Yosuke Kawasaki © Mitch Lenet Photography

Kawasaki, Storgårds & Mozart

NACO Live

2023-03-29 20:00 2023-03-30 23:59 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Kawasaki, Storgårds & Mozart

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30526

In-person event

NACO Concertmaster and world-renowned violinist Yosuke Kawasaki takes centre stage in Southam Hall tonight for an electrifying performance of Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 4. Mozart, who was himself a superb violinist, was still a teenager when he wrote this concerto in Salzburg, but his brilliance was already clearly on display.  Joseph Haydn, one of the fathers of classical music and arguably the inventor of the string quartet, cast a long shadow over the composers who followed him...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
March 29 - 30, 2023
8:00 pm
Yosuke Kawasaki © Mitch Lenet Photography
Music Classical music Violin
  • SEBASTIAN FAGERLUND Chamber Symphony*
  • Mozart Violin Concerto No. 4
  • Haydn Symphony No. 31
  • In-person event

NACO Concertmaster and world-renowned violinist Yosuke Kawasaki takes centre stage in Southam Hall tonight for an electrifying performance of Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 4. Mozart, who was himself a superb violinist, was still a teenager when he wrote this concerto in Salzburg, but his brilliance was already clearly on display. 

Joseph Haydn, one of the fathers of classical music and arguably the inventor of the string quartet, cast a long shadow over the composers who followed him (his most famous student was Ludwig van Beethoven). Haydn’s Symphony No. 31, often called the “Hornsignal” symphony, is filled with lusty horn calls delivered by an unusually large horn section, alternating with passages of great subtlety, but always returning to the majestic horns. 

Principal Guest Conductor John Storgårds has been a bridge for our Orchestra to a rich variety of performers, thinkers, and composers. Among them is Finnish composer Sebastian Fagerlund (b. 1972), one of Europe’s most prominent composers, whose impressionistic chamber music NACO players performed in 2021, with John Storgårds on violin. In this program, the NAC Orchestra gives the Canadian premiere of Fagerlund’s new chamber symphony, which promises a vivid musical experience filled with textures of the natural world.  

*Co-commissioned by the NAC Orchestra and the Tapiola Sinfonietta.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Mar 27
Mar 28
Mar 29
  • 8:00pm
Mar 30
  • 8:00pm
Mar 31
Apr 1
Apr 2
Yosuke Kawasaki © Mitch Lenet Photography
Menu

Yosuke Kawasaki © Mitch Lenet Photography

Présenté par Audi

Kawasaki, Storgårds & Mozart

L'OCNA en direct

2023-03-29 20:00 2023-03-30 23:59 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Kawasaki, Storgårds & Mozart

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30526

Événement en personne

Yosuke Kawasaki, musicien de réputation internationale et violon solo de l’Orchestre du CNA, prend ce soir le devant de la scène de la Salle Southam pour une interprétation électrisante du Concerto pour violon no 4 de Mozart. Mozart, lui-même un violoniste de talent, était encore adolescent quand il a composé ce concerto à Salzbourg, mais son génie y est déjà évident. Joseph Haydn, l’un des...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
29 - 30 mars 2023
20 h 00
Yosuke Kawasaki © Mitch Lenet Photography
Musique Musique classique Violon
  • SEBASTIAN FAGERLUND Chamber Symphony*
  • Mozart Concerto pour violon no 4
  • Haydn Symphonie no 31
  • Événement en personne

Yosuke Kawasaki, musicien de réputation internationale et violon solo de l’Orchestre du CNA, prend ce soir le devant de la scène de la Salle Southam pour une interprétation électrisante du Concerto pour violon no 4 de Mozart. Mozart, lui-même un violoniste de talent, était encore adolescent quand il a composé ce concerto à Salzbourg, mais son génie y est déjà évident.

Joseph Haydn, l’un des pères de la musique classique et pour ainsi dire l’inventeur du quatuor à cordes, a eu une influence durable sur les compositeurs qui l’ont suivi (son élève le plus célèbre est Ludwig van Beethoven). Sa Symphonie no 31, souvent appelée « Sonnerie de cor », donne une place de choix aux cors, présents en nombre inhabituellement élevé, dont la sonorité vigoureuse laisse par moments la place à des passages d’une grande subtilité avant de revenir en force et avec majesté.

Le premier chef invité de l’Orchestre du CNA John Storgårds a donné à nos musiciens accès à tout un panorama d’interprètes, penseurs et compositeurs. Parmi ceux-ci se trouve le compositeur finnois Sebastian Fagerlund (1972-), l’un des grands compositeurs européens de sa génération, dont la musique de chambre impressionniste a été interprétée par les musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA en 2021, avec John Storgårds au violon. Dans ce programme, l’Orchestre présente la première canadienne de la nouvelle symphonie de chambre de Fagerlund, un œuvre qui promet une expérience musicale saisissante regorgeant des textures du monde naturel.

* Œuvre commandée conjointement par l’Orchestre du CNA et le Tapiola Sinfonietta.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
mar 27
mar 28
mar 29
  • 20 h 00
mar 30
  • 20 h 00
mar 31
avr 1
avr 2
Yosuke Kawasaki © Mitch Lenet Photography
Menu