October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
James Ehnes | Ben Ealovega
Artist in Residence

James Ehnes

Canada

Known for his virtuosity and probing musicianship, violinist James Ehnes has performed in over 35 countries on five continents, appearing regularly in the world’s great concert halls and with many of the most celebrated orchestras and conductors. Alongside his concerto work, he maintains a busy recital schedule and active chamber musician. Ehnes is the Artistic Director of the Seattle Chamber Music Society.

Born in 1976 in Brandon, Manitoba, Ehnes began violin studies at the age of four, and at age nine became a protégé of the noted Canadian violinist Francis Chaplin. At age 13, he made his major orchestral solo debut with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. 

Throughout the 20/21 season, Ehnes is named as Artist in Residence with the National Arts Centre of Canada. He has played with the NAC Orchestra many times since making his debut with the ensemble in 1993. 

Ehnes has an extensive discography and has won many awards for his recordings, including a GRAMMY Award (2019) for his live recording of Aaron Jay Kernis Violin Concerto with the Seattle Symphony and Ludovic Morlot, and a Gramophone Award for his live recording of the Elgar Concerto with the Philharmonia Orchestra and Andrew Davis. His recording of the Korngold, Barber, and Walton violin concertos won a GRAMMY Award for “Best Instrumental Soloist Performance” and a JUNO Award for “Best Classical Album of the Year”.

Ehnes has won numerous awards and prizes, including the first-ever Ivan Galamian Memorial Award, the Canada Council for the Arts’ Virginia Parker Prize, and a 2005 Avery Fisher Career Grant. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and in 2010 was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada. 

James Ehnes plays the “Marsick” Stradivarius of 1715. He currently lives in Bradenton, Florida with his family.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 2 septembre 2021.
James Ehnes | Ben Ealovega
Artiste en résidence

James Ehnes

Canada

Connu pour sa virtuosité et son sens aigu de la musique, le violoniste James Ehnes s’est produit dans les meilleures salles de concert du monde, dans plus de 35 pays et sur cinq continents, accompagné des plus grands orchestres et maestros. En plus de ses concertos, il jongle avec un programme chargé de récitals et de musique de chambre. James Ehnes est également le directeur artistique de la Société de musique de chambre de Seattle. 

Né en 1976 à Brandon, au Manitoba, il a commencé ses études de violon à l’âge de quatre ans. À neuf ans, il est devenu le protégé du célèbre violoniste canadien Francis Chaplin. À 13 ans, il faisait ses débuts en tant que soliste orchestral auprès de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal.

Durant la saison 2020-2021, James Ehnes a été nommé artiste résident du Centre national des Arts du Canada. Il a joué avec l’Orchestre du CNA à de nombreuses reprises depuis leur première collaboration en 1993.

James Ehnes a remporté de nombreux prix pour sa riche discographie, dont un prix Grammy (2019) pour son enregistrement en direct du concerto pour violon d’Aaron Jay Kernis, avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Seattle et Ludovic Morlot, et un prix Gramophone pour son enregistrement en direct du concerto d’Elgar avec l’Orchestre Philharmonia et Andrew Davis. Il a également reçu le prix Grammy de la meilleure interprétation de soliste et le prix Juno de l’album classique de l’année pour son interprétation des concertos pour violon de Korngold, Barber et Walton.

James Ehnes est le récipiendaire de nombreuses distinctions, dont le tout premier Prix commémoratif Ivan Galamian, le prix Virginia-Parker du Conseil des arts du Canada et la bourse de carrière Avery Fisher (2005). Il est membre de la Société royale du Canada et, depuis 2010, Membre de l’Ordre du Canada.

James Ehnes joue sur un Stradivarius « Marsick » de 1715. Il vit actuellement à Brandenton, en Floride, avec sa famille.

Menu