orchestre du CNA dans le cadre de la tournée en l’honneur de son 50e anniversaire. La musique et les arts permettent de traverser les océans, de créer des ponts entre divers milieux, cultures et générations.  À mes yeux, il est nécessaire qu’on inspire les jeunes d’aujourd’hui à apprendre, à rêver, à faire partie d’une équipe et à se lancer dans différentes aventures! N’y a-t-il pas meilleur moyen que l’écoute et l’interprétation de la musique pour cela? » - Dasha Shenkman, OBE, partenaire en éducation
Menu