Christopher Deacon | © Serge Gouin
President and Chief Executive Officer

Christopher Deacon

Christopher Deacon was born on October 22, 1958, in Montreal. He grew up in Gatineau, Quebec.

Passionate about music, Mr. Deacon trained as a composer. He studied piano, harmony and solfège at the Conservatoire de Musique du Québec in Hull. He later received a Bachelor of Music degree in Composition from the University of Toronto. Before coming to the NAC, he was Director of Operations for the Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony, and Coordinator of Grants and Artists at the National Youth Orchestra of Canada. He began his arts administration career in 1982 as the administrator of the Toronto new music concert series Arraymusic.

Christopher Deacon joined the National Arts Centre Orchestra as Tour Manager in 1987. He became Orchestra Manager in 1989 and Managing Director in 1996. Under Mr. Deacon’s leadership, the NAC Orchestra has developed a well-earned reputation as one of the most ambitious and innovative touring music ensembles in North America. He planned and executed dozens of complex tours featuring hundreds of concerts and music education events to countries such as China, the U.S., Mexico, Israel, Italy, Germany, France, and the United Kingdom – as well as to numerous communities throughout Canada.

Vitally interested in contemporary music and the creation of new work, Christopher Deacon has helped usher in a variety of initiatives in support of Canadian creators such as the National Arts Centre Award for Canadian Composers, the NAC Composer Program, and commissions for the creation of more than 25 new compositions.

Christopher Deacon’s passion for new music was evident in his relentless support for the creation of a bold multimedia orchestral work called Life Reflected, the NAC Orchestra’s largest production ever, produced and directed by Donna Feore. In 2016, with Music Director Alexander Shelley, he commissioned three outstanding female composers and one male composer - Zosha Di Castri, Jocelyn Morlock, Nicole Lizée, and John Estacio – to create works about four exceptional Canadian women:  Roberta Bondar, Rita Joe, Alice Munro, and Amanda Todd. The NAC Orchestra presented the work during its recent Canada 150 tour and is set to take it to Europe as part of its next major tour in 2019. Vancouver composer Jocelyn Morlock’s work “My Name is Amanda Todd” won the JUNO Award for the 2018 Classical Composition of the Year.

Christopher Deacon has also championed digital outreach at the NAC Orchestra through the development of various initiatives such as podcasts, online streaming and distance learning, as well as traditional media such as television and CDs.

Christopher Deacon was chair of the steering committee overseeing the NAC’s $225.4M Architectural and Production Renewal Project. Despite tight timelines for planning and construction, the first phase of the NAC’s expanded and rejuvenated building was opened on time on July 1, 2017 – 150th anniversary of Canadian Confederation – by HRH Prince Charles, former Governor General David Johnston and Heritage Minister Mélanie Joly, and has garnered widespread praise.

Christopher Deacon led the recruitment search for the Orchestra’s former Music Director Pinchas Zukerman in 1998, and the search for the current Music Director Alexander Shelley. Both music directors have transformed the NAC Orchestra into a top-tier international orchestra.

Deacon worked closely with Pinchas Zukerman to expand the Orchestra (from 46 to 62 musicians) and introduce a varied repertoire that had broader appeal for audiences at the NAC and on tour.

He introduced several initiatives to attract younger, more diverse audiences to the Orchestra, notably Casual Fridays, WolfGANG Sessions, and collaborative creations such as Life Reflected and – with the NAC’s Executive Producer of Dance Cathy Levy – ENCOUNT3RS.

He worked with Pinchas Zukerman and successive directors of education to greatly expand the reach and impact of the NAC Orchestra’s education and outreach programming including the creation of the Young Artist Program, the Summer Music Institute, the ArtsAlive.ca Website, and partnerships across Canada and internationally.

Education and community engagement programming has expanded during his tenure. The NAC Orchestra created the Summer Music Institute in 1999 which has since provided training for over 1,000 exceptionally gifted young artists from across Canada and around the world, and the Music Alive Program which provides in-classroom music experiences for children in mostly rural schools in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Nunavut.

Christopher Deacon lives in Ottawa with his wife Gwen Goodier. Together they have a daughter, Charlotte, born in 1997. He is step-father to Ms. Goodier’s children, Katherine and Peter.

Menu

Christopher Deacon | © Serge Gouin
Président et chef de la direction

Christopher Deacon

Ottawa · ON

Christopher Deacon est né le 22 octobre 1958 à Montréal. Il a grandi à Gatineau, au Québec.

Passionné de musique, M. Deacon est compositeur de formation. Il a étudié le piano, l’harmonie et le solfège au Conservatoire de musique du Québec à Hull. Il a plus tard obtenu un baccalauréat en composition de l’Université de Toronto. Avant de se joindre à l’équipe du CNA, il a été directeur des opérations à l’Orchestre symphonique de Kitchener-Waterloo, et coordonnateur du volet Subventions et Artistes à l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada. C’est en 1982, à Toronto, qu’il a amorcé sa carrière en administration des arts, à titre d’administrateur de la série de concerts de musique nouvelle Arraymusic.

