Shallaway Choir

NAC Orchestra

  • Dvořák Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95, "From the New World"
  • LARYSA KUZMENKO/ROBERT CHAFE Heirloom for chorus and orchestra, based on Brahms Intermezzo, Op. 118, No. 2
  • Korngold Concerto in D Major, Opus 35, for Violin and Orchestra
  • John Estacio I Lost My Talk, based on the poem by Rita Joe

The Newfoundland Symphony Orchestra presents Canada’s NAC Orchestra at the St. John’s Arts and Culture Centre. This special performance will be a celebration of music and storytelling as part of the NAC Orchestra Canada 150 Tour.

St. John’s-based Shallaway Youth Choir will join the NAC Orchestra for the opening of the concert with a new orchestration of Brahms’ Intermezzo. James Ehnes will dazzle audiences with the Korngold violin concerto followed by the “New World Symphony” - a classic favourite. The evening culminates with John Estacio’s new work I Lost My Talk, inspired by Mi'kmaw Elder and poet Rita Joe, C.M. This lush musical score is performed with film and live narration, a truly “powerful, overwhelming creation” (Christophe Husse, Le Devoir). 


Pre-Concert Activity featuring Eastern Owl and Jubilate Choir - 19:15-19:45

Eastern Owl and Jubilate Choir will both perform in the lobby of the St. John’s Arts and Culture Centre. 

Eastern Owl is a local indigenous ensemble that performs traditional Indigenous music with folk music and other genres. Eastern Owl is a group that began at the St. John’s Friendship Centre. Jubilate Choir is a youth choir affiliated with Shallaway Choir – who will be performing at the NAC Orchestra concert.

Credits

Menu

Shallaway Choir

L'Orchestre du CNA

  • Dvořák Symphonie no 9 en mi mineur, opus 95, « Du Nouveau Monde »
  • LARYSA KUZMENKO/ROBERT CHAFE Heirloom pour chœur et orchestre, d’après l’Intermezzo de Brahms, opus 118, no 2
  • Korngold Concerto pour violon et orchestre en ré majeur, opus 35
  • John Estacio I Lost My Talk, d’après le poème de Rita Joe

L’Orchestre symphonique de Terre-Neuve présente l’Orchestre du CNA du Canada au St. John’s Arts and Culture Centre. Ce concert exceptionnel sera une célébration en musique et en récits dans le cadre de la Tournée Canada 150 de l’Orchestre du CNA.

En ouverture, le chœur de jeunes Shallaway de St. John’s se joindra à l’Orchestre du CNA pour interpréter une nouvelle orchestration de l’Intermezzo de Brahms. James Ehnes éblouira l’auditoire avec le Concerto pour violon de Korngold, qui sera suivi de la toujours populaire Symphonie du Nouveau Monde. Le clou de la soirée sera la nouvelle œuvre de John Estacio, I Lost My Talk, inspirée de la poète et aînée mi’kmaq Rita Joe, C.M. Dans cette « forte et bouleversante création » (Christophe Huss, Le Devoir), une riche trame sonore accompagne des images de film et une narration en direct.


Activité préconcert avec Eastern Owl et le chœur Jubilate - 19 h 15 - 19 h 45

Eastern Owl et le chœur Jubilate se produiront ensemble dans le foyer de l’Arts and Culture Centre de St. John’s.

Eastern Owl est un ensemble autochtone local qui a vu le jour au St. John’s Native Friendship Centre. Son répertoire comprend de la musique autochtone traditionnelle, du folk et d’autres genres. Jubilate est un chœur de jeunes affilié au chœur Shallaway, qui chantera en concert avec l’Orchestre du CNA.

crédits

  • Alexander Shelley Chef d'orchestre
  • James Ehnes Violon
  • Shallaway Youth Choir
  • Orchestre du CNA
  • Monique Mojica Comédienne
  • Donna Feore Productrice du contenu créatif et metteure en scène
  • Barbara Willis Sweete Cinéaste
  • Tekaronhiáhkhwa Santee Smith Chorégraphe du film
  • NORMAL Conception vidéo
  • Peter McBoyle Concepteur du son
  • William Fallon Concepteur du son associé
  • Kimberly Purtell Conceptrice des éclairages
Menu