WATCH LIVE: G.R. Gritt at Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario (Sudbury) | Fridays at the Fourth (Starting in:
)
This event ended on: Mar 16, 2021

NACO at the Fourth

with members of NACO Brass

Francophone Music Classical music Chamber music
  • #CanadaPerforms
  • NAC Orchestra

  Mar 16, 2021 - 8 PM  EDT   60 minutes with no intermission.

J.S. BACH Selections from
Andante from the Motet “Jesu, Meine Freude”
Bouree II from English Suite No. 2
Fugue XI from The Well Tempered Clavier, Vol. 1
Gigue

LAUREN BERNOFSKY Trio for Brass (13’)
I. Allegro deciso
II. Berceuse
III. Vivo

ERWIN CHANDLER Duo for Trumpet and Tuba (1979)
I. Presto
IV. Andante
III. A la Jazz Waltz

CHRISTER DANIELSSON Concertante Suite for Tuba and 4 Horns (15’)
I. Largo – Allegro vivo
II. Moderato misterioso
III. Andante con sentimento
IV. Alla Marcia

Louis-Pierre Bergeron, horn
Douglas Burden, bass trombone
Karen Donnelly, trumpet
Julie Fauteux, horn
Chris Lee, tuba
Elizabeth Simpson, horn
Lawrence Vine, horn

This program opens with a selection of movements extracted from various works by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750) and arranged for horn trio. Composers (including Bach himself) often arranged the music of other composers they admired and wanted to perform or have performed. With Bach, many musicians and composers over the past couple of centuries have turned frequently to some of his most notable works—such as the preludes and fugues from The Well-Tempered Clavier, his keyboard suites, and vocal pieces—and set them for an abundant variety of instrumental combinations. Performing them in chamber music concerts like this one enables musicians and audiences to experience them in fresh ways, in this case, through the rich sonorities of the French horn.

“My philosophy of composition is simple: music should be a joy both to play and to hear,” says American composer Lauren Bernofsky (b. 1967). Her Trio for Brass (trumpet, horn, and trombone) is no exception; commissioned in 2002 by the Del Mar Trio, a professional brass ensemble founded at Del Mar College in Corpus Christi, Texas, the piece has since been hailed as “a major addition to the brass literature” by Fanfare magazine.

In Bernofsky’s words, “I wanted to write a piece that would be an exciting challenge for the performers (though not impossibly difficult). The piece is cast in three contrasting movements, following the traditional fast-slow-fast scheme. I tried to create variety in the piece through different textures. The outer movements often alternate between sections of homophony, where the instruments all play the same rhythms together, and more complex-sounding contrapuntal textures. Much of the middle movement has a clear bass line, middle voice, and melody, and I wrote it as a necessary release from the more complex outer movements.” The diversity of moods and characters also contribute to the appeal of the Trio. In the first movement, a section featuring a majestic fanfare plus a lyrical melody played by the horn bookends a lilting central part inflected with piquant harmonies. The trumpet soothes with a gentle tune in the “Berceuse”, accompanied by the horn’s rocking figures and the trombone’s long notes. The finale consists of lively counterpoint between the instruments, punctuated by repeated note patterns, with syncopations at the climax adding a jazzy flair.

Erwin Chandler (1944–2020) was an American hornist, composer, and pedagogue. He had an active career performing music of classical, popular, and jazz genres (the latter as a pianist also) and his compositions have been performed on both sides of the Atlantic. Duo for Trumpet and Tuba (1979) was commissioned by Chris Gekker (trumpet) and Gary Maske (tuba) while they were teaching at the Tidewater Music Festival in Maryland. Tonight, you’ll hear three of the four movements from the piece, which was written to let the musical and technical skills of the players shine. A feisty Presto opens the work, with snappy motives alternating with more smooth-lined melodies. The fourth movement, a contemplative Andante, is performed tonight in lieu of the second movement, after which an energetic jazz waltz rounds things off.

The Concertante for Tuba and Four Horns (1977) is among Christer Danielsson’s most admired works. The Swedish Danielsson (1942–1989) was a self-taught composer but in his career as a trombonist, he was adept at performing in multiple genres and styles, from orchestral music to experimental pieces to big-band jazz. This wide-ranging experience shaped his own compositions and arrangements for brass ensembles, including this brilliant work for a rather unique, though as you’ll see pleasing, combination of instruments.

In four movements of roughly equal length, the Concertante is witty and entertaining. It opens with a stately summons in the horns, answered by the tuba, which then takes the lead in the Allegro vivo with a playful and slightly sarcastic main theme. Later, a horn introduces a jaunty tune. The Moderato misterioso evokes “night music”: the tuba tiptoes first onto the scene, with each of the horns gradually joining in. Tension builds gradually, with the horns punching out short chords, while the tuba takes on a meandering melody that later wanders into a cadenza-like moment…before it finally sneaks away. A wistful waltz of a movement follows. The beginning of the finale suggests an advancing marching band (likely inspired by Danielsson’s own experience playing in the Swedish Navy band in Karlskrona), which eventually opens out into a rambunctious theme. A central section of varied textures lend contrast, after which the boisterous march and theme return to bring the piece—and this concert—to a rousing close.

By Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 8 avril 2021.
Cet événement s’est terminé le mardi, 16 mars 2021

L’OCNA à la Quatrième

avec des membres de la section des cuivres

Francophone Musique Musique classique Musique de chambre
  • #CanadaEnPrestation
  • l'Orchestre du CNA

  16 mar 2021 - 20 h  HAE   60 minutes sans entracte.

