Events scheduled on our stages and public spaces are going ahead as planned.
 |
Composer

John Estacio

Edmonton · Alberta · Canada

video:
The music is breathing, alive and filling the room. Creation is current, immediate — today. John Estacio

Composer John Estacio is a recipient of the National Arts Centre Award for Composers (2009)– a major prize that includes the commissioning of three works for the National Arts Centre Orchestra, the first of which is Brio: Toccata and Fantasy for Orchestra. The NAC Orchestra premiered Mr. Estacio’s Brio in Ottawa and performed it on tour throughout Canada’s Atlantic provinces in 2011, during the China Tour in 2013, and the UK Tour in 2014. The UK Tour will also feature the world premiere of Mr. Estacio’s latest NAC commission, Wind Quintet.

Mr. Estacio has written three operas including Lillian Alling, which premiered in October 2010 by the Vancouver Opera. Filumena, his first opera, premiered in 2003 in Calgary and Banff, and went on to receive four Betty Mitchell Awards, including one for outstanding production. Filumena was filmed for television and broadcast on PBS and the CBC. As composer-in-residence for several orchestras, Mr. Estacio created several compositions and recorded some of them on the JUNO nominated CD “Frenergy, the Music of John Estacio,” released by CBC Records.

Mr. Estacio’s orchestral works have been performed at Carnegie Hall, by the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, and by the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra. The Royal Winnipeg Ballet featured several of Mr. Estacio’s orchestral works in Wonderland – a ballet choreographed by Shawn Hounsell. He composed an orchestral score for the new ballet King Arthur’s Camelot by the Cincinnati Ballet which premiered in February 2014. The Los Angeles Philharmonic and acclaimed tenor Ben Heppner toured Europe with Mr. Estacio’s arrangement of Seven Songs by Jean Sibelius.

Menu

|
compositeur

John Estacio

Edmonton · Alberta · Canada

video:
La musique respire, s’anime et remplit la salle. Créer, c’est vivre dans l’instant présent, dans l’immédiat – maintenant. John Estacio

Le compositeur primé aux JUNO John Estacio a remporté en 2009 le Prix des compositeurs du Centre national des Arts, une distinction prestigieuse assortie d’une commande de trois œuvres pour l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts. La première de ces pièces, intitule Brio : Toccata et Fantaisie pour orchestre, a été créée par l’Orchestre du CNA à Ottawa, puis présentée durant les tournées de l’ensemble au Canada atlantique (2011) et en Chine (2013). Elle figure également au programme de la tournée au R.-U., tout comme le Quintette à vent, plus récente commande du CNA au compositeur, présenté en première mondiale.

On doit à John Estacio trois opéras, don’t Lillian Alling, que le Vancouver Opera a donné en première en octobre 2010. Sa première œuvre opératique, Filumena, créée à Calgary et à Banff en 2003, a été couronnée de quatre prix Betty-Mitchell, dont celui de la Meilleure production. Elle a été filmée pour la télévision et diffusée aux réseaux PBS et CBC. Compositeur en residence auprès de plusieurs orchestres, M. Estacio a signé plusieurs œuvres dont certaines se retrouvent sur le CD finaliste aux JUNO Frenergy, the Music of John Estacio, paru sous étiquette Disques SRC.

Ses œuvres orchestrales ont été interprétées à Carnegie Hall par les orchestres symphoniques de Toronto et d’Edmonton. On en retrouve plusieurs extraits dans le ballet Wonderland du Royal Winnipeg Ballet, chorégraphié par Shawn Hounsell. Le Cincinnati Ballet lui a passé commande d’une partition d’orchestre pour le ballet King Arthur’s Camelot, dont la première a eu lieu en février 2014. L’arrangement qu’il a signé des Sept chants de Jean Sibelius a été présenté par l’Orchestre philharmonique de Los Angeles et le célèbre tenor Ben Heppner en tournée en Europe.

Menu