50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it! (Starting in:
)

Project Updates

Reflection: Christopher Deacon

On May 19, 2016, Canada’s NAC Orchestra performed the world premiere of Life Reflected. It was the most ambitious concert in the history of the Orchestra, for many reasons. It was created by multiple composers, in collaboration with multiple artists, across many disciplines. Its multimedia presentation challenged the convention of what an orchestra concert could be.

But the work’s true power lies in its subject matter – stories that present the female perspectives of four remarkable Canadians:  Alice Munro, Amanda Todd, Roberta Bondar and Rita Joe. Each faced great challenges in their lives, yet each spoke with a strong, distinct voice that made an impact on our world. In 2017, Life Reflected was performed in cities across Canada during the Orchestra’s Canada 150 Tour, to great acclaim. This spring, the Orchestra will be performing this ambitious, truly Canadian work for international audiences during its European Tour in honour of the NAC’s 50th anniversary.


Reflection: Alexander Shelley

Life Reflected tells powerful stories through the eyes, ears and words of some of Canada’s finest creative artists. It is an immersive, multidisciplinary work without an interval, an unbroken, focused, intense and dramatic experience from beginning to end.

During the creation of this unique symphonic experience, it has been an honour to bring together four exemplary Canadian composers in collaboration with an ensemble of extraordinary Canadian performers and multi-media artists, all under the inspiring leadership of Creative Producer & Director Donna Feore.

Canadian arts and culture continue to captivate audiences worldwide thanks to compelling stories such as those of these remarkable women, each of whom found voice through sacrifice and challenge. They have been an inspiration to me. And while some of the subject matter is born from painful memories, it is my belief that Life Reflected will prove a redeeming and hopeful experience for us all.


Life Reflected explores the lives of four exceptional Canadian women. Alice Munro, Roberta Bondar, Amanda Todd and Rita Joe, each in their own unique way, encourage us to see, and to see with fresh eyes. My challenge was to find a way of telling their stories in an orchestral setting that embraced their vision. Believing that many heads are better than one, I assembled an exceptional group of collaborators who drew their inspiration from these extraordinary women. And though each element is capable of standing alone, we built on the impact of the foundational orchestral work of four magical composers led by the incomparable Alexander Shelley, in the hope that we might arrive somewhere new.

The brilliant visual design team at Normal became the heartbeat of our effort. They made it possible to integrate the work of our wonderful collaborators; musicians, photographers, filmmakers, actors, dancers and singers into a seamless whole.

Dr. Bondar has seen us from afar. Alice Munro has seen us from within. Amanda Todd shared her heart and Rita Joe shared her soul. I hope the experience of Life Reflected will thrill and move you as much as it has enlightened and inspired me.


With Our Gratitude 

Dasha Shenkman

The National Arts Centre Foundation wishes to pay special tribute to Dasha Shenkman, OBE. A lifetime supporter of the arts, Ms. Shenkman, a native of Ottawa currently living in London, U.K., has been involved with a number of arts organizations throughout the years, either at board level or as a consultant. She and her brother Bill established a series of concerts at the National Gallery (London) performed by students from the Royal College of Music, in memory of their mother Belle Shenkman. Ms. Shenkman is a trustee of the Concordia Foundation, an organization that builds bridges through music and the arts, as well as on Tate International Council and The Better Planet Project Council at the University of Guelph, where she initiated a series of lectures in Contemporary Art at the School of Fine Art and Music.

In 2013, she received the Royal College of Music’s (RCM) Honorary Membership for her philanthropy, which was awarded by RCM President, His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales. In 2015, she was awarded Order of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (OBE).

Ms. Shenkman has been an enthusiastic champion of Life Reflected since its inception. We would like to thank her for her outstanding support of Life Reflected and for contributing to Canadian creation.



Dear Life: Reflection

Merilyn Simonds, author

When the NAC Orchestra approached me to adapt Alice Munro’s story “Dear Life” for symphony, I was in the process of reading all of Alice Munro’s short stories, in order. Rereading, rather, as I had waited impatiently for each new story to appear since I read Dance of the Happy Shades as a girl of eighteen. I grew up in a small town not far from Alice Munro’s home town, longing like her to escape. As I became a writer and got to know her, I was inspired by her unsentimental, clear-eyed embrace of the world she was born into, a world she has explored in literature for 50 years. 

From her most recent story of several thousand words, I was asked to distill a work of only 500 words that would be the basis for the symphony and for Martha Henry’s recording. All of the words are Alice Munro’s; I have added none of my own, though the order of some events has been shifted for clarity.

It is a testament to Alice Munro’s generosity as a writer that she welcomes the creative play that an adaptation entails. And it is a testament to the authenticity and purity of her prose that such distillation is possible, the essence of her characters and themes vitally present in this new version of “Dear Life.”

