Life Reflected

I Lost My Talk

Rita Joe

© Milan Podsedly

John Estacio

Composer

I Lost My Talk is based on the poem by Mi'kmaw elder and poet Rita Joe, C.M. Rita Joe penned her poem to express not only the pain and suffering she experienced at Schubenacadie Residential School in Nova Scotia, but also her hope and conviction that her words could guide and inspire indigenous and non-indigenous peoples across Canada to journey to a place of strength and healing. NAC award composer John Estacio has created a lush musical score which is performed in synergy with a film by world-renowned director Barbara Willis Sweete. 

The film, shot in High Definition on the shores of Georgian Bay, Ontario, features 10 First Nations dancers moving in choreography created by Santee Smith Tekaronhiáhkhwa, Artistic Director of Kaha:wi Dance Theatre. Rita Joe’s poem is narrated by Guna and Rappahannock actor Monique Mojica. Visual designers Normal bring the film to life on screens that immerse the orchestra and audience. (This work premiered January 14, 2016). Duration 20 minutes.

Commissioned for the National Arts Centre Orchestra to commemorate the 75th birthday of the Right Honourable Joe Clark, P.C., C.C., A.O.E. by his family.

“ She used to say writing was her therapy. She had a lot of painful memories and she had to get them out. She became a writer because she wasn’t allowed to write. The more they tried to break her will, the more she went her own way.”Ann Joe, Daugher of Mi’kmaw elder and poet Rita Joe C.M.

I Lost My Talk by Rita Joe

I lost my talk
The talk you took away.
When I was a little girl
At Shubenacadie school.

You snatched it away:
I speak like you
I think like you
I create like you
The scrambled ballad, about my word.

Two ways I talk
Both ways I say,
Your way is more powerful.

So gently I offer my hand and ask,
Let me find my talk
So I can teach you about me.

Alexander Shelley reflects on the creation of I Lost My Talk

In a way, we spend our lives searching for our sense of self. For most of us it is a slow burn, an adventure explored on our own terms, in our own time. For others, the sense of self is challenged brutally and abruptly – violently even. We see it across the world on a daily basis – peoples torn away, displaced, their cultures threatened as they yearn for a home that no longer exists.

This powerful performance explores the themes of exile, resistance and displacement and ultimately celebrates the triumph of the human spirit over adversity.

The great Mi’kmaw elder and poet Rita Joe, C.M. – as with the other composers on our program – faced an insidious attack on her identity and did so with honour, wisdom, integrity and enormous compassion. Her powerful message of hope encourages peaceful reconciliation and was the inspiration behind this unique symphonic experience that combines music, motion and film.

As soon as I read “I Lost My Talk”, I knew that I wanted to engage with it, that I wanted it to be part of our creative lives, that I wanted us to carry her beautiful and dignified message to our audiences both nationally and internationally. Importantly and poignantly, her message also transcends its Canadian roots at a time when more and more people of different heritages are having to learn to listen and to understand 

Donna Feore shares her experience with producing and directing I Lost My Talk

Rita Joe’s poem I Lost My Talk is mother to all the creative collaborations that make up this performance. It was my goal to unite each artist through their unique response to Rita Joe’s words — Rita’s language. No matter how disparate their disciplines, we would find ways to communicate, to inspire. Music is a language. Dance is a language. Film is a language. All three are universal. Rita’s is not. Rita’s is intensely personal and painful. And yet her story must be told and retold for it touches us, universally. Rita Joe is our Elder. I hope what follows proves with what devotion we have begun to listen.

John Estacio describes his composition I Lost My Talk

In fifteen lines of poetry, Rita Joe’s poem I Lost My Talk captures the discombobulating fear of being forced to leave one’s culture. Just as the poem is divided into four stanzas, the composition is divided into four uninterrupted movements.

A bucolic flute solo captures the narrator’s life prior to attending Shubenacadie Residential School. Strings play a hymn that suddenly transforms into a harsh musical environment; the flute melody is now fractured and lost within a foreign tonal soundscape.

Throughout the second movement, as shattered musical themes recover, the percussion and lower brass frequently interrupt, forcing the melody to regroup and move forward into an atmosphere that becomes relentlessly oppressive.

With the words “you snatched it away,” an aggressive third movement begins; the solo flute returns, swept up in frantic momentum. A percussion solo ushers the return of the hymn, now fraught and anguished. With the text “two ways I talk,” the hymn is played in two different keys simultaneously.

With “I offer my hand,” the noble fourth movement begins; here, an anthem for reconciliation soars as the narrator finds the courage to act as an ambassador, bringing peace and understanding to two different cultures as well as her own life.


