Events scheduled on our stages and public spaces are going ahead as planned.
Life Reflected

Dear Life

Alice Munro

© Larry Towell

Zosha di castri

Composer

Dear Life is based on Nobel Prize-winner Alice Munro’s semi-autobiographical short story “Dear Life” with music by award-winning Canadian composer Zosha Di Castri for orchestra and soprano Erin Wall. It features recorded narration by legendary actor Martha Henry, who gives a chilling reading of an expertly distilled adaptation of the story prepared by writer Merilyn Simonds. Striking black and white photography by Larry Towell (Magnum Photos) is interspersed with creative imagery that is projected on screens which surround and immerse the orchestra in a 3D environment.  Visual design by Montreal’s Normal. (This work premiered September 16, 2015). Duration 25 mins.

The production of Dear Life is made possible in part by Kenneth and Margaret Torrance and friends.

"The orchestration evoked the sounds of southern Ontario, including rain, wind, snow and Canadian geese. Tempering the dissonance, and supporting Munro’s pre-recorded text narrated by Martha Henry, the balance was kept in check with soprano Erin Wall."Michael Vincent - Musical Toronto

Alexander Shelley reflects on the creation of Dear Life

In late 2013, I was introduced to the book (Alice Munro's Dear Life) by a friend at the NAC and read it with enthusiasm, in awe of her vital, penetrating intellect and the universal soul of her writing. When I reached the final short story, itself titled “Dear Life”, its reference to a poem and depiction of childhood sensibilities awakened a connection in my mind to Mahler’s Fourth Symphony, a work that culminates in a poem illuminating a child’s vision of heaven. I always intended to open my first season with a new Canadian commission and here, I found an inspiration. Since then, the work has taken on extraordinary form and scope with the involvement of Zosha Di Castri, Donna Feore, Merilyn Simonds, Martha Henry and Larry Towell.

Zoshi Di Castri describes how she composed Dear Life

I received the invitation to write Dear Life just days before giving birth to my first child. Although my better judgment told me that composing an orchestral work of this proportion in the early months of motherhood was total insanity, there was something about the project that lured me in.

Perhaps it was the story. Munro’s words struck a chord: a portrait of a mother-daughter relationship over a lifetime, an artist coming into her own, realizing her “Otherness” but also the universality of lived experience. I admired Munro’s flow, her flashes of memories half-recalled, perhaps fictional, perhaps autobiographical — ambiguous and at times startlingly straightforward.

And so, I have attempted to tell the story in my way: through music, sound, and experimentation. Martha Henry’s voice guides us through the adapted text as our trusted narrator. The singer, however, is treated differently. Her material is made of fragmented text and invented sounds, a visceral response bridging the divide between the abstractness of the music and the concreteness of the spoken word. Her presence comes in and out of focus both musically and dramaturgically. At the beginning, her voice is fused with the orchestra, but gradually she emerges as a distinct, independent entity.

The orchestra wavers between absolute music (non-representational textures, sometimes static, sometimes spastic), and what I think of as archetypal music – music from our collective unconscious; memory music, rusty warped hymns, the sound of migrating flocks, a melody sung to oneself, the embodiment of nostalgia via the re-orchestrated sound of phonograph static. This is the spectrum from which I work to try to create different musical spaces, from the story within the story (the Netterfield fable), to the doggerel poem sung near the end of the work. Under the pastoral beauty of these reminiscences lurks the thrill of danger, violence, misfortune, and yet forgiveness and acceptance is what we walk away with. There is something so fundamentally human about this story.

Alice Munro once wrote:

“A story is not like a road to follow… it’s more like a house. You go inside and stay there for a while, wandering back and forth […]. And you, the visitor, are altered as well by being in this enclosed space, whether it is ample and easy or full of crooked turns, or sparsely or opulently furnished. You can go back again and again, and the house, the story, always contains more than you saw the last time.”1

It is in this way, I hope, that listeners will experience my house of sound.