My Name is Amanda Todd: Reflection

Carol Todd, mother of Amanda Todd

Having my daughter remembered in a production produced by the National Arts Centre, alongside three notable Canadian women, is an honour in itself, and those of us who knew Amanda are so very proud of this. 

Missing Amanda has played a huge part in my life and it was difficult for me to envision what the NAC wanted to create and present, but as time went on, the vision became clearer. Giving permission to use Amanda’s story in a venue of both visual and performing arts was a dream come true for Amanda’s Legacy. My daughter evolved around the sights and sounds of both art and music. 

When I first met Donna Feore it was like meeting an old friend and getting reacquainted. Stories were shared and ideas crystallized. For the next year and a half, we stayed in communication. Listening to the music with Donna and Normal Studio for the first time was very emotional for me. It evoked emotions of joy, anger, sadness, and then peace. Together, we sat in silence with emotional tears in our eyes. I have no doubt that my daughter will be portrayed as a beautiful snowflake, symbolic of her unique individualism and fragility. 

I want to express my appreciation to those who believe that there was a message of HOPE within Amanda’s story, and to send a message of thanks to those who BELIEVE and CARE. The NAC team worked to create a truer meaning of Amanda with her legacy – a spectacular representation of my snowflake princess Amanda in a production called Life Reflected.

I Lost My Talk: Reflection

Tekaronhiáhkhwa Santee Smith, film choreographer

Rita Joe’s simple and poignant poem I Lost My Talk reflects the complexity of First Nations people’s residential school experience and the resulting intergenerational trauma which still plays out in today’s society. As an artist, I can identify with Rita Joe’s wish to share her stories and experience with the goal to empower and educate. It is important to keep telling our narratives, which originate from the land, language and ancestral knowing, to continue to write, speak and dance our existence. As we look to the hope of reconciliation, let it move beyond an intellectual concept into embodied actions, and away from reconciling ourselves to colonialism.

Frances Sylliboy, daughter of Rita Joe

I have always called my mom a genius. She was a very determined woman, who did so much for so many. Through her words, she stood up and won the fight. 

When she first moved to Eskasoni, she was teased about her broken Mi’kmaw language. When I read the first paragraph of her poem I Lost My Talk, it says a lot. 

Mom used to say she would become famous after she dies. And lo and behold, her poem is now a film and musical piece. 

We were so excited to see the finished production of her poem. At the premiere, when we entered the NAC, it felt like a dream. Hearing our mother’s words spoken out loud by Monique Mojica for the first time, it brought life to the poem. It was a moment that we will never forget. I felt very emotional. I was overwhelmed when the music started and the film played on screen. There was a moment when I grabbed my husband’s shoulder to cry, but I quickly got my composure back because I did not want to miss a second of the show. 

We would like to thank Alexander Shelley, John Estacio, the NAC Orchestra, Donna Feore and all the staff at the NAC who did a marvelous job. 

Upon seeing this performance I believe my mom was dancing for joy. She was indeed a gentle warrior and the legacy she has left behind gives Mi’kmaq children hope for the future.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de novembre 2020.

Mises à jour sur le projet

Réflexion : Christopher Deacon

Le 19 mai 2016, l’Orchestre du CNA du Canada présentait en création mondiale Réflexions sur la vie. Il s’agissait, à maints égards, du concert le plus ambitieux de l’histoire de l’ensemble. Créée par plusieurs compositeurs, en collaboration avec de nombreux artistes de différentes disciplines, cette présentation multimédia élargit considérablement la définition de ce que peut être un concert orchestral. 

Mais la puissance de l’œuvre tient d’abord à son sujet : des récits qui offrent les perspectives de quatre Canadiennes remarquables, soit Alice Munro, Amanda Todd, Roberta Bondar et Rita Joe. Chacune d’elles a fait face à de grandes difficultés au cours de sa vie, mais ne s’en est pas moins exprimée d’une voix forte et distinctive qui s’est fait entendre à l’échelle du monde. En 2017, Réflexions sur la vie a été présenté dans plusieurs villes du Canada dans le cadre de la Tournée Canada 150 de l’Orchestre, s’attirant une pluie d’éloges. Au printemps, l’ensemble interprètera cette œuvre ambitieuse et authentiquement canadienne sur la scène mondiale à la faveur d’une tournée européenne soulignant le 50e anniversaire du CNA.


Réflexion : Alexander Shelley

Le programme Réflexions sur la vie raconte des histoires puissantes évoquées en images, en sons et en paroles par quelques-uns des plus brillants créateurs canadiens. Il s’agit d’une œuvre immersive multidisciplinaire qui se déploie tout d’un trait, intense, dramatique, réconfortante, nous transportant du début à la fin. 