I Lost My Talk - Film credits

Performers

Kennedy Bomberry

Jesse Dell

Josh DePerry

Ascension Harjo

William Merasty

Monique Mojica

Nimkii Osawamick

Santee Smith

Montana Summers

Alex Twin

Special thanks: Monica Côté, A.J. Demers, Milton Howe, Eugene Watts, Donna Zuchlinski, OMDC, Killbear Provincial Park

Produced by Willis Sweete Productions for the National Arts Centre, 2016

Normal, Visual and Stage Design

Samuel Greffe, Producer for Normal

Frédéric Cordier, Multimedia Director

Michel Greco, Editor & Colourist

Milan Podsedly, CSC Director of Photography

Susanne Ritzau, Line Producer

Trinni Franke, Associate Producer

Ryan Port, First Assistant Director

Paul Roberts, Second Assistant Director

Ariana Shaw, Third Assistant Director

Ann Baggley, Assistant to Donna Feore

Chrisann Hessing, Production Coordinator

Forbes Campbell, Script Supervisor

Teresa Przybylski, Costume Design

Michelle Tracey, Costume Assistant

Alex Mancini, Costume Assistant

Michelle Rivers, Costume Assistant

Andrea Heldman, Key Hair & Makeup

Heather Snowie, Hair & Makeup

Sasha Moric, Camera Operator – Ronin

Lori Longstaff, Tony Lippa, 1st Assistant Camera

Aaron Mallin, Bart Bialasik, 2nd Assistant Camera

Chris Bacik, Drone Operator

Silvio Bulgaret, Drone Operator

James Thurston, Gaffer

Paul Gettlich, Electric

Tom O’Reilly, Key Grip

Allan Schwartzenberger, Technical Supervisor-Data Management

Laury Dubé, Assistant Editor

Chris Daellenbach, Peter Oundjian, Production Assistants

Doug Pawis, Sharon Nanibush, Background Performers

Nathan Pamajewon, Debra Stanger, Mary J. Acosta

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour d'octobre 2020.
Réflexions sur la vie

I Lost My Talk

Rita Joe

© Milan Podsedly

John Estacio

Compositeur

I Lost My Talk est basé sur le texte du même nom de l’aînée et poète mi'kmaq Rita Joe, C.M. Dans son poème, l’auteure exprime non seulement le chagrin et la souffrance de son expérience au pensionnat Shubenacadie, en Nouvelle-Écosse, mais aussi son espoir et sa conviction de pouvoir inspirer, par ses mots, les peuples autochtones et non-autochtones de tout le Canada en les accompagnant vers un lieu de ressourcement et de guérison. John Estacio, compositeur lauréat du CNA, a créé une riche trame musicale, jouée en synchronie avec les images de la célèbre cinéaste Barbara Willis Sweete.

Le film, tourné en haute définition sur les rives de la baie Georgienne, en Ontario, regroupe dix danseurs des Premières Nations qui exécutent une chorégraphie de Santee Smith, directrice artistique du Kaha:wi Dance Theatre. Le poème de Rita Joe est narré par Monique Mojica, actrice d’ascendance Kuna et Rappahannock. Les concepteurs du studio Normal donnent vie au film sur les écrans qui plongent l'auditoire dans une expérience immersive. (Cette œuvre a été créée le 14 janvier 2016.) Durée : 20 minutes

œuvre commandée pour l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts par la famille du très honorable Joe Clark, C.P., C.C., A.O.E., en l’honneur de son 75e anniversaire.

« Elle disait qu’écrire était sa thérapie. Elle portait de nombreux souvenirs douloureux et avait besoin de les extérioriser. Elle était devenue écrivaine parce qu’on lui avait interdit d’écrire. Plus on cherchait à la briser, plus elle n’en faisait qu’à sa tête. »Ann Joe, fille de l’aînée et poète mi'kmaq Rita Joe, C.M.

I Lost My Talk par Rita Joe

J’ai perdu ma langue,
La parole que vous m’avez retirée
Lorsque j’étais petite fille
à l’école Shubenacadie.

Vous me l’avez arrachée :
Je parle comme vous
Je pense comme vous
Je crée comme vous
La confuse ballade de la parole qui est la mienne.

Je parle de deux manières
Et des deux manières, je dis
Que votre manière est la plus forte.

Alors, je tends la main tout doucement :
Laissez-moi retrouver ma langue
Pour que je puisse vous apprendre
qui je suis.

(Traducteur : Pascale Cormier)

Réflexions d’Alexander Shelley sur la création de I Lost My Talk

Nous passons d’une certaine façon notre vie dans la poursuite de qui nous sommes. Pour la plupart d’entre nous, cette quête s’effectue tout doucement et se vit comme une aventure que chacun mène à sa façon, à son rythme. Pour d’autres, cette quête de soi trouve sur son chemin des embûches brutales, abruptes, voire violentes. Tous les jours, on voit les difficultés qui se dressent dans le monde entier – des populations déchirées, déplacées, nostalgiques, devant leur culture menacée – d’un foyer qui n’existe plus.

Le programme à forte charge évocatrice de ce soir explore les thèmes de l’exil, de la résistance et du déplacement, et célèbre ultimement le triomphe de l’esprit humain sur l’adversité.

La grande poète et aînée mi’kmaq Rita Joe, C.M. – comme les autres compositeurs au programme – a été insidieusement attaquée dans son identité, un malheur auquel elle a fait face avec dignité, sagesse, intégrité et énormément de compassion. Son puissant message d’espoir appelant à une réconciliation pacifique a servi d’inspiration à cette expérience symphonique unique en son genre, qui combine musique, mouvement et cinéma.