1 Introduction to the Vintage Edition, Selected Stories, 1968-1994 (New York: Vintage Books, 1996).

Note from Merilyn Simonds, writer 

When the NAC Orchestra approached me to adapt Alice Munro’s story “Dear Life” for symphony, I was in the process of reading all of Alice Munro’s short stories, in order. Rereading, rather, as I had waited impatiently for each new story to appear since I read Dance of the Happy Shades as a girl of eighteen. I grew up in a small town not far from Alice Munro’s home town, longing like her to escape. As I became a writer and got to know her, I was inspired by her unsentimental, clear-eyed embrace of the world she was born into, a world she has explored in literature for fifty years.

From her most recent story of several thousand words, I was asked to distill a work of only five hundred words that would be the basis for the symphony and for Martha Henry’s recording. All of the words are Alice Munro’s; I have added none of my own, though the order of some events has been shifted for clarity.

It is a testament to Alice Munro’s generosity as a writer that she welcomes the creative play that an adaptation entails. And it is a testament to the authenticity and purity of her prose that such distillation is possible, the essence of her characters and themes vitally present in this new version of “Dear Life.”

Menu

50% de rabais sur les abonnements - 2 jours seulement - Ne manquez pas ça! (Compte à rebours :
)
Réflexions sur la vie

Dear Life

Alice Munro

© Larry Towell

Zosha di castri

Compositrice

Dear Life est basé sur la nouvelle partiellement autobiographique du même nom d’Alice Munro, Prix Nobel de littérature. L’œuvre propose une musique de la compositrice canadienne primée Zosha Di Castri pour orchestre et  soprano (Erin Wall), et une narration enregistrée par la légendaire actrice Martha Henry, qui offre une lecture à donner le frisson d’une adaptation habilement condensée du récit signée Merilyn Simonds. Les saisissantes photographies en noir et blanc de Larry Towell (Magnum Photos) sont entrecoupées d’images créatives projetées sur les écrans qui entourent l’orchestre et le plongent dans un environnement en 3D. La conception visuelle est l’œuvre du studio Normal de Montréal. (Cette œuvre a été créée le 16 septembre 2015.) Durée : 23 minutes.

La production de Dear Life est rendue possible en partie grâce à la générosité de Kenneth et Margaret Torrance et leurs amis.

« L’orchestration évoque les sons du sud de l’Ontario, notamment la pluie, le vent, la neige et les oies blanches. La présence de la soprano Erin Wall fait contrepoint à la dissonance et met en valeur la narration préenregistrée du texte d’Alice Munro par Martha Henry. » Michael Vincent - Musical Toronto

Réflexions d’Alexander Shelley sur la création de Dear Life

À la fin de 2013, un ami du CNA m’a fait découvrir cet ouvrage (Dear Life par Alice Munro - vf. Rien que la vie) que j’ai lu avidement, fasciné par l’intelligence pénétrante et lumineuse de l’écriture, et par sa profondeur poétique. Arrivé à la dernière nouvelle portant le titre même de l’ouvrage, Dear Life, l’évocation d’un poème et de souvenirs d’enfance de l’auteure a fait surgir dans mon esprit un lien avec la Quatrième symphonie de Mahler, composition culminant par un poème qui expose une vision enfantine du paradis. Je m’étais toujours dit que j’amorcerais ma première saison avec une nouvelle oeuvre de commande canadienne, et voilà que j’avais trouvé ma source d’inspiration. L’oeuvre a pris depuis une forme et une portée extraordinaires avec le concours de Zosha Di Castri, Donna Feore, Merilyn Simonds, Martha Henry et Larry Towell.

Zoshi Di Castri, compositrice de la pièce Dear Life, décrit sa démarche

J’ai été invitée à composer Dear Life (Rien que la vie) quelques jours à peine avant la naissance de mon premier enfant. Au mépris du bon sens qui clamait qu’entreprendre la composition d’une oeuvre orchestrale d’une telle envergure pendant mes premiers mois de maternité relevait de la folie, j’ai été subjuguée par ce projet.

Était‑ce le récit? Les mots de Munro ont résonné en moi : le portrait d’une relation mère‑fille tout au long d’une vie, une artiste trouvant sa voix, prenant conscience de son « altérité » mais également de l’universalité de l’expérience vécue. J’admirais la fluidité du texte de Munro, ses souvenirs moitié vagues – fictifs? autobiographiques? – tantôt ambigus, tantôt saisissants de transparence.