J’ai eu l’honneur de confier à quatre compositeurs canadiens accomplis une mission, celle de collaborer avec un formidable groupe d’interprètes et d’artistes du multimédia à la création de cette expérience symphonique unique en son genre, sous le leadership inspiré de la productrice du contenu créatif et metteure en scène Donna Feore. 

Les arts et la culture de ce pays captivent sans cesse les auditoires du monde entier à travers des récits passionnants comme ceux de ces femmes remarquables qui ont chacune trouvé leur voix au prix de sacrifices et de luttes. Ces histoires ont été pour moi une source d’inspiration. Si certaines évoquent des souvenirs douloureux, je crois intimement que chacun de nous trouvera dans Réflexions sur la vie un message libérateur, un message d’espoir.


Réflexions sur la vie retrace le parcours de quatre Canadiennes d’exception. Alice Munro , Roberta Bondar, Amand a Todd et Rita Joe nous invitent, chacune à sa manière, à porter sur les choses un regard nouveau. Le défi que j’avais était de trouver une façon de raconter leur histoire dans une installation orchestrale qui embrasse la vision de chacune. Partant de cette idée que plusieurs têtes valent mieux qu’une, j’ai réuni un groupe exceptionnel de collaborateurs qui se sont laissé inspirer par ces femmes extraordinaires. Bien que chaque élément se tienne par lui-même, nous avons construit quelque chose à partir de l’œuvre orchestrale de quatre compositeurs de génie placés sous la conduite de l’incomparable Alexander Shelley, dans l’espoir que ça puisse nous mener quelque part.

La brillante équipe de design visuel Normal est devenue le cœur battant de cette aventure. Elle a rendu possible l’intégration harmonieuse des œuvres de nos superbes collaborateurs — musiciens, photographes, cinéastes, comédiens, danseursetchanteurs.

La Dre Bondar a observé notre monde depuis l’univers. Alice Munro l’a regardé de l’intérieur. Amanda Todd a ouvert son cœur et Rita Joe a livré son esprit. J’espère que ce spectacle saura vous captiver et vous émouvoir autant qu’il m’a éclairée et inspirée.


La Fondation du CNA souhaite rendre hommage à une ardente défenseure des arts de toujours, Dasha Shenkman, OBE. Originaire d’Ottawa et établie aujourd’hui à Londres, Mme Shenkman a, au fil des ans, apporté son soutien à diverses organisations artistiques, tantôt à titre d’administratrice, tantôt comme consultante. Elle et son frère Bill ont lancé à la National Gallery de Londres, à la mémoire de leur mère Belle Shenkman, une série de concerts mettant en vedette des étudiants du Royal College of Music. Mme Shenkman siège au conseil d’administration de la Concordia Foundation, une organisation qui vise à favoriser le bien-être des gens par des initiatives axées sur la musique et les arts. Elle est également administratrice au sein du Tate International Council, ainsi que du Better Planet Council de l’Université de Guelph, où elle est l’instigatrice d’une série de conférences sur l’art contemporain présentée à l’École des beaux-arts et de la musique de cette université.

En 2013, elle a reçu, en reconnaissance de son action philanthropique, le titre de Membre d’honneur du Royal College of Music (RCM) des mains du président du RCM, Son Altesse Royale le prince de Galles. Et en 2015, elle a été décorée de l’Order of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire — OBE.

Mme Shenkman a soutenu dès le début avec enthousiasme le projet Réflexions sur la vie. Nous tenons à souligner sa contribution exceptionnelle à cette initiative, ainsi qu’à l’activité de création au Canada.



Dear Life : Réflexion

Merilyn Simonds, auteure

Quand l’Orchestre du CNA m’a pressentie pour réaliser une adaptation pour une œuvre symphonique du récit de « Dear Life » (Rien que la vie en vf.) d’Alice Munro, j’étais justement en train de lire, dans l’ordre, l’ensemble de ses nouvelles. Je devrais plutôt dire « relire », car depuis la lecture, à 18 ans, de Dance of the Happy Shades (La danse des ombres en vf.), j’avais toujours attendu impatiemment chaque nouvelle parution de l’auteure. J’ai grandi dans une petite localité située non loin de la ville natale d’Alice Munro, rêvant tout comme elle de fuir. Devenue écrivaine à mon tour, je l’ai connue personnellement. J’ai été inspirée par sa façon réaliste et sans détour d’embrasser l’univers où elle était née, un univers qu’elle a exploré pendant 50 ans à travers la littérature. 

On m’a donné pour tâche d’extraire de son plus récent récit de plusieurs milliers de mots un distillat de tout juste 500 mots qui formerait la base d’une œuvre symphonique et que livrerait Martha Henry sous forme d’enregistrement. Tous les mots sont d’Alice. Aucun n’est de moi; j’ai simplement modifié l’ordre de certains événements par souci de clarté.