Je me suis tout de suite attaché à “I Lost My Talk”, que j’ai souhaité inscrire dans notre univers créatif et dont j’ai voulu porter le message à la fois beau et digne à nos auditoires, au Canada et à l’étranger. Dans son œuvre, Rita Joe transcende aussi de manière forte et poignante ses racines canadiennes à une époque où de plus en plus de gens de différents horizons doivent apprendre à s’écouter et à se comprendre.

Donna Feore décrit son expérience comme productrice et metteure en scène de I Lost My Talk

Le poème I Lost My Talk de Rita Joe est le matériau de base de toutes les collaborations artistiques qui ont donné naissance à ce spectacle. J’ai voulu créer un tout à partir de la réponse distincte que chacun des artistes réunis a apportée aux paroles de Rita Joe — à son langage. Aussi disparates soient leurs disciplines respectives, le but poursuivi était de trouver des façons de communiquer, d’inspirer. La musique est un langage… la danse aussi… et le cinéma. Trois langages universels. Ce n’est pas le cas du langage de Rita qui, lui, est profondément personnel et douloureux. Et pourtant, l’histoire de Rita doit être racontée, encore et encore, car elle nous touche tous, universellement. Rita Joe est notre aînée. J’espère que vous trouverez dans ce concert la preuve du sérieux avec lequel nous avons commencé à prêter l’oreille.

John Estacio explique comment il a composé I Lost My Talk

Dans I Lost My Talk, poème de quinze vers, Rita Joe décrit la crainte bouleversante d’être dépouillée de sa culture. À l’image de ce poème de quatre paragraphes, la composition musicale est divisée en quatre mouvements sans pause.

Un solo de flûte bucolique évoque la vie que menait la narratrice avant d’être envoyée au pensionnat de Shubenacadie. Les cordes jouent un hymne qui prend soudain l’allure d’un environnement musical hostile; la mélodie jouée par la flûte est maintenant brisée et perdue dans un paysage sonore d’une tonalité étrangère.

Pendant tout le deuxième mouvement, tandis que les thèmes musicaux se reforment, la percussion et les cuivres dans leur registre grave interrompent fréquemment la mélodie, la forçant à se reconstituer et à poursuivre dans une atmosphère de plus en plus oppressante.

C’est avec les mots « Vous me l’avez arrachée » que débute un troisième mouvement agressif; la flûte solo est de retour, emportée dans un élan frénétique. Un solo de percussion accueille le retour de l’hymne, qui revêt cette fois un caractère tendu et inquiet. Pour accompagner le vers « Je parle de deux manières », l’hymne est joué simultanément dans deux tonalités différentes.

Le quatrième mouvement, une musique au ton noble, débute sur les mots « Alors, je tends la main »; ici, un hymne de réconciliation s’élève, tandis que la narratrice trouve le courage de se faire la messagère de la paix et de la compréhension entre deux cultures différentes, apportant du même coup l’apaisement dans sa propre vie.


I Lost My Talk - Générique

Interprètes

Kennedy Bomberry

Jesse Dell

Josh DePerry

Ascension Harjo

William Merasty

Monique Mojica

Nimkii Osawamick

Santee Smith

Montana Summers

Alex Twin

Remerciements particuliers : Monica Côté, A.J. Demers, Milton Howe, Eugene Watts, Donna Zuchlinski, OMDC, Parc provincial Killbear

Une production de Willis Sweete Productions pour le Centre national des Arts, 2016 

Normal, Design visuel et scénique

Samuel Greffe, Producteur pour Normal

Frédéric Cordier, Directeur du multimédia

Michel Greco, Monteur et coloriste

Milan Podsedly, Directeur de la photographie

Susanne Ritzau, Régisseuse générale

Trinni Franke, Productrice associée

Ryan Port, Premier assistant réalisateur

Paul Roberts, Deuxième assistant réalisateur

Ariana Shaw, Troisième assistante réalisatrice

Ann Baggley, Assistante de Donna Feore

Chrisann Hessing, Coordonnatrice de la production

Forbes Campbell, Superviseur du scénario

Teresa Przybylski, Conceptrice des costumes

Michelle Tracey, Assistante costumière

Alex Mancini, Assistante costumière

Michelle Rivers, Assistante costumière

Andrea Heldman, Chef, Coiffures et maquillages

Heather Snowie, Coiffures et maquillages

Sasha Moric, Cadreur

Lori Longstaff, Tony Lippa, 1ers assistants-cadreurs

Aaron Mallin, Bart Bialasik, 2es assistants-cadreurs

Chris Bacik, Opérateur de drone

Silvio Bulgaret, Opérateur de drone

James Thurston, Chef-électricien

Paul Gettlich, Électricien

Tom O’Reilly, Chef machiniste

Allan Schwartzenberger, Superviseur technique-Gestion de données

Laury Dubé, Assistant-monteur

Chris Daellenbach, Peter Oundjian, Adjoints à la production

Doug Pawis, Sharon Nanibush, Figurants

Nathan Pamajewon, Debra Stanger, Mary J. Acosta

Menu