Aussi ai‑je tenté de raconter l’histoire à ma façon, par l’entremise de la musique, du son et de l’expérimentation. La voix de Martha Henry nous accompagne dans la narration du texte adapté. La soprano, quant à elle, manie des fragments de texte et des sons inventés, réaction viscérale comblant l’écart entre la dimension abstraite de la musique et la dimension concrète de la parole. Sa présence, musicale et dramaturgique, se précise puis s’évapore. Au départ, sa voix fusionne avec l’orchestre, mais peu à peu, elle émerge en tant qu’entité distincte à part entière.

L’orchestre oscille entre musique absolue (textures résolument abstraites, tantôt statiques, tantôt spasmodiques), et ce que j’appelle musique archétypique, celle qui provient de l’inconscient collectif : des mémoires musicales, des hymnes déformés par le temps, le son de volées d’oiseaux migrateurs, une mélodie fredonnée, le grésillement réorchestré de la friture des phonographes, symbole même de la nostalgie. Voilà d’où je tire mon inspiration pour créer divers espaces musicaux, allant du récit dans le récit (la fable de Netterfield) au poème de mirliton chanté vers la fin de l’oeuvre. Derrière la beauté bucolique de ces réminiscences se cache le frisson du danger, de la violence, du malheur, et pourtant au bout du compte, ce que nous en retirons est le pardon et l’acceptation. Il y a quelque chose de profondément humain dans cette histoire.

Alice Munro a écrit :

« Un récit n’est pas comme une route à suivre… c’est plutôt comme une maison. Vous y entrez et y passez quelque temps, errant d’une pièce à l’autre […]. Et vous, le visiteur, êtes aussi transformé par le fait d’être dans cet espace clos, qu’il soit spacieux et accommodant ou rempli de racoins biscornus, qu’il soit meublé avec parcimonie ou opulence. Vous pouvez y revenir encore et encore, et chaque fois la maison, le récit, contient plus que vous n’y avez vu la dernière fois. »1

J’ai l’espoir que c’est dans cet esprit que les auditeurs feront l’expérience de ma maison sonore.

1 Traduction libre de l’introduction de l’édition Vintage de Selected Stories, 1968-1994 (New York: Vintage Books, 1996).

Note de Merilyn Simonds, auteure

Quand l’Orchestre du CNA m’a pressentie pour réaliser une adaptation pour une oeuvre symphonique du récit de « Dear Life » (Rien que la vie en vf.) d’Alice Munro, j’étais justement en train de lire, dans l’ordre, l’ensemble de ses nouvelles. Je devrais plutôt dire « relire », car depuis la lecture, à 18 ans, de Dance of the Happy Shades (La danse des ombres en vf.), j’avais toujours attendu impatiemment chaque nouvelle parution de l’auteure. J’ai grandi dans une petite localité située non loin de la ville natale d’Alice Munro, rêvant tout comme elle de fuir. Devenue écrivaine à mon tour, je l’ai connue personnellement. J’ai été inspirée par sa façon réaliste et sans détour d’embrasser l’univers où elle était née, un univers qu’elle a exploré pendant 50 ans à travers la littérature.

On m’a donné pour tâche d’extraire de son plus récent récit de plusieurs milliers de mots un distillat de tout juste 500 mots qui formerait la base d’une oeuvre symphonique et que livrerait Martha Henry sous forme d’enregistrement. Tous les mots sont d’Alice. Aucun n’est de moi; j’ai simplement modifié l’ordre de certains événements par souci de clarté.

J’ai voulu témoigner de la générosité d’Alice Munro qui, comme auteure, ouvre les bras au jeu créatif qu’entraîne une adaptation. Témoigner aussi de l’authenticité et de la pureté de sa prose qui a rendu possible un tel distillat et permis de recréer dans cette nouvelle version de « Dear Life » l’essence même de ses personnages et des thèmes qu’elle aborde.

Menu