J.-S. BACH Extraits :
Andante du motet « Jesu, Meine Freude »
Bourrée II, Suite anglaise no 2
Fugue no 11, Le Clavier bien tempéré, Livre I
Gigue

LAUREN BERNOFSKY Trio pour cuivres (13 minutes)
I. Allegro deciso
II. Berceuse
III. Vivo

ERWIN CHANDLER Duo pour trompette et tuba (1979)
I. Presto
IV. Andante
III. A la Jazz Waltz

CHRISTER DANIELSSON Suite concertante pour tuba et quatre cors (15 minutes)
I. Largo – Allegro vivo
II. Moderato misterioso
III. Andante con sentimento
IV. Alla Marcia

Louis-Pierre Bergeron, cor
Douglas Burden, trombone basse
Karen Donnelly, trompette
Julie Fauteux, cor
Chris Lee, tuba
Elizabeth Simpson, cor
​Lawrence Vine, cor

Ce programme commence par une sélection de mouvements extraits de diverses œuvres de Jean-Sébastien Bach (1685–1750) et arrangés pour un trio de cors. Les compositeurs (dont Bach lui-même) arrangeaient souvent la musique d’autres compositeurs qu’ils admiraient et voulaient faire entendre. Au fil des siècles, les plus célèbres œuvres de Bach, dont les fugues et préludes du Clavier bien tempéré, ses suites pour clavier et ses œuvres vocales, ont souvent été reprises et adaptées pour une foule de combinaisons instrumentales. Les concerts de musique de chambre comme celui-ci sont une occasion, pour les interprètes et le public, de découvrir ces œuvres sous un jour nouveau, ici à travers les riches sonorités du cor.

« Comme compositrice, j’ai pour principe que la musique doit être agréable à jouer et à écouter », dit la compositrice américaine Lauren Bernofsky (n. 1967). Son Trio pour cuivres (trompette, cor et trombone) est fidèle à cette philosophie. Commandée en 2002 par le Del Mar Trio, ensemble professionnel de cuivres fondé au Del Mar College de Corpus Christi, au Texas, la pièce a été qualifiée d’« ajout majeur au répertoire des cuivres » par le magazine Fanfare.  

« Je voulais composer une pièce qui poserait un défi intéressant aux interprètes, sans être trop ardue. Ses trois mouvements contrastés suivent la structure traditionnelle rapide-lent-rapide. Les différentes textures visent à ajouter de la variété. Les mouvements extérieurs alternent souvent entre des passages d’homophonie, où tous les instruments jouent les mêmes rythmes ensemble, et des textures contrapuntiques plus complexes. Une ligne de basse, une voix médiane et une mélodie traversent la majorité du deuxième mouvement, qui apporte un répit nécessaire au milieu des deux autres, plus complexes. » La diversité des atmosphères et des caractères contribue aussi à l’attrait du Trio. Dans le premier mouvement, un passage dominé par une fanfare majestueuse et une mélodie lyrique au cor encadre une partie chantante aux harmonies vivifiantes. Dans la Berceuse, la trompette joue un air apaisant, soutenue par le rythme berçant du cor et les longues notes du trombone. Le finale est un jeu de contrepoint dynamique entre les différents instruments, ponctué de répétitions et culminant par des syncopes qui ajoutent un côté jazzy.

Le corniste, compositeur et pédagogue américain Erwin Chandler (1944–2020) a eu une carrière bien remplie comme musicien classique, populaire et de jazz (genre dans lequel il se produisait aussi comme pianiste). Ses compositions ont été jouées des deux côtés de l’Atlantique. Son Duo pour trompette et tuba (1979) a été commandé par Chris Gekker (trompette) et Gary Maske (tuba) à l’époque où ils enseignaient au Tidewater Music Festival, au Maryland. Le concert de ce soir comprend trois des quatre mouvements de cette pièce conçue pour mettre en valeur le talent et la technique des interprètes. Le duo s’ouvre sur un fougueux presto dont les motifs accrocheurs alternent avec des lignes mélodiques harmonieuses. Le quatrième mouvement, un andante contemplatif, remplace ce soir le second mouvement. Le programme se conclut sur une valse jazz énergique.

La Suite concertante pour tuba et quatre cors (1977) fait partie des œuvres les plus admirées du Suédois Christer Danielsson (1942–1989). Danielsson était un compositeur autodidacte. Comme tromboniste, il se plaisait à varier les genres et les styles : de la musique orchestrale au big band en passant par des pièces expérimentales. Cette polyvalence se reflète dans ses propres compositions et arrangements pour cuivres, dont cette brillante pièce écrite pour une combinaison d’instruments agréablement surprenante.

Comprenant quatre mouvements à peu près d’égale longueur, la Suite concertante est divertissante et pleine d’esprit. Elle s’ouvre sur une imposante injonction des cors, à laquelle le tuba répond avant de dominer l’Allegro vivo avec un thème principal ludique et légèrement sarcastique. Plus tard, un cor introduit un air enjoué. Le Moderato misterioso évoque une musique nocturne. Le tuba arrive sur la pointe des pieds, et les cors lui emboîtent graduellement le pas. La tension monte progressivement sous les accords isolés des cors, alors que le tuba entonne une mélodie sinueuse qui finit par prendre des airs de cadence... avant de s’esquiver. Le mouvement suivant est une valse mélancolique. Le début du finale évoque une fanfare en marche (Danielsson s’est sans doute inspiré de sa propre expérience dans la fanfare de la marine suédoise à Karlskrona) qui débouche sur un thème exubérant. La partie centrale, aux textures variées, offre un contraste, après quoi la marche et le thème reviennent pour mettre fin avec éclat à la pièce — et à ce concert.

Traduit d’après Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph.D.

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacles Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu