January 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Rachel Mercer © Rémi Thériault

NACO at the Fourth

with members of the Orchestra

5:00 pm EST
Online livestream
Rachel Mercer © Rémi Thériault
Music Classical music Chamber music Violin Cello

Livestream

Members of the NAC Orchestra with pianist Frédéric Lacroix showcase their exceptional musicianship in this chamber music concert of works by two distinguished women composers of the 19th century: Louise Farrenc and Luise Adolpha Le Beau.

The NAC Orchestra welcomes Stephanie Morin, Second Flute, who began her first season with the NAC in September 2020. This will be her chamber music debut.

Program:

LOUISE FARRENC Flute Trio, Op. 45 (22’)

Stephanie Morin, flute / Rachel Mercer, cello / Frédéric Lacroix, piano

LUISE ADLOPHA LeBEAU Piano Quartet in F minor, Op. 28  (24’)

Noémi Racine Gaudreault, violin / Paul Casey, viola / Rachel Mercer, cello / Frédéric Lacroix, piano

Louise Farrenc (1804–1875) and Luise Adolpha Le Beau (1850–1927) emerged as composers of note at a time when musicians of their gender were more often performers rather than writers of music. They also established their reputations composing chamber music, which, in their respective cultural milieus in France and Germany, was remarkable, for neither was it the most fashionable genre (as in Farrenc’s opera-obsessed Paris) nor the most progressive (as in Le Beau’s Munich, where Wagner’s influence held sway). Their chamber works were presented by some of the most notable musicians of their day, including themselves as pianists, and received praise from critics and other composers such as Schumann, Liszt, and Brahms. The Trio and Piano Quartet on this program are exceptionally well-crafted and engaging for performers and listeners alike.

The Trio in E minor for flute, cello, and piano is one of Farrenc’s last chamber compositions. It was premiered in 1857, at a privately organized concert (as was typical of chamber music in Paris) at the home of Madame Pierson, née Sophie Bodin. One of Farrenc’s former students, she performed the piano part alongside eminent Parisian musicians: flutist Louis Dorus (the work’s dedicatee) and cellist Charles Joseph Lebouc. The instruments are equal participants in the dramatic opening movement, which also exhibits the composer’s stylistic use of continually shifting harmonic colours. In the Andante, the flute introduces a tuneful melody that returns in varied settings, including a stormy middle section. The scherzo is agitated in mood, with flute and piano playing running passages; in the trio, the cello takes the lead in a songful duet with the flute. A near-constant patter of notes imbues the finale with vigour and restless drive.

Le Beau’s Piano Quartet dates from 1883, when she was living in Munich. Dedicated to the German composer Franz Lachner, with whom she had recently studied, the work had a high-profile premiere at the Leipzig Gewandhaus that year on December 1. It was received with great acclaim and was successfully performed internationally, including in Sydney, Australia, several years later. The first movement opens with a melancholy chorale for the strings, after which the piano takes up the energetic main theme of the fiery Allegro; a second theme, first presented by the cello, provides sweet contrast. The Adagio is all exquisite tenderness. Unusually, Le Beau incorporates a mazurka for the scherzo movement, which surrounds an ethereal intermezzo. The rondo finale is full of high spirits with moments of impassioned warmth, and features an intense reminiscence of the opening Allegro’s main theme, just before the end.

By Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

*This performance will take place at an earlier start time of 5PM EST in order to comply with provincial COVID-19 guidelines. The concert will remain online for viewing if you miss the live performance.

Rachel Mercer © Rémi Thériault
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 janvier 2021.
Rachel Mercer © Rémi Thériault

L’OCNA à la Quatrième

avec des musiciens de l'Orchestre

17 h 00 HNE
Diffusion en direct
Rachel Mercer © Rémi Thériault
Musique Musique classique Musique de chambre Violon Violoncelle

Diffusion en direct

Des musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA et le pianiste Frédéric Lacroix démontrent leur exceptionnel talent musical dans ce concert de musique de chambre mettant en vedette deux grandes compositrices du XIXe siècle : Louise Farrenc et Luise Adolpha Le Beau.