Christopher Deacon s’est joint à l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts en 1987 comme gestionnaire de tournée, avant de devenir gestionnaire de l’Orchestre en 1989, puis directeur administratif en 1996. Grâce à son leadership, l’Orchestre du CNA est aujourd’hui considéré comme l’un des orchestres de tournée les plus ambitieux et innovateurs en Amérique du Nord. M. Deacon a planifié et exécuté des dizaines de tournées complexes comprenant des centaines de concerts et d’activités éducatives dans des pays comme la Chine, les États-Unis, le Mexique, Israël, l’Italie, l’Allemagne, la France et le Royaume-Uni, sans oublier de nombreuses régions du Canada.

Affichant un vif intérêt pour la musique contemporaine et la création de nouvelles œuvres, M. Deacon a contribué à l’éclosion d’une série d’initiatives du CNA en appui aux créateurs canadiens, notamment le Prix de composition, le Programme des compositeurs ainsi que la commande de plus de 25 nouvelles œuvres.

La passion de Christopher Deacon pour la musique nouvelle s’est aussi traduite par un appui indéfectible au projet Réflexions sur la vie. Ce grand concert symphonique multimédia, produit et mis en scène par Donna Feore, est la plus importante production de l’histoire de l’Orchestre du CNA. En 2016, en collaboration avec le directeur musical Alexander Shelley, M. Deacon a demandé à quatre compositeurs exceptionnels, trois femmes (Zosha Di Castri, Jocelyn Morlock, Nicole Lizée) et un homme (John Estacio), de rendre hommage en musique à quatre Canadiennes remarquables : Roberta Bondar, Rita Joe, Alice Munro et Amanda Todd. Le concert, qui faisait partie de la récente Tournée Canada 150, sera aussi présenté en Europe lors de la prochaine grande tournée de l’Orchestre en 2019. La pièce My Name is Amanda Todd, de la Vancouvéroise Jocelyn Morlock, a remporté le JUNO de la Composition classique de l’année en 2018.

Christopher Deacon a aussi contribué au développement des activités de rayonnement de l’Orchestre du CNA par diverses initiatives numériques comme des balados, la diffusion en continu et l’apprentissage à distance ainsi que par des moyens de communication traditionnels comme la télévision et les CD.

M. Deacon a par ailleurs présidé le comité directeur du Projet de renouvellement architectural et des équipements de production du CNA. Malgré un échéancier de planification et de construction serré, la première phase de l’agrandissement et de la modernisation du CNA s’est terminée à temps pour la cérémonie d’inauguration, qui a eu lieu le 1er juillet 2017, jour du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne, en présence de S.A.R. le prince Charles, de l’ex-gouverneur général David Johnston et de la ministre du Patrimoine canadien Mélanie Joly. Depuis, le projet a recueilli de nombreux éloges.

Christopher Deacon a géré le processus de recrutement de deux directeurs musicaux de l’Orchestre du CNA, soit Pinchas Zukerman en 1998 et Alexander Shelley, le titulaire actuel du poste. Ces deux directeurs musicaux ont fait de l’Orchestre du CNA un ensemble de premier plan reconnu mondialement.

M. Deacon a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec Pinchas Zukerman pour agrandir l’Orchestre (qui est passé de 46 à 62 musiciens) et présenter un répertoire varié qui attirerait un plus large auditoire au CNA et en tournée.

Il a aussi mis en place plusieurs initiatives pour rajeunir et diversifier les auditoires de l’Orchestre, dont les Vendredis décontractés, les Sessions WolfGANG et des projets de création collaboratifs comme Réflexions sur la vie et – avec la productrice générale de Danse CNA, Cathy Levy – RENCONTR3S.

M. Deacon a aussi travaillé avec Pinchas Zukerman et la direction de l’Éducation musicale pour élargir la portée et l’impact des activités d’éducation et de rayonnement de l’Orchestre du CNA, notamment par la création du Programme des jeunes artistes, de l’Institut estival de musique, du site Web Artsvivants.ca et de divers partenariats nationaux et internationaux.

La programmation éducative et communautaire de l’ensemble s’est d’ailleurs accrue depuis son arrivée en poste. L’Orchestre du CNA a en effet créé en 1999 l’Institut estival de musique, initiative qui, à ce jour, a procuré une formation à au-delà de 1000 jeunes artistes au talent exceptionnel de partout au Canada et du monde entier. M. Deacon a aussi mis sur pied le programme Vive la musique, qui propose des expériences musicales en classe dans des écoles de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Nunavut situées pour la plupart en milieu rural.

Christopher Deacon habite à Ottawa avec son épouse, Gwen Goodier. Le couple a une fille, Charlotte, née en 1997. M. Deacon est aussi le beau-père des enfants de Mme Goodier, Katherine et Peter.

Menu