Life Reflected at Luminato

[x] Close

NAC Orchestra rehearses I Lost My Talk (John Estacio), conducted by Alexander Shelley.

Fred Cattroll

Approximately 80 minutes with no intermission.

  • Zosha Di Castri Dear Life
  • Jocelyn Morlock My Name is Amanda Todd
  • Nicole Lizée Bondarsphere
  • John Estacio I Lost My Talk*

“Canada’s rich and dynamic history has provided the setting for some of the most captivating, personal and yet universal stories I have heard. What better way to share these stories than through the collaborative voices of some of the best artists and creators Canada has to offer.” - Alexander Shelley
 

Four Canadian composers created compelling musi­cal portraits of four exceptional Canadian women. Roberta Bondar, Rita Joe, Alice Munro, and Amanda Todd are the inspiration behind Life Reflected, a unique sym­phonic and multi-media celebration of youth, promise, and courage. The National Arts Centre Orchestra com­missioned four works by Zosha Di Castri, Jocelyn Morlock, Nicole Lizée, and John Estacio to create its largest pro­duction ever. The staging includes stunning projections, which immerse the audience in sound, motion picture, photography, and graphic design.

Dear Life, based on the short story by Alice Munro is a reflection on memory, childhood and the formative stages of life.

My Name is Amanda Todd tells the story of a vibrant 15-year-old who, after suffering for years from cyber abuse, spoke out against harassment and bullying on YouTube.

Dr. Roberta Bondar’s expertise as an astronaut, physi­cian, scientific researcher, and photographer have been interpreted in Bondarsphere.

I Lost My Talk, based on the poem by Mi’kmaw elder and poet Rita Joe, expresses Joe’s experience at Schubenacadie Residential School and is accompanied by a film by Barbara Willis Sweete, featuring choreography by Tekaronhiáhkhwa San­tee Smith performed on the shores of Georgian Bay. 

Under the artistic direction of Alexander Shelley, with Creative Pro­ducer and Director Donna Feore, and Visual and Stage Design by Normal, Life Reflected comes to Toronto for one night only following a sold out premiere performance in Ottawa in 2016.
 

A National Arts Centre Orchestra production presented by the NAC and Luminato

*Commissioned for the National Arts Centre Orchestra to commemorate the 75th birthday of The Right Honourable Joe Clark, P.C., C.C., A.O.E. by his family. 


NAC Orchestra Tour Patrons – Life Reflected at Luminato:
Janice & Earle O'Born

Supported by Joan and Jerry Lozinski

Videos

  • Life Reflected

  • Preview of My Name is Amanda Todd

  • Preview of Bondarsphere

Credits

Official Rail Partner
VIA Rail Canada
Menu

Réflexions sur la vie à Luminato

[x] Fermer

L'Orchestre du CNA répète I Lost My Talk (John Estacio), sous la baguette d'Alexander Shelley.

Fred Cattroll

Durée approximative de 80 minutes sans entracte.

  • Zosha Di Castri Dear Life
  • Jocelyn Morlock My Name is Amanda Todd
  • Nicole Lizée Bondarsphere
  • John Estacio I Lost My Talk*

« L’histoire riche et dynamique du Canada contient quelques-uns des récits les plus captivants, les plus personnels et aussi des plus universels qu’il m’ait été donné d’entendre. Quoi de mieux que de faire connaître ces récits par la voix de quelques-uns des meilleurs artistes et créateurs du Canada? » – Alexander Shelley
 

Quatre compositeurs canadiens ont fait le portrait en musique de quatre femmes d’exception de notre pays. Roberta Bondar, Rita Joe, Alice Munro et Amanda Todd ont inspiré le spectacle Réflexions sur la vie, qui célèbre la jeunesse, l’espoir et le courage dans un tour de force symphonique et multimédia unique en son genre. L’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts a passé commande de quatre œuvres musicales aux compositeurs Zosha Di Castri, Jocelyn Morlock, Nicole Lizée et John Estacio afin de créer sa plus grande production de tous les temps. Au cours de ce spectacle accompagné de captivantes projections, l’auditoire est plongé dans un univers de musique, d’images vidéo, de photos et d’illustrations graphiques.

Dear Life, d’après une nouvelle d’Alice Munro, propose une réflexion sur la mémoire, l’enfance et les années de formation.

My Name is Amanda Todd raconte l’histoire d’une adolescente de 15 ans pleine de vie qui, après avoir souffert de cyberintimidation pendant des années, décide de raconter son histoire sur YouTube pour dénoncer le harcèlement et l’intimidation.

L’œuvre intitulée Bondarsphere rend hommage à Roberta Bondar pour ses talents d’astronaute, de physicienne, de chercheure et de photographe.

I Lost My Talk s’inspire d’un poème éponyme dans lequel l’aînée et auteure micmaque Rita Joe raconte son expérience au pensionnat autochtone de Schubenacadie. L’œuvre est illustrée par un film de Barbara Willis Sweete tourné sur les rives de la baie géorgienne et montrant des danseurs interprétant une chorégraphie de Tekaronhiáhkhwa San­tee Smith. 

Sous la direction artistique d’Alexander Shelley, avec la collaboration de la productrice du contenu créatif et metteure en scène Donna Feore et de Normal pour le design visuel et scénique, le spectacle Réflexions sur la vie est présenté à Toronto, un soir seulement, après sa création à guichets fermés à Ottawa, en 2016.
 

Une production de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, présentée par le CNA et Luminato

*Œuvre commandée pour l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts par la famille du très honorable Joe Clark, C.P., C.C., A.O.E., en l’honneur de son 75e anniversaire.


Partenaires de la Tournée de l’Orchestre du CNA – Réflexions sur la vie au Festival Luminato: Janice et Earle O’Born

Vidéos

  • Réflexions sur la vie

  • Prévisualisations de My Name is Amanda Todd

  • Prévisualisations de BONDARSPHERE

crédits

Transporteur ferroviaire partenaire
VIA Rail Canada
Menu