L'Orchestre du CNA est heureux d'accueillir Stéphanie Morin, deuxième flûte, qui a débuté sa première saison avec le CNA en septembre 2020. Ce sera son premier concert de musique de chambre.

Au programme:

LOUISE FARRENC Trio en mi mineur, op. 45 (22 min)

Stephanie Morin, flûte / Rachel Mercer, violoncelle / Frédéric Lacroix, piano

LUISA ADOLPHA LE BEAU Quatuor avec piano en fa mineur, op. 28 (24 min)

Noémi Racine Gaudreault, violon / Paul Casey, alto / Rachel Mercer, violoncelle / Frédéric Lacroix, piano

Louise Farrenc (1804–1875) et Luise Adolpha Le Beau (1850–1927) sont d’importantes compositrices ayant vécu à une époque où les femmes musiciennes s’adonnaient davantage au récital qu’à l’écriture de la musique. Elles ont établi leur réputation en composant de la musique de chambre, ce qui est remarquable dans la mesure où, dans leur milieu culturel respectif, en France et en Allemagne, ce n’était ni le genre le plus en vogue (le Paris de Farrenc n’en avait que pour l’opéra!) ni le plus progressiste (l’influence de Wagner se faisait bien sentir dans le Munich de Le Beau). Leurs œuvres de ce type ont été interprétées par les plus grands musiciens de leur temps (y compris Farrenc et Le Beau au piano) et ont été saluées par critiques et compositeurs, tels Schumann, Liszt et Brahms. Exceptionnels, le trio et le quatuor au programme sont un pur bonheur, tant pour les interprètes que les auditeurs.

Le Trio en mi mineur pour flûte, violoncelle et piano est l’une des dernières pièces de musique de chambre de Farrenc. Il a été créé en 1857 lors d’un concert privé (comme c’était alors souvent le cas des œuvres de ce type à Paris) donné à la résidence de madame Pierson, née Bodin. Ancienne élève de la compositrice, celle-ci interpréta la partie de piano aux côtés de deux éminents musiciens parisiens : le flûtiste Louis Dorus, dédicataire de l’œuvre, et le violoncelliste Charles Joseph Lebouc. Les trois instruments ont une part égale dans le dramatique premier mouvement, qui met en lumière l’usage stylistique que fait Farrenc des variations continues de couleurs harmoniques. Dans l’andante, la flûte énonce une mélodie chantante qui se répète en divers contextes, y compris dans une section médiane tumultueuse. La flûte et le piano dominent le scherzo d’ambiance agitée; puis le violoncelle prend la tête du trio dans un lyrique duo avec la flûte. Vigueur et dynamisme marquent le finale avec son crépitement de notes quasi ininterrompu.

Le Beau composa son quatuor en 1883, alors qu’elle résidait à Munich. Elle le dédia au compositeur allemand Franz Lachner, auprès duquel elle avait récemment étudié. L’œuvre fut présentée lors d’une prestigieuse première qui se déroula au Gewandhaus de Leipzig le 1er décembre 1883. Il fut immédiatement encensé par la critique et interprété sur la scène internationale, y compris à Sydney (Australie) quelques années plus tard. Le premier mouvement s’ouvre sur un choral mélancolique pour les cordes, puis le piano s’empare de l’énergique thème principal de l’allegro enflammé; un deuxième thème, d’abord énoncé par le violoncelle, offre un doux contraste au thème principal. L’adagio est d’une tendresse exquise. Contrairement à l’habitude, Le Beau intègre une mazurka au scherzo, qui entoure un sublime intermezzo. Plein d’entrain, le finale de forme rondo comprend des moments de chaleur passionnée et reprend de manière fulgurante le thème principal de l’allegro d’ouverture, tout juste avant de se conclure.

Texte d’Hannah Chan-Hartley, D. Mus.  

*Ce concert aura lieu plus tôt à 17h HNE afin de se conformer aux directives provinciales COVID-19. Le concert restera disponible en ligne si vous manquez la représentation en direct.

Rachel Mercer © Rémi Thériault
Menu