October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Free Rein

Artistic residencies

The pandemic forced many projects to stop in mid-flight, rehearsals ground to a halt and venues closed. Since then, artists have been champing at the bit to return to the stage. However, after this long hiatus, that return will be difficult for artists who haven’t been able to rehearse or experiment with presenting their work on stage.

Resuming creative work

In the summer of 2021, some 30 artists from across Canada will receive support from the NAC to develop their projects through creative residencies that will include access to rehearsal space. This program reiterates the NAC’s commitment to supporting the revival of the performing arts across the country.

An inside look at the creative process

Want to know more about the artists we support and their projects? Gain a better understanding of the artistic process? A series of testimonials will be posted on this page over the summer.

“Artists and creators across the country have seen opportunities to create new works dwindle due to the global Covid-19 pandemic. The launch of this new multi-disciplinary summer residency program is a crucial step on the journey back to live, in-person performances.”

Christopher Deacon, CEO, National Arts Centre

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 2 septembre 2021.

Champ libre

Résidences de création

La pandémie a forcé de nombreux projets à s’arrêter en plein vol, les répétitions à s’interrompre brutalement et les portes des lieux de diffusions à fermer. Depuis, les artistes piaffent d’impatience à l’idée de retourner sur scène. Toutefois, le retour sur scène sera difficile après cette longue période pour les artistes qui n’ont pu répéter ou expérimenter en vue de présenter leurs œuvres sur scène. 

Reprendre le travail de création 

Au cours de l’été 2021, une trentaine d’artistes de partout au Canada bénéficieront du soutien du CNA pour poursuivre leurs projets lors de résidences de création qui leur permettront notamment d’accéder à des espaces de répétition. Ce programme réitère l’engagement du CNA à soutenir la relance des arts de la scène partout au pays. 

Les dessous de la création 

Envie d’en savoir plus sur les artistes soutenus et leurs projets? De mieux comprendre le processus de création? Différents témoignages seront publiés sur cette page au cours de l’été.

« Ces résidences artistiques arrivent à point nommé pour les artistes, créateurs et créatrices de tout le pays, qui ont vu fondre le soutien à la création durant la pandémie de COVID-19. Le lancement de cette initiative multidisciplinaire est un pas essentiel vers le retour des spectacles en personne. »

Christopher Deacon, président et chef de la direction du CNA

Menu