50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it! (Starting in:
)

Southam Hall

Named after the National Art Centre’s founding general, G. Hamilton Southam, it is the largest and most majestic of our four performance halls. Home to the NAC Orchestra, it’s an ideal venue to support large-scale productions for a variety of performances and events, including Broadway musicals, ballet, opera, concerts, comedy, lectures, ceremonies and films.

Technical specs and rental inquiries
New this season

The sweet new sound of Southam Hall

This season you will experience unprecedented clarity as the music of the NAC Orchestra envelops you, courtesy of a new orchestra shell, and state of the art electrical and technical equipment. On par with international standards, no matter your seating preference, the re-shaped acoustic environment will deliver beautifully clear and rich sound.

With the new shell, the musicians will be able to hear one another better, and over the course of the season, their strong connection will continue to grow as they can respond more immediately to the nuances of each other’s energy and sound.

The orchestra will sit closer to the audience and will receive far more support from the new acoustic shell, meaning that the sound and the whole feel of performance will be more direct and visceral both for performers and audience.” Alexander Shelley, NAC Orchestra Music Director
© Dwayne Brown


Seating

  • Front Orchestra 159
  • Orchestra 783
  • Parterre 148
  • Boxes 186
  • Mezzanine 263
  • Amphitheatre 263
  • Balcony 263

Iconic performances

Concert

  • Blue Rodeo
  • Diana Krall
  • Patrick Watson

Dance

  • Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch
  • National Ballet of Canada
  • Mariinsky Ballet

Broadway

  • Phantom of the Opera
  • The Lion King
  • Wicked

Stand-Up Comedy

  • Jerry Seinfeld
  • Russel Brand
  • John Cleese
  • Carol Burnett

Special Events

  • GG Performing Arts Awards Gala
  • Indspire Awards
  • Genie Awards

Accessibility

All performance halls are accessible for both performers on stage and audience members.  Special tickets can be available for patrons in wheelchairs, as well as for the visually impaired purchased directly through the NAC Box Office. Seating for patrons in wheelchairs may also by purchased online.

Additional information: https://nac-cna.ca/en/visit/accessibility

Dinner & Drinks

1 Elgin
The National Arts Centre’s restaurant, 1 Elgin, is proud to showcase the fresh flavours and ingredients of Canada. Focusing on local seasonal ingredients, 1 Elgin’s menu is a culinary experience that indulges the senses. Experience our take on contemporary cuisine with dishes that will delight and engage you.

Equator Coffee
The three main pillars of Equator’s business have always been Fresh Roasting, Fair Trade Purchasing and Organic Certification. You don’t have to be a coffee aficionado to enjoy Equator coffee, but if you are, you will love it for the attention to detail we give to each roast.

Intermission bars
Intermission bars are open starting 1 hour prior to performances in Southam Hall. Non-alcoholic and alcoholic drinks may be purchased. A selection of sandwiches and light meals may be purchased.

Drinks
Drinks are permitted in all rental halls.

Menu

Salle Southam

Nommée en l’honneur du premier directeur général du CNA, G. Hamilton Southam, cette salle de spectacles est la plus vaste et la plus prestigieuse du Centre. En plus d’accueillir l’Orchestre du CNA, c’est un lieu d’exception pour toute une gamme de spectacles et d’événements à grand déploiement, tels comédies musicales de Broadway, ballets, opéras, concerts, spectacles d’humour, conférences, galas et cérémonies, et films.

Spécifications techniques et demandes de location
Nouveau cette saison

Le nouveau son de la Salle Southam : mieux que jamais!

Cette saison, le CNA vous propose une expérience unique! Grâce à la toute nouvelle conque d’orchestre de la Salle Southam et à des équipements techniques et électriques à la fine pointe de la technologie, la musique de l’Orchestre du CNA vous enveloppera comme jamais auparavant, et ce, où que vous soyez dans la salle. Respectant les plus hautes normes internationales, le nouvel environnement acoustique procure un son d’une clarté et d’une richesse exceptionnelles.

La nouvelle conque permet aux musiciens de mieux s’entendre les uns les autres. Il en résulte une nouvelle synergie entre les musiciens qui s’approfondira sans cesse au fil de la saison.

« L’Orchestre sera plus près du public et, avec l’acoustique amplifiée par la conque, le son produit et le ressenti des musiciens en prestation seront plus directs et viscéraux tant pour les interprètes que pour le public. » Alexander Shelley, directeur musical de l’Orchestre du CNA
© Dwayne Brown


  • Avant de l’orchestre 159
  • Orchestre 783
  • Parterre 148
  • Loges 186
  • Mezzanine 263
  • Ampithéâtre 263
  • Balcon 263

Spectacles mémorables

Concert

  • Blue Rodeo
  • Diana Krall
  • Patrick Watson

Danse

  • Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch
  • Ballet national du Canada
  • Ballet Mariinsky

Broadway

  • Phantom of the Opera
  • The Lion King
  • Wicked

Spectacles d’humour

  • Jerry Seinfeld
  • Russel Brand
  • John Cleese
  • Carol Burnett

Événements spéciaux

  • Galades Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle
  • Prix Indspire
  • Prix Genie

Accessibilité

Toutes les salles de spectacle sont accessibles autant pour les artistes sur scène que pour les membres du public. Des billets spéciaux peuvent être disponibles pour les membres du public en fauteuil roulant, ainsi que ceux ayant un handicap visuel. Ces billets sont achetés directement à la Billetterie du CNA. Les places désignées pour les clients en fauteuil roulant peuvent également être achetées en ligne.

Plus d’information : https://nac-cna.ca/fr/visit/accessibility

Boissons et nourriture

Le Café
Le café du Centre national des Arts est fier de mettre en valeur les saveurs et les ingrédients du terroir canadien, offrant un menu qui mise sur les produits locaux saisonniers et allume tous les sens. Venez découvrir notre vision de la cuisine contemporaine et prendre part à une expérience culinaire qui saura vous ravir et vous surprendre.

Equator Coffee
Servir un café fraîchement rôti, équitable et certifié biologique – voilà le principe fondateur auquel adhère Equator. Ce n’est pas nécessaire d’être un connaisseur de café pour apprécier le café Equator, mais si vous l’êtes, vous saurez assurément reconnaître le souci du détail qui se retrouve dans chaque tasse.

Service de bar
Le service de bar est ouvert une heure avant la représentation. Il est possible de s’y procurer des boissons (alcoolique ou non), ainsi que des sandwichs et des repas légers.

Breuvages
Les breuvages sont permis à l’intérieur de toutes les salles disponibles pour location.

Menu