October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
The Transformations Project

TRANSFORMATIONS: you deserve everything you have - a meditation for billionaires

By Morgan Gardner & Rosamund Small / Soulpepper Theatre Company

If having too much power and wealth is weighing on you, let playwright Rosamund Small and composer Morgan Gardner wash your troubles away. In Canada, wealth is increasingly funnelled to the billionaire class at the expense of everybody else. As a billionaire yourself, have you felt judged for this? Have anxiety, stress and self-doubt crept in? Let this video ease those worries. While you degrade the lives of everyone else in society, it's important to take time for you.

We work and live in Toronto/Tkaronto, the traditional territory of the Mississaugas of the Credit, the Haudenosaunee Confederacy and the Wendat First Nation who have a treaty relationship with Canada.

Making fun of billionaires is good to do. They are the absurd product of the system of perpetual violence, extraction and consumption that governs our lives. They aren’t normal, and they shouldn’t exist. However, naming the ultra-wealthy our enemy does not mean that we are exempt from perpetuating the same logics of capital that produced them.

In acknowledging the Indigenous Nations of this territory, we acknowledge that, as white settlers, we have materially benefited from Canada’s colonial history at the direct expense of Indigenous people. We are on a journey to work to undo that.

Commissioned by Soulpepper Theatre Company.  With music composed and produced by Morgan Gardner and text and performance by Rosamund Small 

English.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 8 avril 2021.
Le projet Transformations

TRANSFORMATIONS: you deserve everything you have - a meditation for billionaires

De Morgan Gardner & Rosamund Small / Soulpepper Theatre Company
  Vidéo en anglais

Si le fait d’avoir trop de pouvoir et de richesse devient un poids trop lourd à porter, laissez la dramaturge Rosamund Small et le compositeur Morgan Gardner le retirer de vos épaules. Au Canada, la richesse est de plus en plus détournée vers les milliardaires, au détriment de tous les autres. En tant que milliardaire, avez-vous l’impression d’être jugé pour ceci? Est-ce que l’anxiété, le stress et le doute commencent à se faire sentir? Laissez cette vidéo apaiser vos craintes. Il est important de prendre du temps pour soi, même lorsqu’on est occupé à détruire les vies de tous les autres membres de la société.   

Nous travaillons et habitons à Toronto/Tkaronto, territoire traditionnel des Mississaugas de Credit, de la Confédération des Haudenosaunee et de la Première Nation des Wendats qui entretiennent une relation de traité avec le Canada.  

Il fait bon rire des milliardaires. Ils sont le produit absurde d’un système de violence perpétuelle, d’extraction et de consommation qui gouverne nos vies. Ils ne sont pas normaux, et ne devraient pas exister. Cela dit, le fait de déclarer les ultra-riches comme étant nos ennemis ne nous empêche pas de perpétuer la même logique du capital qui les a créés.

En reconnaissant les nations autochtones de ce territoire, nous reconnaissons également qu’en tant que colonisateurs blancs, nous avons tiré profit matériellement du passé colonial du Canada au détriment direct des peuples autochtones. Nous entreprenons un cheminement pour travailler à corriger cette injustice. 

Une commande de Soulpepper Theatre Company.  Musique composée et produite par Morgan Gardner. Texte et performance de Rosamund Small.

En anglais.

Menu