J’ai voulu témoigner de la générosité d’Alice Munro qui, comme auteure, ouvre les bras au jeu créatif qu’entraîne une adaptation. Témoigner aussi de l’authenticité et de la pureté de sa prose qui a rendu possible un tel distillat et permis de recréer dans cette nouvelle version de « Dear Life » l’essence même de ses personnages et des thèmes qu’elle aborde.

My Name is Amanda Todd : Réflexion

Carol Todd, mère d’Amanda Todd

Le fait qu’on célèbre la mémoire de ma fille dans une production du Centre national des Arts, aux côtés de trois éminentes Canadiennes, est un honneur en soi qui suscite énormément de fierté chez ceux et celles qui ont connu Amanda. 

La perte d’Amanda a laissé un vide immense dans ma vie, et j’ai eu du mal à imaginer ce que le CNA voulait créer et présenter. Mais avec le temps, les choses sont apparues plus claires. En permettant que soit relatée l’histoire de ma fille à travers un projet d’arts visuels et d’arts de la scène, j’ai vu son héritage devenir réalité. L’art et la musique meublaient l’univers visuel et sonore d’Amanda. 

Lors de ma première rencontre avec Donna Feore, j’ai eu l’impression de retrouver une vieille amie. Nous avons échangé des histoires, et des idées se sont fixées. Nous sommes restées en contact pendant les 18 mois qui ont suivi. J’ai été saisie d’émotion en entendant pour la première fois la musique avec Donna et l’équipe du studio de design visuel NORMAL. Des sentiments de joie, de colère, de tristesse, puis de paix m’ont envahie. Nous étions assis ensemble en silence, les larmes aux yeux. Je vois déjà ma fille représentée comme un beau flocon de neige, symbole de son unicité et de sa fragilité.

Je veux témoigner ma reconnaissance à tous ceux et celles qui ont vu dans l’histoire d’Amanda un message d’ESPOIR, et remercier les gens qui ont des CONVICTIONS et le SOUCI des autres. L’équipe du CNA s’est employée à donner un sens plus vrai à l’héritage d’Amanda − l’image spectaculaire d’un flocon de neige représentant ma princesse Amanda dans une production intitulée Réflexions sur la vie.

I Lost My Talk : Réflexion

Tekaronhiáhkhwa Santee Smith, chorégraphe du film

Dans son poème simple et poignant intitulé J’ai perdu ma langue, Rita Joe exprime la complexité de l’expérience qu’ont vécue des membres des Premières Nations au temps du régime des pensionnats autochtones, et le traumatisme intergénérationnel encore présent dans la société d’aujourd’hui. Comme artiste, je m’identifie au désir de Rita Joe de partager ses histoires et son vécu dans l’optique d’éduquer les gens et de leur donner une voix. Il est important de continuer à relater nos histoires, ancrées dans le territoire, la langue et les traditions ancestrales, de continuer à raconter nos vies par l’écriture, la parole et la danse. Dans notre quête de réconciliation, allons au-delà de la dimension intellectuelle du processus pour incarner véritablement nos actions et pour nous affranchir du colonialisme.

Frances Sylliboy, fille de Rita Joe

Ma mère a toujours été pour moi un génie. C’était une femme très déterminée, qui a fait tant de choses pour tellement de gens. À travers ses mots, elle s’est tenue debout et est sortie victorieuse. 

Quand elle est arrivée à Eskasoni, on la narguait au sujet de sa langue mi’kmaq brisée. Je trouve que la première strophe de son poème I Lost My Talk (« J’ai perdu ma langue ») en dit long. 

Maman disait qu’elle deviendrait célèbre après sa mort. Voilà que son poème a fait l’objet d’une adaptation à l’écran et d’une pièce musicale. 

Nous étions si enthousiastes de voir le produit fini. En arrivant au CNA le soir de la première, on avait l’impression de rêver. En entendant pour la première fois les mots jaillir de la bouche de Monique Mojica, on a senti le poème prendre vie. C’est un moment que nous n’oublierons jamais. J’étais remplie d’émotions. Quand la musique a commencé et que l’écran s’est animé, j’ai été bouleversée. À un moment donné, j’ai pleuré sur l’épaule de mon mari, mais je me suis vite ressaisie parce que je ne voulais pas rater une seconde du spectacle. 

Nous tenons à remercier Alexander Shelley, John Estacio, l’Orchestre du CNA, Donna Feore et toute l’équipe du CNA, qui ont fait un travail fantastique. 

Je suis certaine que ma mère a dansé de joie en voyant cette prestation. Elle était une gentille guerrière, et l’héritage qu’elle a laissé donne aux enfants mi’kmaq de quoi espérer en l’avenir.

Menu