Zosha Di Castri |
Composer

Zosha Di Castri

born in Calgary · Alberta

Zosha Di Castri is a Canadian composer/pianist living in New York. Her work (which has been performed in Canada, the U.S., South America and Europe) extends beyond purely concert music, including projects with electronics, sound arts, and collaborations with video and dance.

Ms. Di Castri's orchestral compositions have been commissioned by the San Francisco Symphony, New World Symphony and Esprit Symphony, and have been featured by the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, Amazonas Philharmonic and the Cabrillo Festival Orchestra, among others. She has also worked with many leading new music groups including Talea Ensemble, Wet Ink and the NEM.

Zosha Di Castri was the recipient of the Jules Léger Prize for New Chamber Music for her work Cortège in 2012. She completed a Bachelor of Music at McGill University, and in 2009, participated in the NAC Composer Program as part of the Summer Music Institute. She has a doctorate from Columbia University in composition. She is now Assistant Professor of music at Columbia.

Menu

Zosha Di Castri |
Compositrice

Zosha Di Castri

Née à Calgary · Alberta

Zosha Di Castri est une compositrice et pianiste canadienne établie à New York. Ses œuvres ont été jouées au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Amérique du Sud et en Europe. Sa démarche dépasse les limites de la musique de concert, englobant aussi des projets qui intègrent l'électronique et l'art sonore, ainsi que des collaborations en vidéo et en danse.

L'Orchestre symphonique de San Francisco, le New World Symphony et l'Esprit Orchestra ont commandé des œuvres à Mme Di Castri. Sa musique pour orchestre a aussi été interprétée par l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, l'Orchestre philharmonique de l'Amazonas et le Cabrillo Festival Orchestra, entre autres. L'artiste a également collaboré avec de nombreuses formations de musique nouvelle de premier plan, dont l'Ensemble Talea, Wet Ink et le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (NEM).

Zosha Di Castri a remporté en 2012 le prix Jules-Léger de la nouvelle musique de chambre pour Cortège. Elle est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en musique de l'Université McGill et d'un doctorat en composition musicale de l'Université Columbia, où elle est actuellement professeure adjointe en musique. Elle a participé en 2009 au Programme des compositeurs de l'Institut estival de musique du CNA.

Menu